We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Country Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2006

Loved this hotel! After a long train journey we arrived at this lovely spot at a lake. We had booked a suite which was situated in the newer block and we had spacious room to stretch out. Everything was pretty new and also the bathroom. They serve afternoon tea in the main house in the lobby which we took once. I cannot say anything about the Dinners, as we never had one, but breakfast could have been better. Buffet was not quite a big selection and the servants in the main dinning room were mostly from different countries which made the conversation a bit difficult.
The best at the hotel were the area around, the lake, the spa and the two black dogs, Cassie and Belle, who love to take you for a walk. Cassie is a very clever and smart dog and you will have a lot of fun with her. Belle is a bit old and likes to lay just around.
I would definitively return to this wonderful place.
Only one negative point we had: at 11p.m. the fire alarm went on in our room and it took about 1 hour to solve the problem for the boss and his employee. Beside this we had a good nights spleep and got an discount for this interruption at night.
Highly recommended for people who love peace and quietness!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Englandish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2006

Really enjoyed our stay here. We'd had a long drive from London to be there and went over an MoD road where we worried we'd get shot by the army. We were greeted by a black labrador who wanted to go for a walk with us! The room was very nice - though need a ladder to climb on the bed (old fashioned bed which is a little higher than the norm). Great bathroom and nice views over the gardens below. We went swimming, which was very nice. The outdoor jacuzzi looking over the lake is also good (the downside being you have to traipse through reception to get there). The food here was excellent - and I enjoyed the fire and lounge area with chess games/board games.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2006

We loved this hotel. The overall feel is very warm and accomodating. Be sure to walk around the grounds a bit just to check out the nature, with a little luck you may see a Red Kite bird. We are from Las Vegas so we found the room a little cool upon arrival and the staff quickly sent up a portable room heater to make our room more comfortable. The hotel is furnished with lovely antiques, I felt like I was taking part in a Victorian novel. We did enjoy breakfast each morning at the hotel and one dinner. The dinner was excellent. As mentioned previously it is very dressy so if you aren't up for dressing to the nines you are not denied dining however you may feel a bit out of place. We would not hesitate to return here again one day.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frequenttraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2006

We have just returned from an enjoyable overnight stay at the Lake House.

We stayed in one of their suites which was spacious and nicely decorated, although perhaps lacking in character as it’s in a modern building away from the main house.

The spa is in another separate building by a lake. There is a large pool with great views of the countryside through long windows. There is a Jacuzzi rather incongruously placed on a deck outside the small gym, although it does offer a view of the lake.

We asked for lunch in our room but were told that they didn’t really do room service (even though it says they do in the room info). Instead we went over to the main house for lunch and had a rather disappointing sandwich. Things got better for afternoon tea, which consisted of a great selection of homemade cakes. The evening meal was excellent, served in their formal dining room in the main house (most people were dressed formally although we didn’t feel out of place dressed smart-casual).

I would definitely recommend the Lake House for a quite weekend away.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank GE&AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2006

Wonderful hotel in BEAUTIFUL setting. We had a lovely weekend enjoying the peace of the location, the delicious food, the attentive service and the relaxing spa treatments(so good we have booked to go back at New Year!). Apart from a rather overenthusiastic couple in the room above the quiet was almost complete.
Showers in the main house seem a bit underpowered but the bath is adequate.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2006

We booked this hotel at the last minute to visit the Royal Welsh Show in Builth Wells. The situation is charming and tranquil. The rooms are extremely comfortable. The food is very good and the service impeccable. We were offered an extremely friendly welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A special mention for Tim, the maitre d and head waiter (and Head of everything else, I suspect!). Tim was the perfect English butler....modelled on Jeeves. He was etiquette par excellence seasoned with a zesty sense of humour. Thanks for a really good time.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LVESC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2006

After three nights in this hotel, I can certainly understand why it is appreciated by the other reviewers to date.

The buildings look like the country home of landed gentry - situated off a quiet road around 25 minutes drive from Brecon. Our bedroom was large, light, furnished in a classic style with a whole range of Molten Brown goodies in the bathroom. The sherry and biscuits were a nice touch upon arrival in the room. My husband enjoyed the small golf course - the hotel was happy to loan him golf clubs - and we over-heard lots of happy guests talking about the fishing. The food was lovely & presented very well.

Confession time? This isn't a hotel we would go back to - no 'fault' of the owners just not quite our style in terms of the atmosphere. My parents would have loved it - it was a little too formal for us. It felt a little like a private members club - with whispered conversations in pre-dinner drinks, ties and jackets encouraged for dinner, waiters dressed in morning suits.

I really would recommend this hotel to individuals who are looking for a hotel with old school charm, who have the confidence to enjoy feeling like one of the upper classes for the weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BelJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
651 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
833 reviews
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,368 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
624 reviews
22.2 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range: £108 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing