We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Stay here 4 times a year on business. Staff is very helpful, rooms are great, spa is fabulous and the food to die for. Overall the best I stayed so far on my travels. As well my customers coming now to the hotel , as they were so impressed. Going back in October and look very much forward to it

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikifoodandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you once again for taking the time to review our hotel, as well as recommending us to your customers. We’re delighted to hear that we are so highly rated and will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    198
    60
    13
    6
See reviews for
79
626
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Have been meaning to write following a fantastic break away with friends earlier this year. The hotel was fantastic. Our room very spacious. Lovely restaurant and delicious food. Our husbands went fishing and caught trout in the lake while my friend and I enjoyed the lovely spa. Everything was great including the weather and we will definitely return. It was a very restful break in lovely surroundings

Room Tip: The new wing has lovely rooms very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel has an inbuilt advantage in that it is situated in Mid-Wales, possibly the most underrated region of the UK. It is an individual hotel with a very relaxed charm, the staff are genuine and pleasant, without being over attentive, or 'corporate' in their approach.
With our 3 month old daughter happily being spoilt by grandparents we had less than 24 hours in which to relax, recharge batteries and for my girlfriend to be pampered - the Lake Country House & Spa managed to do this just over 21 hours.
The day got off to a fine start when we were greeted by the hotel dogs, a very easy going couple of Labs who were quite happy to trot around the grounds with us. We both like dogs and so this was a bonus, for those who are not so keen the dogs have clearly been trained not to actually approach the guests and so will not fuss around someone who is uncomfortable with them.
My girlfriend was very happy with the spa treatments and I was just as happy in the pool and reading by the poolside. There is a small gym that contains the basic cardio and multi-gym equipment and a hot tub that we enjoyed with a view of the lake. There is a (short?) golf course for those that like that sort of thing, a tennis court and croquet lawn, all with equipment available to borrow.
Dinner was good and up to the standard of the rest of the hotel, the kitchen were unfazed by food allergies, despite being given no advance notice and there was a reasonable selection of wines by the glass given that neither of us fancied a whole bottle. An extra charge for coffee was a little irksome.
There were a couple of details in the room that left something to be desired in a suite, the tea and coffee were poor, the television would have benefited from satellite given that the reception in Mid-Wales is reminiscent of the early 80's and the towelling robes, whilst spotless, looked like they had seen some service. All of this would have been forgiveable and put down to its independent charm, but the bed was a problem. I have never had a mattress so soft, the bed was uncomfortable to the point that toward the end of the night I slept on the floor - and I am hardly the Spartan type who eschews his comforts. If we had spent a further night we would have asked to change rooms. If booking a suite it is probably worth asking what sort of mattress is on the bed as I suspect they may well vary.
The only other tip I would add is that mid week the hotel is relaxed and fairly empty, I am not sure how the facilities would stand up at busier times. Overall, I would happily go back for a couple of nights when the small one is old enough to spend a little longer with her grandparents.

Room Tip: Check the mattress! Standard rooms in a separate lodge?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had an overnight stay at this Hotel last week and we could not fault it. Wonderful setting, great friendly staff and the food was fantastic. It also has a spa and we used the Swimming Pool, Sauna and outdoor Hot Tub in the pouring rain. The facilities were wonderful, very large pool and the views from the Hot Tub even in the rain were fantastic.

Our room was amazing The Master had a Spa bath in the bedroom and there was also a separate shower and toilet with lovely toiletries and fluffy thick towels.

The meal in the evening was a delight which we both really enjoyed. After breakfast we took a walk round the grounds which are beautifully kept. Was sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel you won't be disappointed, The Master was a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Excellent service with really friendly and proficient staff when we visited again for an overnight to celebrate our 33 wedding anniversary. It's a lovely hotel, the suites are wonderfully comfortable and beautifully designed. The food is to be savoured with staff really knowledgable about wine choices and really helpful. Will visit again its worth it! Recommend a visit to those wanting a quality experience of good food, friendly service and comfort, with billiards, spa, tennis and golf thrown in.

Room Tip: Junior suites are superb value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHRCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Congratulations once again on your recent anniversary and thank you for choosing to spend it with us. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay; I know the staff here will be delighted to read your comments. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Great hotel - welcoming and friendly staff, good food and lovely grounds for strolling round. Have been quite a few times this year and it is just one of the most relaxing places to be. The spa is lovely and quiet with beautiful views from the hot tub over the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights from Friday to Sunday. The room (Master) was comfortable, bright and tastefully decorated. The staff are very friendly without being overpowering. The food was beautifully presented and tasted lovely. The spa and pool were clean and inviting. The grounds a joy to discover. The only small blip was our neighbours had yappy dogs that yapped most of the evening and in the morning. Fortunately this didn't affect our sleep as they were quite at night. I love the fact that you can have dogs there but it should stress only well behaved ones! I would certainly go here again. It was a slice of heaven.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, they are suites not just rooms. So whatever you are given will be beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
21.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Property: The Lake Country House & Spa
Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing