We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Cain Valley Hotel(Llanfyllin)
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pale Hall Hotel(Llandderfel)
US$387
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
US$156
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Arms Hotel(Llanarmon DC)
US$99
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,644)
Filter reviews
1,644 results
Traveller rating
862
503
164
77
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
503
164
77
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake vyrnwycourse mealafternoon teastunning viewsgarden viewsorbetpremier roomfour poster bedclay pigeon shootingtrufflefantastic locationroom was largesconesdrawing roomhotel barmain restaurantrelaxing break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
952 - 957 of 1,644 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just returned from a stay at The Lake Vyrnwy Hotel and Spa and couldn't fault it in any way.We were met by friendly, smiling reception ladies who had made a note that we were there for my girlfriends birthday and immediately wished her "happy birthday"....a nice touch and then had truffles and a card sent to our room
This hotel is over 100 years old so if you expect "modern, trendy" rooms then its not for you but if you like olde worlde then step back in time and enjoy. Our room was large and very comfortable with a massive bed. The bathroom was again large and spacious and spotlessly clean
I had paid for a room upgrade which was worth every penny for the view of the lake alone....and you get a toy puppy to place outside your door if you do not wish to be disturbed....so much nicer than a card to hang on your door handle
The food and service that you will receive here is excellent....friendly helpful staff who attend to your every need......the restaurant and bar also have wonderful views over the lake and surrounding countryside and there is a large balcony that you can sit on to take in the views
There is a also a tavern next to the hotel and the Spa is across from that which is an additional £10......we didn't actually use this facility but we did go in for a look and we were shown around by a very helpful lady who explained all the treatments that you could have
So if you are looking for a very relaxed break in the middle of nowhere then you wont go wrong with this hotel......would thouroughly recommend it ......excellent

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front....room 3 is the best one apparently.... for an additional fee
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Beautiful location in the middle of nowhere overlooking Lake Vyrnwy. Fabric of the building is a bit tired but our room appeared freshly decorated, and was clean, warm and comfortable. The bathroom had a tiny shower cubicle but can be forgiven because there was also a lovely long, deep bath.

The food was OK but nothing to rave about - I think I would have been disappointed if we had been paying full cost rather than on a voucher deal that included the five course menu.

The most tables in the restaurant overlook the lake and we were treated to the most magnificent rainbow during breakfast proving that this is a really is a magical location.

Room Tip: Some rooms are dog friendly (£10 supplement) or there are free heated kennels but we didn't check those out.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleAcorn2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife and I have just returned from what can only be described as a truly wonderful, relaxing stay at this hotel. The views are jaw dropping and as we approached the hotel it was like stepping back in time. This hotel and it's staff are honest and caring, not at all pretentious. The room was great, yes it is an old hotel but if you want modern, don't go. There is no mobile phone coverage (except Orange)...bonus!!! Food was brilliant and the service very attentive. Breakfast was great too. If you want to spend quality time with loved ones or friends, this hotel is perfect. There is even a pub on it's grounds. Plenty to do if you like walking etc, we didn't even turn the TV on.
The staff are great, very helpful and caring. I seriously thought that the cast of Downton Abbey were going to appear at any time, a beautiful old hotel that obviously entertained the gentry in the old days, but has still retained it's character.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are a 'must'
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Hotel decent, location great, rooms very comfortable. It was very clean too!

Sadly let down by food, Rabbit terrine dry and heavy, smoked halibut with HUGE pickled onion pieces, Pheasant chewy chewy. Veg bland, Pannacotta was inedible you could stand a spoon up in it! Breakfast ok, sausage was billed as local but didnt taste brilliant.

Sad really as it could have been amazing. Loved the gin menu!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

This place is absolutely beautiful.
I only stayed the one night. Weather was glorious so could sit on the balcony overlooking the lake. Food was amazing.
Room was lovely and comfortable overlooked the lake. Had a fabulous weekend.
Would definitely return.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Selina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you for your brief but kind words regarding your recent stay at Vyrnwy. I am delighted that you had a fabulous weekend and look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews