We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was told luxury and luxury I had !! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I was told luxury and luxury I had !! :)”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Amazing welcoming service, very clean and tidy and very well maintained inside and out, spa facility was amazing.
This place was booked as a special treat and this was certainly had including an upgrade. Large Room, 4 course dinner, breakfast, spa, Grounds, service,log burner all perfect- Definitely one of the finest places I have ever stayed thank you...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firebobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    200
    61
    14
    6
See reviews for
81
641
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Very warm welcome, rooms were very comfortable, food was very enjoyable, spa was great, especially the outdoor hot tub. Would certainly recommend it. Close to the Elan Valley and the Red Kites feeding station. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trampus273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for such a kind review, we’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. ‘One of the best hotels we have stayed in for customer care’ is a great compliment to receive. I will pass this feedback onto the team here, who will be very grateful for the recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Wonderful service, marvellous food, great place. We selected dinner, B & B which was well worth it as the evening meals were special. Staff are efficient and friendly and will do whatever they can to make you feel at home. The bedroom was comfortable and stylish, robes and towels were luxurious. The reception rooms were warm and comfortable and with the christmas decorations and log fires christmas came early. The spa treatments were excellent value and professionally delivered. One of the best hotels we have stayed in for customer care.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 'Lodge' (a suite) every aspect was great. There is about 50 metre walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a lovely place for a relaxing break, both the location/grounds and the characterful property itself.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The suite was spacious and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable and there is little noise from adjacent rooms - other than creaking floorboards which are inevitable in old houses. The shower was a bit feeble but plumbing is again an issue in old properties. The thick fluffy towels and robes and spa toiletries were very luxurious Did miss little extras like slippers, teapots and biscuits in the room that I would generally take for granted in a hotel of this type, but times aren't easy and I guess small savings add up.
Service is leisurely (if a little erratic sometimes). The food is exceptional and we enjoyed everything we ate during our two night stay. The £5.50 supplement for smoked salmon and scrambled eggs at breakfast did jar though, that seems hard to justify.
But would love to stay again, maybe in springtime.

NB I am going to make this comment in every review II write now so am not singling out this hotel - it would be great if hotels who disable subtitles on their TVs reconsidered, since hearing impaired guests are disadvantaged by this.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seelybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Arrived to a very warm greeting from Molly the resident labrador and beautiful log fires! Fabulous food and very comfortable rooms. A really relaxing weekend with friends and would definitely return. Charming staff made us feel like we were in a country home and not a hotel and with the Christmas decorations up it was just what we needed to get us in the festive mood! Thank you.

Room Tip: We booked a suite which had a lovely view and good sitting area for watching the tv and reading. Ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gower, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here for one night on a dinner, bed & breakfast travelzoo deal.
Wished we had stayed longer as the hotel is lovely, very comfortable bedroom with it's own sitting area (we stayed in the Badger room). Bedroom & bathroom had everything you could wish for with lovely toiletries and fluffy towels.

We treated ourselves to a facial, neck and shoulders spa treatment which was heavenly, so relaxing and such a treat. The spa was a beautiful new building overlooking the lake.
The grounds are really nice and ideal for walking around. I would imagine the grounds to look stunning in Spring when the Rhododendrons are in full bloom.

Staff are great, you receive a good friendly welcome. They are a credit to the hotel.

Food was very nice, tasty, beautifully presented, but my only complaint is that the portions are very small. i.e. Dessert (tarte tatin), was the size of a matchstick box with one scoop of ice cream.
Breakfast was excellent, and this time the portions were not small. Breakfast was amongst one of the best we've had anywhere.
Would I return? Yes, but it would have to be on a deal as I would not be happy to pay the full price due to the size of our evening meal.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lighthouse2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A really relaxing and welcoming country house hotel in Wales. Greeted by friendly staff and open fires, pampered in spa and swimming pool with novel jacuzzi outside looking over countryside. Nice walks around grounds. Rooms decorated nicely with elegance and comfort. Food, wine and service were great. Afternoon tea plentiful! Would definitely go again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room in main building called Heron. It was very nice with big bathroom and lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMC200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We’re delighted to hear you had a friendly welcome and enjoyed a relaxing break. It’s great to hear you would recommend us to friends and would come here again – we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
606 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
799 reviews
11.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
826 reviews
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
941 reviews
21.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Property: The Lake Country House & Spa
Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing