We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here for the weekend and what a treat. Set in the most amazing countryside and the rooms are fabulous. We stayed in a suite and it was decorated beautifully, with all the amenities you would expect, and a huge comfy bed with beautiful soft bedding. The reception rooms in the main house are gorgeous, the perfect balance between grandeur and comfort. The only slight disappointment was the evening meal. The staff were very attentive and the service was excellent. The food was expertly presented, however, tasted very bland. With each course that was delivered, we felt the food needed more flavour. Such a shame. Having said that, breakfast the following morning was great. A wide variety of cereals, fresh fruit and a very tasty cooked breakfast to set us up for the day ahead. Overall, we had a great stay and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday09England_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
There are newer reviews for The Lake Country House & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is my second visit to this lovely hotel and we took advantage of a Midweek Spa Break which gave us dinner, bed and breakfast plus a spa treatment and was excellent value.
The Hotel is right in the middle of rural Wales just below the Epynt Mountain Range, it is exceptionally quiet. It was originally established around 1840 and you feel as if you are away on a Downton Abbey country break.
We stayed in a small suite which was stylishly decorated with a seating area, bedroom into a lovely bay window and modern bathroom. The beds are very comfortable and the room was nicely furnished with a modern TV and tea and coffee making facilities (tea and coffee facilities weren't in the room last time we visited which I commented on to the hotel at the time and I am so pleased to see they are now available)
The toiletries provided are lovely and the bath towels lovely and large and soft plus they provide bathrobes for your use.
The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful and unlike so many corporate hotels they feel much more approachable.
The public rooms are very comfortable and inviting with log fires and log burners although I will say the one issue I would raise is that the heating went off quite early so unless you were sat near the fires the large sitting room could be a little cold, this also equates to the bedrooms as the night we stayed was a cold night and it would have been nice to have had the heating on a little longer but that would be my only "complaint" of the whole stay.
The four course dinner was beautifully presented and delicious with some unusual combinations of taste which surprised and delighted me. The portions aren't large but with 4 courses that was a good thing. The Dining room staff again were very friendly and professional and when the elderly couple parents of my friend (who were also with us) had some difficulty in being seated in the dining room they were very helpful in allowing them to eat put in the public rooms.
Breakfast was served in a new addition since my last visit a lovely and bright orangery perfect for breakfast. The choice was as you would expect in a quality hotel and again the food was delicious and well presented with the staff attentive as ever.
The Spa is located a short walk from the main building and is set in beautiful woodland beside a lake where various activities are available. This was a shorter break this time so I didn't get the opportunity to use the pool or Jacuzzi (there is also a gym) but I did get the chance to have a Spa treatment, (I chose reflexology) the treatment rooms were warm and cosy and the Spa staff yet again friendly approachable and knowledgeable.
All in all I would recommend this as a break suitable for all sorts of adults, those looking for a complete break away, a romantic liaison or a good base for those wishing to explore the Brecon Beacons.
I look forward to a return visit I hope in the spring

Room Tip: There are a couple of downstairs rooms available in the main building but due to the age of the buil...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your return visit, we’re glad to hear you enjoyed our Midweek Spa Break – it has certainly been very popular this year. We value all guest feedback and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing this review of your stay, we’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you back in the Spring. In regards to your point about the heating, I will ensure the appropriate person investigates this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Excellent Short Stay staff very helpful, would visit more often
if possible entrance for the elderly or disabled visitors perhaps could be more visitor friendly if made a with a suitable ramp and hand rail .

Room Tip: Junior Suites are very good
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 205Margaret2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel itself is lovely, with little touches like board games, books and magazines available for guests and wonderful roaring fires. Our room was spacious and clean and toiletries in bathroom were a nice touch as were the bathrobes (although disappointed that the advertised "home made biscuits" did not seem to be provided on either night - also no fridge/mini bar, which is unusual, in addition, where we were situated was a little noisy as our room - Lister - was near the stairs so we could hear people coming and going). The hotel grounds were delightful. The pool spa and hot tub well appointed and clean.The staff are all friendly and helpful, although there was rather a long wait at both breakfast and dinner. The breakfasts were adequate (although would have preferred the cooked version to be a little larger) however the dinner was excellent.Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sellest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here for a night last week and had an absolutely lovely time! The room was spacious, clean and well appointed (we stayed in a suite with a separate sitting area). Service was professional and friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. We enjoyed dinner in a beautiful dining room and again the service was attentive and professional. I was particularly impressed when the chef offered to cook me a vegetarian main off the menu (risotto was on offer) and I have to say, it was superb. Wine choice was good and not too expensive. Overall a super stay and we highly recommend.

Room Tip: Would definitely choose a suite again!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hometime3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

An excellent hotel with superb rooms and facilities.
Having a dog we were given a room or should I say suite in the Lodge which had a very large open plan sitting room & bedroom with of course a well appointed en-suite bathroom.
The staff very welcoming and offer great service. Nothing was too much trouble.
The grounds were ideal for walking and looking at wildlife. We even saw two otters playing on the river bank.
Facilities include a large warm swimming pool with steam room e.t.c.,a hot tub on the balcony, spa treatments and a gym.
The hotel also offers a 9 hole golf course (pitch and putt), a putting green, billiards room and tennis and the lake for fishing.
Unfortunately I was unable to use the golf course or putting green as they had not been mown for weeks making them both unplayable.
The food was excellent but for us the choice was a little limited, just four starters and four main courses including the vegetarian option. On our second night the menu was almost identical with just one change on the main course. We would have thought for £38 there should have been a little more choice.
Breakfast was very good however I would have thought the kippers should not have been "Boil in the bag fillets" - very disappointing.
We will however return some time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldandnackered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Many thanks for your valuable feedback and all your kind comments. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and plan on returning. It’s pleasing to hear you felt the breakfast was very good, just to clarify our kippers are from fishmongers and are not of the ‘boil in the bag’ variety. In regards to the golf course, we have been unable to mow the grass recently due to high levels of rainfall. Mowing in these conditions would leave tracks on the course and is also slightly dangerous due to a number of steep areas. We’re sorry you were unable to enjoy a round but hopefully conditions will be better next time, we recognise the course is not at a professional standard which is why we do not charge for this facility. Thank you once again, we will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Cannot rate The Lake House highly enough!! recently had a three night stay and cannot wait to return!! Everything from the accommodation - we had a Lodge Suite - the staff, restaurant, spa , grounds was excellent. And the added bonus was being able to take our two dogs!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARGARET R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
626 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
814 reviews
11.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
830 reviews
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
955 reviews
21.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range: £140 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing