We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't quite live up to its reputation in our opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

First impressions were good. Lovely hotel in a beautiful part of the world - a peaceful tranquil location which had the typical country house feel inside. Our room, on the top floor (lots of stairs) was pleasant, nicely decorated with a small sitting area and a lovely view over the gardens. It didn't however have the wow factor and although clean and tidy lacked that certain something which turns a room from nice to wonderful. The bathroom was small and clean but the shower was not of a good enough standard and the water pressure to it was pitiful. It was also a bit of a shock when the knob of the tap came off in our hand!
The night we stayed at Lake House there seemed to be very little atmosphere, especially in the dining room. The evening meal at £45 per person is rather expensive for the quality and flavours on the plate. We are quite happy to pay the price if the food delivers but we felt this meal didn't. My crab starter was so small you could eat the whole thing in three average sized mouthfuls whilst the fish main course was overcooked and a little boring. The service was haphazard - lots of young servers (nothing wrong with this) but a little extra training would not have gone amiss, no one waiter seemed to be in charge of any one table - we had to wait a long time for our main course to be cleared and even longer for the dessert menu. Paying this amount for a meal you don't expect the waitress when delivering two plates of food to have to ask "whose having the...."!
Breakfast started off well - good fruit, cereal selection but after that not good enough. The orange juice was distinctly average whilst the scrambled egg and half a tomato was the tiniest portion with solid scrambled egg, not at all enjoyable. The two soft boiled eggs we ordered were so hard they were sent back and we then had to wait another 10+ minutes for two soft boiled ones thus having to eat our cooked breakfasts separately. Even our toast had to be sent back - it was barely toasted and not hot. Whilst waiting to pay our bill (not a problem) we noticed that the receptionist asked the couples in front of us if they enjoyed their stay - it seemed they did. We were not asked, probably due to all the problems at breakfast of which they were aware. It is obvious that an hotel cannot please everyone and that we all have different tastes however we came away feeling slightly disappointed. Great shame so probably won't return again as there are many excellent country house hotels in Wales.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs check where your room is situated as there are lots of steep stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank holidaysabroad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We are really pleased that your room was pleasant, nicely decorated with a sitting area and offered you a lovely view over our gardens. However, we are genuinely sorry that you felt slightly disappointed and appreciate that it’s usually the ‘little things’ which make all the difference. We apologise that we did not manage to impress you as much as our other guests, who often comment and return to enjoy our hospitality, spa facilities and tranquil setting. Many of our rooms, suites and luxury lodges can be accessed without needing stairs and if this is an important factor, would ask guests to make us aware. We place great value on listening to all feedback and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

My partner and I spent two days and one night at this hotel in mid August and we wish we'd stayed longer.

The hotel is well decorated, with the interior and exterior kept to a high standard. Perfectly placed for complete escapism from the day to day, along with enough activities to keep you entertained, but also quiet and peaceful enough to mentally switch off.

The standard bedroom was very spacious and nothing felt 'standard' about it.

The food was beautifully presented and very tasty.

The spa was lovely and quiet, with a steam room, sauna, pool, gym and fabulous outdoor hot tub overlooking the lake and forest. There's also a tennis court.

Finally, the staff couldn't be friendlier, especially Luke and Laura.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lou_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Many thanks for sharing your experience. It is so good to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and that our food, tranquil setting and spa facilities all contributed towards a ‘lovely’ stay for you both. We will share your kind comments directly with our team and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have read many reviews about this hotel and read many before staying, I stayed for two nights and I have stayed in an awful lot of hotels including the big named ones in London.

The setting and the building are stunning if anyone says its not then they obviously live on a paradise island. We visited on a not very nice weather wise weekend and it was still stunning. There is ample parking in different areas, this sometimes isn't near your room but all in walkable distance this may cause issues to elderly but it didn't bother me.

I read reviews about the staff not being great, I can see why this negative review has been made as I found that most were quite young and inexperienced, there also seemed to be an awful lot of them heading in all directions. They were however all very personable and helpful even if they didn't know the answer then they found someone who could. The older and more qualified were amazing and dealt with anything quickly and efficiently.

The main house is beautiful and very period in its appearance, modern certainly wouldn't suit it, but a slight tidy up wouldn't hurt, I have read reviews about having a bar, and also the return comments from the hotel, I personally would prefer to see a bar, we waited in the lounge for up to 20 minutes to get a drink the one afternoon which is totally unacceptable. At least with a bar staff can see who is waiting.

The food was in my opinion incredibly good, anyone who says its not must have had them on a bad day, I heard a lot of what I can only assume to be locals there for food all praising it on previous visits. I can only agree, the quality of the breakfast was also amazing! May be a little more needed but never the less really well cooked and presented. The timings of the courses on the evening meal was really good too. At £45 maybe very slightly over priced but just justifiable. How ever the drinks were very reasonable and this made up for it.

The rooms, our first room was suite 11, a nice sized corner suite, huge in every way but the bed, the bed was tiny, it was also the worst mattress I have slept on and every time you moved the headboard would hit the wall quite hard. We were awoken at 07:30 to the room bellows headboard hitting the wall in quite a fashion. We did complain about this and the staff dealt with this very promptly, they moved us to suite 2 which has a super king bed, which in all honesty I wouldn't expect any less than at £240 a night.

This was the room in the pictures we had seen. We also had the room price drastically reduced for the first night. Overall the rooms could do with a mini bar, definitely a safe and get rid of those 1990's TV's! I know your trying to keep it old but they look hideous and really let the place down. They also use up loads more electricity!

The bathrooms were modern, they were clean, had read negative reviews but we saw two rooms and both were great, ok water pressure wasn't great but come on we were in the middle of nowhere.

Wifi was great in the main house but no connection in the rooms, I carry a dongle and ironically this worked great in the room.

The spa was very modern, very well equipped and I can't see how anybody could leave negative about this. Again very impressive.

Overall it was very good, a slight refurbishment needed inside main areas but very good, I shall visit again!

Room Tip: Avoid Suite 11 unless they have put a new super king bed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polouk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your range of kind comments and generally positive feedback. We place great value and importance on listening carefully and fully appreciate all points that you have raised. We are delighted that your stay with us was overall very good, and look forward to extending another warm and friendly welcome to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I went to The Lake for afternoon tea. It was a gift from my son for our Silver Wedding Anniversary. The service was first class and the tea and cakes just scrumptious. After tea we went outside to look around and were approached by the owner who showed us around and was very attentive. It all made us feel really special. A perfect gift that we will remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwendoline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to read how much you both enjoyed your afternoon tea and hope to extend another warm welcome to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a one night stay, which we booked through Secret Escapes. The booking stated a luxury room. We quite expected to have the wow factor when we entered our room which was Lodge 1. We were both disappointed with the room, as we had expectations of something better and luxurious based on the photos of the rooms on the Hotel website. The room seemed a bit tired, the valance on the bed was stained as was the quilted throw. The rest of the bedding was crisp and white thankfully and the bed comfortable, One of the bed side lights was wonky. There was a big clump of hair on the carpet left from maybe the previous guests. The biggest disappointment was the bathroom, which was for a disabled user and was just a wet room. Had we had a longer stay and arrived earlier we would have seen if we could have been moved to another room.

On the plus side and all our comments are not negative, the staff were very friendly. The evening meal that we had in the restaurant was superb!! One of the best meals that we have had in a restaurant for some time. As with some other previous reviews some background music in the b would have added some ambience to the restaurant. Breakfast was not as well executed, the food was bland and we had to wait some time for it. Some other tables were served before us and we had to chase our order up with the staff. Minutes later it arrived.

The grounds were lovely. On the whole a pleasant stay. I would have liked for it to be more as it was a birthday treat for my partner. :(

Room Tip: Not lodge 1!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Basia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback which we will share with all of our team. Whilst we are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed one of the best meals you have had in a restaurant for some time, we are disappointed that there were aspects of your stay that failed to meet expectations. Had we been aware, we would have immediately rectified any issues. Please accept our genuine apology and we hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel is in a lovely part of Wales we which hadn't explored before and we stayed for three days. I have been ill this was my first holiday after treatment I had requested a quiet room with a view and that is just what we had it was very spacious, looked over the gardens and beyond to the hills. The spa and swimming pool were very good and a bonus when returning from sightseeing the outdoor hot tub looking over the lake was gorgeous. Breakfast and dinner were also delicious although a bit formal for every evening I would have preferred the option of smaller informal meals. The best part is the staff which make all the difference to a stay and they were all without exception welcoming and helpful. We would certainly like to return here.

Room Tip: Ours was on the first floor at the front of the hotel spacious and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gateman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just returned from 3 days spent at the Lake Country House Hotel, blissful. Not only is it located in a beautiful part of the country, mid Wales and the Brecon Beacons but set in the most idyllic grounds; acres of woodland, edged by the river and funnily enough with a lake!

But it's not the setting that won us over, it was the staff, they are so quietly, helpful, considerate and co-operative, nothing was too much trouble but not in a clingy sort of way that makes you want to wince.

It's a dog friendly hotel and they really mean it; we were given a glorious suite in the Lodge which opened out on to the grounds so we could walk our rather bouncy hound regularly, only restriction was no dogs in the restaurant, totally agree.

Then there was the food, divine, locally sourced & beautifully cooked, can't say anything more

We enjoyed putting, croquet, lawn skittles, swimming pool, steam room & hot tub in addition to the lovely walks and didn't feel the need to leave until our stay was over.

We went for a wedding and it was as perfect as you could ever wish for. Thank you S & J and thank you Lake Country House Hotel

Room Tip: Beautiful suites in the Lodge, amazing decor and attention to detail
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
845 reviews
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
666 reviews
11 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,029 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Plough Rhosmaen
The Plough Rhosmaen
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
871 reviews
22.2 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range: £139 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing