We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A RELAXING LUXURIOUS RETREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you want a relaxing break in glorious scenery at a well-appointed, traditional hotel with superb food, this is the hotel. All the staff were friendly, efficient and obviously well trained. The hotel is furnished in traditional style, in keeping with its age. It has genuine character.

Our bedroom was at the side, overlooking the gardens (a pleasant outlook, and I wouldn't pay extra for a lake view room as there's ample opportunity to enjoy that view from the public rooms.). Our room was well appointed with super-king-size bed, sofa and two TVs. The large bathroom had an oval bath, shower and gorgeous thick fluffy towels and flannels.

I liked the cute idea of placing the toy doggie, which sat on our bed, outside the door if you do not wish to have the 'turn-down service' in the evening.

The meals were of outstanding quality, and there's a bistro at the adjoining Tower Tavern with the same standard of food.

It rained for the whole of our two night stay, buy this didn't mar our break as the hotel was comfortable and relaxing, and we most definitely will return. Only one thing could have improved our experience - a swimming pool!

Room Tip: Our room was 30 on the 2nd floor with double aspect windows overlooking the garden, super-king-sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to read of your ‘luxurious retreat’ and hope that you will one day return to the lake.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Went to Lake Vyrnwy over may bank holiday.We have been using this hotel once a year for the past 10 years. Its always predictable. Great retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, lovely room, pleasant staff and excellent food. I really manage to unwind at Lake Vyrnwy. Interesting little village where you can bird watch , do watersports and go on a selection of country walks. The Dam bridge is spectacular as are views of the lake from the hotel. Well worth a visit to celebrate a special occasion or just to chill out. It certainly ticks all my boxes.

Room Tip: lakeside rooms are well worth the extra cost, but you can sit on the balcony of the lounge to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerseysideLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for such a kind review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. It is a real pleasure to welcome guests back time and time again; visiting us for 10 years is really quite something.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Once again we have had a very special stay at this fab hotel. We first visited in 2008, when my now husband took me for a treat and proposed on the balcony. Its such a relaxed, romantic place with the best views of the stunning lake and mountains surrounding. The staff are very accomadating and always friendly and smiling. We have just returned home from our third stay at the hotel, we both work on our family farm so dont get much down time and can never pre book a holiday, we arrived on friday at 9pm, our room was warm and cosy with soft bath towels in the heated bathroom, just what was needed after leaving the farm in a rush on a wet and cold night! Breakfast was relaxed and filling with well cooked food and a comfy dining room over looking the lake. We cycled the 12 mile around the lake in pouring rain and wind but still enjoyed the spectacular scenary and wildlife before returning for afternoon tea. We had the best scones and jam i have ever tasted and being a farmers wife i know about scones!! The 5 course evening meal was also perfect with a good choice of meat and fresh fish dishes on offer, we cleared our plates, had a last drink before retiring to the huge comfy bed with crisp bed linnen and a cosy room while the wind and rain lashed outside. I did not want to leave today, we drove away feeling so relaxed and spoilt. I cant wait to return again for another weekend of luxury.

Room Tip: Try for a lakeside view room with a balcony ( we smoke and ashtrays are provided if you require them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent lake Vyrnwy stay. I am delighted to learn that you have stayed at the Lake three times, and to read of your ‘heavenly escape’, it is fantastic to hear.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed so much of what the lake has to offer – even in the pouring rain – and hope that we have the pleasure of your company again soon, when the weather is a little brighter.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here in April for two nights. We were surprised by the size of our room & bathroom, all very clean.
Ate in the hotel, no complaints about the food, enjoyed the breakfast, freshly cooked & choices on evening menu were plenty too.
The hotel is set in a beautiful location overlooking the lake, cannot comment on any of the activities as we didn't try them.
All in all, a pleasant weekend.

Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked car park, which was ok, as we were not intending to stay in our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMK508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

‘Quiet’ – we absolutely agree. Unless you listen, really listen – then you’ll hear new born lams bleating, the cuckoo sound and the dawn chorus.

I am delighted to read of your enjoyable stay and hope that we will one day have the pleasure of your company again.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have just returned from a stay at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel. We took our dog with us and she stayed in our room, which was nice. The room was small but lovely and we were very pleased. The staff were attentive and polite and the food was great. Tower restaurant with its spectacular view is fantastic. Breakfast good and afternoon tea a treat. A lovely quality hotel and great experience for a nice quiet weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifitrixibelle61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a few words about your stay at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa. I am so pleased to read of your ‘great weekend’ and that you were able to enjoy so much of what the hotel has to offer.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the lake.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is a very peaceful place in North Wales. The hotel looks onto Lake Vyrnwy, a beautiful lake. The hotel has beautiful views of the lake and of the countryside around it. The rooms are very pretty and so is the interior of the hotel. The food is delicious. The gym is open regularly with also a view of the lake. The breakfast is very nice but pity the vacuuming took place during breakfast time.... Although the place is delightful and I advise you to go!

Room Tip: The lake view is gorgeous and so is the country suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Lake Vyrnwy break. I am delighted that to read of your enjoyable stay and hope that you will one day return again to the lake.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a family birthday celebration. Staff are excellent location stunning with amazing lake views. Food is out of this world. Amazing different and well presented. I had a goats cheese and merangue starter which was kust amazing. Breakfast is also fantastic cooked to order.
Rooms are nice. Beds comfortable.My only comment is they were a little dusty but clean otherwise. Great toiletries as well.
If you stay for lunch in the bistro you have to try the locally sourced burger...amazing !
Would definatly recommend this place for a relaxing break or a base for an active walk/bike ride.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank busycitybreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review; it is a real privilege to play host to a family celebration, and as such I am delighted that you enjoyed so much of your stay.

I hope that you will accept my apology for the dust that you found in the room, I can assure you that this is not the norm and have passed your comments on to the housekeeping team.

I would like to thank you for your recommendation, and sincerely hope that we have the pleasure of your company once again.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwddyn
10.4 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
184 reviews
18.5 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
7.5 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
11.7 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
63 reviews
17.3 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Address: Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwddyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Price Range: £95 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel Llanwddyn
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel And Spa
Hotel Lake Vyrnwy
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa Llanwddyn, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing