We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A perfect setting in which to relax. The pool is excellent as is the beauty salon. The staff were extremely pleasant and the menu varied and proved delicious. The grounds are a delight to wander through with a lake , tennis courts and magnificent Welsh countryside to view. The apartment was spacious and well equipped with only the sofa needing an upgrade. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Corner suites hve lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 944cariad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

A friend and I have just had a fantastic 4 day break at the Country House. The staff were exceptional and nothing was too much troublers. We had a 5 month old puppy with as who wasn't used to being left in a room on his own and they happily set us up the a table in the bar so he could join us at meal times. It's a great base to walk from too and the spa with the hot tub on the deck overlooking the lake was great after a days walking even in the wind and rain. The food was fantastic too.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank DizzyUK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I spent a very relaxing 3 days at this superb location, amidst the tranquility of the Brecon National Park. Views from all the rooms, or should I say suites were of either the Lake, extensive green grounds, or the 9 hole par 3 golf course.
Located deep in the countryside, no passing traffic, the only noise, that of a woodpecker.
Whilst we generally enjoyed our stay, indeed we would return, having read the Lake Hotel website details, you perhaps would expect even more, and this was true for us, maybe it was us, but should we have expected to get 4 star treatment as stated on the website?
Upon arrival in the large old house reception, we were greeted professionally if not necessarily with an overtly friendly manner.
Our 'Superior' Suite was indeed that, a large 'L' shaped' room with en suite, TV, Table Chairs, sofa, Tea/Coffee, with views out of 3 windows.
All as one would expect for '4 star', However during our stay there were a number of small 'things' that we felt were not in keeping with such a high standard rating.
The TV only had 8 channels, minor point I know, but viewing was suitably restricted, no Freeview or Sky.
Whilst the curtains on each of the windows were very nice, they covered the windows and down to the floor, thus covering the radiators and restricting heat input into a chilly room.
Why were there 'old' magazines (Oct 2013) placed on our room tables with a sticker saying do not remove?
Tea/Coffee facilities were in the room, but why no Teapot as standard?
Having 3 large windows was very nice, but how often do they get cleaned? Outside?
Whilst toiletries were provided, all were in large liquid hand dispenser bottles, yes they were ook, but somewhat detracted from the ambience.
No laundry bag for dirty washing, or indeed any mention of laundry facilities being available. This is meant to be 4 Star!
The staff if were efficient if not overly friendly, certainly they all knew their job, especially the wine waiter.
Restaurant was excellent, however we were concerned about some of the food, Sirloin Beef was available on each of the 3 nights, in speaking to one of the guests he had found the meat 'chewy' and had advised the chef accordingly, I had the sirloin the following evening and had to return it to the kitchen, as I noted did another guest. We were surprised to note that the Beef was still on the menu again the following evening.
On our last morning, my wife had to return one of the 2 kippers as it was quite obviously not cooked. So overall our dining experience was good but tainted with low standards.
The Hotel offers much in the way of Spa treatments, its own pool, Sauna and Hot Tub. Lake and River fishing, many many walks for all capabilities.
The Lake Hotel IS an ideal retreat, but was let down badly with lots of small 'things', as above. But YES we would return.
It is not a cheap getaway', and so you expect everything to be perfect. It was for the most part, but as they say 'Little things mean alot'

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are to an excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baggyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and offering some feedback about your recent stay. We are delighted that you think highly of our peaceful location and genuinely enjoyed your relaxing stay with us. We take on board all the smaller points you raise and have a number of refinements currently underway, which include and address the important ‘Little Things’. We are pleased to read that ‘Yes’ you would return and hope to extend a genuinely warm welcome to you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We got engaged the weekend we stayed here so I am a bit biased in my experience! Was pure luxury - gorgeous suite which made us feel like royalty with a beautiful bed, bathroom and sitting room. Gorgeous, tranquil location. We ate in the restaurant both nights - my only complaint is it was the same menu both nights so night 1 was amazing as we both picked our fave things from the menu. Night 2 was, as a result, less amazing as we both picked 'second choice' starters etc.
However the service was impeccable both nights.
I would recommend coming here for 1-2 nights but no longer as there isnt much to do in the area (apart from relax and chill out!) and we couldn't have picked from the same menu 3 nights in a row.

Will def have to come back here to celebrate our anniversary!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Another lovely stay at the Lake and Country Spa. Relax in front of the fire with a little glass of bubbly then head to the Spa for one of the best massage's you will get...... and I've had a few all over the World! The staff are friendly, professional and keen to make sure your stay is memorable. The rooms are lovely and individually decorated. It's a peaceful retreat in a little slice of Welsh Heaven. If you are looking for rest and recuperation or a little indulgent break away for a special celebration, this is a lovely place to stay. Will be back again...and again!

Room Tip: Suites in the main hotel are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onwhitehorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review and sharing your experience. It is our greatest pleasure to welcome back the friendly faces of returning guests. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Lovely country house in the middle of nowhere, great for a couple of days to unwind. We stayed for a two nights on a discount deal in the luxury suite and really enjoyed our weekend.

The luxury suite room was superb with a spacious en-suite living room with TV and a comfy four-poster bed.

The main house is very cosy and quiet, perfect for reading, snoozing and lazing about.

The breakfasts were very good - buffet of fruit, cereal and juice and we had the welsh cooked breakfast which wasn't huge but was very nice and we were certainly full enough.

The swim and spa were excellent - not overly flash but massage, sauna, hot tub, small gym and swimming pool - couldn't ask for much more.

We thought the four-course dinner was a little bit expensive at £45 each and the restaurant was a little bit quiet and lacking in atmosphere so we ate out at a pub about 20 minutes away which was great and then came back to the hotel for some drinks later on.

Overall a really nice stay - perfect for a lazy get-away weekend in the middle of nowhere - just what we were looking for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TEJA6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Back again . Fantastic as before, loving it again. Not only me, husband and dog, as well my retail customers . Expectations are very high but they are again topped up with the great staff, extra help and very very warm welcome. You will be feeling like home and nothing is too much for the fantastic staff . Luke, Heidi , Adam and Mr and Mrs M. Loving it here and really you should come here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
651 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
831 reviews
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,367 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
622 reviews
22.2 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range: £111 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing