We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of luxury in rural Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little slice of luxury in rural Wales”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We visited on a wet Sunday, arriving in time for a light lunch. The hotel is a pretty building set in the lovely Welsh countryside. We sat in the window of the beautiful main lounge looking out at the rain. Tea arrived quickly- just what we needed though I would have liked to see loose leaf tea rather than tea bags. Super sandwiches were served with salad and vegetable crisps. Our room was ready a little earlier than expected and were shown to our luxury suite by the lovely receptionist, Georgina. It was a lovely, spacious room and lounge area with a comfy sofa and beautiful views.

We took our robes to the spa where we had booked treatments. The spa facilities are good, the hot tub overlooking the lake being a highlight. The massage treatments were also very good, made special by the sound of the birds and water outside- you almost didn't need the music to relax you.

As our room was in an external building, I had to wear my boots over to main house for dinner as the rain was persistent, making the ground rather muddy. We sat in the lounge and ordered pre dinner drinks before being presented with a lovely menu and extensive wine list. The maître d' brought over some canapés- quite unexciting. Some dry chorizo in filo pastry, olives and crayfish with fruit. Not for me I'm afraid.

When we were ready, we were taken to our table in the dining room. Lovely linen and nice atmosphere. We were served an amuse bouche of winter vegetable soup which was very welcome, though the bread served was stodgy. Soon followed our starter of pigeon breast. A little over cooked for our taste but enjoyable. We had lamb for our main course which was beautiful. I finished with a delicious lemon cheesecake. My boyfriends banana parfait was the winner though- with a peanut mousse and caramelised banana. We enjoyed a few more drinks back in the lounge, before returning to our comfortable room.

After a great nights sleep, we woke to the newspaper we had ordered outside the door and returned to the main house for breakfast in the orangery. We were served tea and toast promptly and helped ourselves to the lovely buffet on offer. We ordered our Welsh breakfast which arrived shortly after, all of which was very good.

We went back to collect our things before checking out. We were fortunate enough to be shown some of the rooms in the main building for future reference all of which were lovely, even the smallest (classic) rooms. Our suite was more spacious than those in the main house.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much. Though the location is rural, there was plenty to entertain us with country walks and drives around the local area and the lovely spa. We could have easily stayed for a long weekend and hope to return soon to do just that!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cotswold21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review. We are delighted to hear there was so much of your stay that you enjoyed. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon, hopefully it will be a bit sunnier and you’ll get to enjoy much more of our beautiful local surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    198
    60
    13
    6
See reviews for
79
626
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, Northumberland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here through secret escapes and it was fantastic. The service was second to none and the food was superb. We had the 8 course taster dinner. The room was huge and very clean. Loads of fine antiques in the lounge plenty to do whatever the weather. Would definatley recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tozza1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We have a residential course here every year and look forward to it. The organiser Laura was very useful. good facilities. Buffet lunch was lovelyS was the evening meal. Attentive service. The rooms are lovely as was the breakfast. Diolch/Thanks. See you again

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I visited this lovely country house hotel with a friend to have a bit of a walking /spa break and decided with some anxiety to bring my 6 month old puppy as reviews said the hotel was dog friendly. We had a great time. There are beautiful grounds ( a lovely riverside walk in the grounds is a great morning dog walk). The hotel rooms both the bedrooms and lounges are country house style but very comfortable and the food and spa are great. However the outstanding thing for me was how helpful and kind all the staff were from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We ended up having all our meals in the bar area so i could bring the dog which caused a bit more work for the people who looked after us but nothing was too much trouble - the waiting and reception staff were really helpful and friendly and we were introduced to first class apple gin - it was a pleasure to stay in the hotel and they could not have been more accomodating to the dog (who didnt want to leave).I would visit again - thank you all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank janandsammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to read your kind comments and pleased that you (and your lovely labradoodle) had such a great time enjoying our hospitality. The riverside walk is ideal for taking a stroll with the dog and exploring our grounds and lakeside. We will pass on your feedback directly to the hotel team and look forward to extending a warm welcome to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just had Mother's Day lunch. Food was outstanding as was the service. The hotel owner was attentive as ever, making sure all guests were happy. This hotel is a real gem. I've stayed twice before and never been disappointed. If you like good food, great service and a fantastic setting go to the Lake.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cardinalbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We’re delighted to hear you had such a good experience and will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Spent a night here and it was, yet again superb! The atmosphere and pace is well judged and just feels right.. the main lounge is just such a great space with large sofas and a fire... wonderful.
The evening meal was beautifully cooked and the wine excellent. The only disappointment was watching the couple from our adjoining room complaining and being offered a complimentary night.. unfortunately we weren't unhappy at all.
Oh, and the dog was made extremely welcome (he liked the sausages!). Will stay again..soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A perfect setting in which to relax. The pool is excellent as is the beauty salon. The staff were extremely pleasant and the menu varied and proved delicious. The grounds are a delight to wander through with a lake , tennis courts and magnificent Welsh countryside to view. The apartment was spacious and well equipped with only the sofa needing an upgrade. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Corner suites hve lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 944cariad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
21.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Property: The Lake Country House & Spa
Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing