We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely top-notch, we couldn't fault it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lake Country House & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely top-notch, we couldn't fault it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

What a hidden gem! We were looking for somewhere to spend a few nights as a getaway and relax before Christmas. Having never heard of this hotel before, we booked through a deal and thought if it wasn't very good we'd just move on to somewhere else in Wales (our original plan of going to Scotland was cut short at the last minute due to the weather). Well, we loved it so much we ended up extending our stay and spending the rest of our time here too!

The hotel itself is a lovely building with generously sized rooms. Our bedroom had a beautiful view across the grounds towards the river and a lovely sitting area with sofa/table and a bay window. Downstairs in the communal areas are several sitting areas with beautiful fires and everywhere was decorated beautifully. Whilst being smart and luxurious, it also felt extremely homely and we spent many a lovely hour in front of the fire with a tray of tea, relaxing and really settling in!

The spa is another treat - a lovely pool area with sauna, and a little hidden treat of a hot tub outside upstairs on the balcony - such a luxury to sit in a steaming hot tub whilst the welsh wind was whistling around us - bliss! We indulged in a treatment each whilst we were there and they were really top class.

Our deal included a four-course dinner every night. Again, we didn't have any particular expectations and were willing enough to scrap it and eat elsewhere if it was a bit mediocre. We demolished our dinner every night and positively looked forward to indulging in the next part of the menu! Having just watched the final of masterchef on TV, the dishes we were served, from amuse bouches to deserts, would have not only not looked out of place on the programme, but we feel would probably have beaten the winner. We lost count of the number of times we asked to tell the chef(s) how fabulous the food was! We understand a new head chef joined a couple of months ago, and to their credit the food was superb!

However, the biggest draw of this hotel has to be the staff. My husband and I have been lucky enough to stay in a lot of the best hotels around the world, and I really have never come across such a consistently hard-working and pleasant bunch of people. Everyone is constantly working hard but the staff were just such a joy to interact with and were all so lovely, it really made us feel as if we were staying at a family friend's country home, not at a hotel. We couldn't praise them highly enough and feel they should get some well-deserved recognition of really making this place something special.

My husband has declared this is his new favourite hotel in the world and I think we shall be back soon enough - if for nothing else than for him to play with the hotel's beautiful chocolate labrador, Molly!

A huge thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our stay not only comfortable, but thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable. We feel like we've been away for weeks, not just days, and the only thing to make the stay even better was please can we have a firmer mattress next time!

If anyone is looking for a relaxing, luxurious, getaway in beautiful countryside - you really have to stay here. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fab2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    189
    58
    12
    6
See reviews for
76
609
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Amazing welcoming service, very clean and tidy and very well maintained inside and out, spa facility was amazing.
This place was booked as a special treat and this was certainly had including an upgrade. Large Room, 4 course dinner, breakfast, spa, Grounds, service,log burner all perfect- Definitely one of the finest places I have ever stayed thank you...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firebobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Very warm welcome, rooms were very comfortable, food was very enjoyable, spa was great, especially the outdoor hot tub. Would certainly recommend it. Close to the Elan Valley and the Red Kites feeding station. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trampus273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for such a kind review, we’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. ‘One of the best hotels we have stayed in for customer care’ is a great compliment to receive. I will pass this feedback onto the team here, who will be very grateful for the recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Wonderful service, marvellous food, great place. We selected dinner, B & B which was well worth it as the evening meals were special. Staff are efficient and friendly and will do whatever they can to make you feel at home. The bedroom was comfortable and stylish, robes and towels were luxurious. The reception rooms were warm and comfortable and with the christmas decorations and log fires christmas came early. The spa treatments were excellent value and professionally delivered. One of the best hotels we have stayed in for customer care.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 'Lodge' (a suite) every aspect was great. There is about 50 metre walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a lovely place for a relaxing break, both the location/grounds and the characterful property itself.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The suite was spacious and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable and there is little noise from adjacent rooms - other than creaking floorboards which are inevitable in old houses. The shower was a bit feeble but plumbing is again an issue in old properties. The thick fluffy towels and robes and spa toiletries were very luxurious Did miss little extras like slippers, teapots and biscuits in the room that I would generally take for granted in a hotel of this type, but times aren't easy and I guess small savings add up.
Service is leisurely (if a little erratic sometimes). The food is exceptional and we enjoyed everything we ate during our two night stay. The £5.50 supplement for smoked salmon and scrambled eggs at breakfast did jar though, that seems hard to justify.
But would love to stay again, maybe in springtime.

NB I am going to make this comment in every review II write now so am not singling out this hotel - it would be great if hotels who disable subtitles on their TVs reconsidered, since hearing impaired guests are disadvantaged by this.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seelybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Arrived to a very warm greeting from Molly the resident labrador and beautiful log fires! Fabulous food and very comfortable rooms. A really relaxing weekend with friends and would definitely return. Charming staff made us feel like we were in a country home and not a hotel and with the Christmas decorations up it was just what we needed to get us in the festive mood! Thank you.

Room Tip: We booked a suite which had a lovely view and good sitting area for watching the tv and reading. Ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gower, Wales
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here for one night on a dinner, bed & breakfast travelzoo deal.
Wished we had stayed longer as the hotel is lovely, very comfortable bedroom with it's own sitting area (we stayed in the Badger room). Bedroom & bathroom had everything you could wish for with lovely toiletries and fluffy towels.

We treated ourselves to a facial, neck and shoulders spa treatment which was heavenly, so relaxing and such a treat. The spa was a beautiful new building overlooking the lake.
The grounds are really nice and ideal for walking around. I would imagine the grounds to look stunning in Spring when the Rhododendrons are in full bloom.

Staff are great, you receive a good friendly welcome. They are a credit to the hotel.

Food was very nice, tasty, beautifully presented, but my only complaint is that the portions are very small. i.e. Dessert (tarte tatin), was the size of a matchstick box with one scoop of ice cream.
Breakfast was excellent, and this time the portions were not small. Breakfast was amongst one of the best we've had anywhere.
Would I return? Yes, but it would have to be on a deal as I would not be happy to pay the full price due to the size of our evening meal.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lighthouse2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
20.6 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Property: The Lake Country House & Spa
Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Agoda, Hotels.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing