We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2008

We took my parents for an overnight stay as a present for their 80th birthdays.

The suites were lovely and very comfortable. Perhaps surprisingly, there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room. Room service is available at £5 service charge per tray.

The hotel is classy and ‘traditional country house’ in style but did not feel over formal. Tea and cakes are taken in the comfortable lounge.

Service was very good, a few very minor mistakes quickly corrected.

The restaurant was excellent for both dinner and breakfast.

The grounds are very pleasant. Bird watchers will find plenty of interest there, and on the river which flows alongside.

If I have one criticism it is that the area around the lake has a tremendous amount of dog mess, which is added to by the hotel’s Labrador who insisted on walking with us. You have to really watch your step.

We also swam in the very modern and light spa pool, a few minutes form the main hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank selimap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

909 - 915 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2008

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed everything about the hotel. The room was decorated to a high standard and the public rooms were lovely. We particularly enjoyed the food in the restaurant where service was good if a little prompt!

My husband relaxed with some fishing in the picturesque lake while i had a lovely time in the spa. The hot tub overlooks the lake, a relaxing experience.

We will definitely return and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. If you do stay here, take the time to visit the Red Kite feeding site at Rhyader, truly spectacular.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JulieAnneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We stayed at this hotel over Easter as we were walking in Brecon (very nice scenery!). After a tiring day we arrived and met a helpful man on reception who took our bags and showed us to our room, which was in a building seperate from the man building. On arrival he didn't have the right key which left us waiting in the rain for a short time but he was very apologetic and soon returned. The room was more like an apartment with a large living area and bathroom - everything was new and modern. We had dinner at the hotel which was a fantastic experience, excellent service from all the staff and a delicious menu - ~I would recommend staying just for dinner. Breakfast the following day was just as tasty and served in delightful surroundings. I would definately recommend staying (we will and next time try and the Spa!)

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BecMat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2008

A little difficult to find at first, this hotel is certainly worth a visit. The service was excellent. The whole place was very efficiently run. Sherry in the room is a rare touch these days and exemplifies the traditional elegance of this hotel. The restaurant was excellent. Both my husband and I enjoyed dinner immensely. The maitre-d was knowledgeable and helpful both with the menu and the wine list, which is extensive. The cheese trolley consisted entirely of Welsh cheeses, many local. Breakfast was also perfect. The spa is small but has an air of calm about it that makes it impossible not to relax there. The experience here is like staying at a country house. This is not the most up-to-the-minute place, but has a real timeless elegance and a warmth of welcome that makes you feel at home. Our only regret is that we only had one night there. The hotel says it welcomes children but didn’t take our children and didn’t see any other children there, so I can’t comment on that aspect.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vbcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2008

This is a very relaxing country house style hotel. It feels very homely as you sit in comfortable settees by an open fire in the lounge. There was very little noise throughout the hotel during our stay with no background music in the lounge or dining room. Very pleasant and helpful staff including the owner who took time to talk to us on several occasions. Food excellent. We stayed in a room in the main hotel building. Very traditional well equipped bedroom with pleasant views across the hotel gardens towards the river. We found the indoor pool/spa facilities to be excellent. My wife had a relaxing facial with neck and shoulder massage which she considered good value. Overall an enjoyable week-end break. Would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to return.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dovaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

This is a great hotel if you want peace, calmness and quality. Beautifully appointed, stunning grounds and walks a-plenty..... or sofas equally plentiful if you just fancy curling up with a book with the only noise being the grandfather clock ticking in the lounge.
Very best of all is that there is no piped music......not anywhere. Sheer bliss. Rooms are great, food excellent and it was lovely to compliment the chef who said thanks and immediately praised his team. A rare chef these days who not only cooks well but who can also lead and develop a team and be understated about it all. How refreshing is that?!
This is a place to go if you like quality without pretence. Attention to detail is excellent and housekeeping is of the 'good fairy' variety.....we saw no-one but our room was miraculously cleaned every day to a high standard. What a nice change not to be tripping over vacuum leads and negotiating cleaning trolleys.
The place has an appearance of ticking along like a well regulated clock. That only ever happens as a result of hard work, good organisation and meticulous attention to service. It is a credit to the owner (whom we met and who was involved, interested and friendly) and the excellent team of staff working there.
The spa was a delight and if Lisa does your massage you're in for a treat.
Without doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank thisishowitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

My wife and I have just returned from the Lake Country House after having spent just one night there for my wifes 40th birthday.I have to say from the moment you drive up nothing was too much trouble.Before the wheels had stopped turning a young man was opening my wifes door and ready to carry our case.The weather was a lovely late summers day so we had a sandwich out in the garden where we were soon joined by Cassie the labrador.The grounds are lovely and so peaceful and Cassie was only too keen to show us them.We made full use of the Spa including massage ,sauna, jacuzzi and pool before making our way back for afternoon tea. Homemade scones and cakes served by a uniformed butler by a log burning fire in a Victorian drawing room.We did dress smartly for dinner but other people were in jeans so dont worry too much about it . Tim the maitre'd is the archetypal English butler and wouldnt look out of place in an Agatha Crystie film ,very formal but also with a sense of humour.Food was top notch as expected.The bedrooms were large and well decorated with an enormous bathroom.Overall this hotel was excellent.Not cheap but well worth the experience for a short stay.One small gripe is the golf course could do with some TLC but thats being picky.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 007Hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
651 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
833 reviews
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,368 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
624 reviews
22.2 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range: £108 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing