We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect relaxing break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lake Country House & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We visited the sister hotel, 'Northcote Manor' in Devon earlier this year and was expecting similar exceptional standards.
On arrival staff were helpful and courteous. The room was small and cosy, but well equipped. The bathroom was in need of a bit of TLC, with toilet roll holders falling off and paint fading on the walls and bath.
During the evening meal, we did not feel the service was quite up to what would have been expected at a hotel of this stature. Many of the waiters and waitresses were surly and rude, dropped food and water over the table upon service. Furthermore, contrary to what is stated on the website, many guests turned up to dinner in t-shirts and jeans, which took away the ambiance that should have been created.
However, the grounds, gardens and spa were fantastic! It was exquisitely quiet and relaxing throughout the whole grounds.
It is well worth a visit for the relaxing weekend, however be warned that dinner service is not as would be and should be expected unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deaks101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    189
    58
    12
    6
See reviews for
76
609
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We would highly recommend this hotel. In tranquil settings you will instantly unwind. Beautiful food, lovely walks in the ground and a fantastic spa (hot tub is a real treat).
Each morning at breakfast you get some day trip recommendations which we followed, a lovely touch and made for a great weekend away.
If you do venture out we loved Elan Valley and had a beautiful meal at the Carlton Riversidr restaurant (about 4 miles from the hotel).

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WhiteRoseTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely feedback, it sounds as though you had a lovely stay. We’re glad you enjoyed our trip recommendations, the Elan Valley is wonderful and there’s always something to do there. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
437 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed for 3 days, 2 nights, & were definitely much more relaxed on leaving!
The hotel is in a beautiful & isolated location & is very peaceful.
Our room - large & roomy, with large soft bed & big bathroom with separate bath & shower. We had a lovely view over the lake & the swans with their 8 cygnets. The old Toshiba TV needs updating with something modern which can be moved & watched in both rooms - & pretty please - more mirrors - preferably a full length one somewhere. There was only one in our suite other than the bathroom one, & one of the nice things here is the dress code; all the guests made an effort & looked nice every evening so a long mirror would be very useful.
Beautiful grounds, all very well kept - but please Mr Groundsman don't park your white van in front of the hotel every day & spoil your guests photo's!
There are lovely walks all around the hotel, most unsurprisingly involving hills, & the river & lakes on the grounds are beautiful.
Dining - food presentation was great, with the taste matching the looks of the food on our 2nd night in particular. However, we agree with previous comments that portions are on the small side - especially the cheeseboard we had on our first night! The restaurant staff were great & there is a good wine list, but the descriptions on the list could be improved as the hotel did not have a sommelier during our stay.
Spa - we had a lovely massage treatment, & had the pool & sun loungers completely to ourselves.
Disability access - be aware there are quite steep slopes & no lifts in any of the buildings, although there are ground floor rooms & restaurant/conservatory access; it is a very old building.
Overall, the atmosphere when we stayed was restful & relaxing, & the environment beautiful, & the staff were without exception very good. However, the hotel is starting to look a little tatty around the edges - frayed carpets etc, & will soon need to benefit from investment to justify their full prices. We were there on an offer & were happy with what we paid.
Our stay was exactly what we wanted - so thank you very much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducatibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on 17th May. Our suite was immaculate with no complaints the hotel is situated in beautiful tranquil landscaped gardens ideal to unwind. Spa is also first rate with friendly staff.
Only 2 niggles, first the hotel advertised a "turn down" service for the room which did not actually happen. Second, although the evening meal was superb, the restaurant staff let themselves down at breakfast failing to provide coffee & toast until prompted & it arrived after the main hot breakfast had been served.
Niggles aside the hotel provided a great experience & we would return, though would be even better if they offered an incentive to stay an extra night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Booked a one night dinner, bed and breakfast stay with Secret Escapes. The room was spacious with a sofa and jacuzzi bath. Enjoyed using the spa facilities (swimming pool, sauna and outdoor jacuzzi). It was very relaxing and we had the spa to ourselves for most of the time! The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Dinner was delicious but we felt the dining room lacked a little atmosphere. Maybe this wouldn't be a problem during busier periods (ie weekends). Some soft background music might have helped. The cooked breakfast was a little on the small side, but there was a buffet of cereals and croissants to help ourselves to. The hotel grounds were very pleasant and we were able to sit outside for tea and cake. Overall, a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Apple078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a two night stay to celebrate my wifes birthday. I asked for aground floor room, this was no problem and it was very spacious, with a seperate lounge/seating area , massive bed and fantastic bathroom.All the staff from my initial call to leaving were very good welcoming,helpful and very attentive. The taster was 7 course and rather a lot for us but the quality was good. On the second night we also ate in the restaurant picking from the a'la carte menu, this meal was fabulous in its presentation,taste everything was 1st class. Great wine selection also. Breakfast was also 1st class in quality service, every respect. The pool and spa area's are also fantastic and it stands in lovely grounds. Very Good country house hotel well worth a visit if travelling in mid Wales.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianhaggerston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 day stay here over the Easter holidays. The room was spacious, well fitted and lovely. The staff were very welcoming and the food was excellent. We enjoyed a wonderful massage in the Spa so overall it was a lovely break.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesrichardst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review, we’re glad to hear you enjoyed your Easter break with us and we hope you to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
20.6 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Property: The Lake Country House & Spa
Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Hotels.com, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing