We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing & scenic mini-break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing & scenic mini-break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in an idyllic and enviable location overlooking Lake Vyrnwy and is perfect for a quiet break. Level of service is on the whole very high from the waiting on staff to the friendly receptionists. We enjoyed our experience both nights in the restaurant being lucky enough to have a lake view window table watching the sunset. After a delightful goats cheese starter on the first evening I was disappointed that it wasn't on the menu again the following night. However I casually mentioned this to the waitress and she sorted it out with the chefs for me so I was able to enjoy it for a second time.

We paid a little extra for a lakeview room with a balcony which was advantageous as the weather was beautiful during our stay. My husband enjoyed every opportunity to get the perfect picture of the Lake! Although not a great deal to in the local area aside from nature walks we hired some bikes locally and did the 12 mile cycle around the lake. The road is very quiet with little traffic and flat for most of the way so was easily manageable.

I would definitely return if I wanted a few days of relaxation, good service and great food. I would try out some of the spa treatments next time too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Honest_Mr_n_MrsSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to pen this review. We are delighted to read such kind words. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the goat’s cheese starter for a second time considering how much you enjoyed it.

The weather has been lovely for the last couple of weeks, it is great that you got to experience the area at such a beautiful time. I hope that you will return to the lake in the near future to experience what else we have to offer.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    444
    133
    67
    29
See reviews for
145
996
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our last stopover on a weeks tour, and we stayed just one night, oh how we wished we'd stayed longer. The hotel is set quite high in the hills and overlooks the tranquil lake, for an unbeatable view. We had the presence of mind to pay for a lake view upgrade, which we could enjoy from our bathroom and bedroom so we enjoyed the lake view late at dusk and dawn. We found however that because of the shape and original purpose of the house, the rooms were quite different, and our travelling companions' room was significantly smaller. The food was excellent, not had fillet steak cooked that way ever and will try to recreate the recipe, the service from reception to dining was warm, welcoming and courteous. We arrived early but this was no problem, although only one of our rooms was ready we were able to leave our bags and enjoy an afternoon's cycle round the lake to build up an appetite for the 5 course dinner to come! Our deal included prosecco and truffles which seemed to be the case for most of the visitors, it was a nice touch and much appreciated. The hotel has an old fashioned charm about it. There is also a Tavern attached to the hotel with very reasonably priced drinks. This is definitely on the return list and one to recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must do
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiftys0methings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind review. I am delighted to hear of your “heavenly” stay with us and it is great that you were able to experience the lake view from your bedroom in such lovely weather, as it is really is stunning. As you say, the rooms are different and have their own characteristics but as you point out this is due to the age, shape and original purpose of the hotel. We do believe that each room has its advantages and different rooms appeal to different guests.

I will pass your praise of the food onto the chef. I am glad that the service from staff was excellent as well. I am delighted that you are planning on returning to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the lake.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just having been touring around Britain for six days and not staying in a bad hotel at all, I have to say this really is the Jewel in the Crown. The hotel commands an amazing position overlooking Lake Vyrnwy, given the excellent weather it would've been easy to think we were on the Italian Lakes at times.
We stayed at this hotel on a deal, including a five course meal, of which three of the courses had choices, I can recommend the fillet steak covered in red onion marmalade and cheese, delicious! Breakfast was also top notch and the restaurant supervisor very friendly.
The staff in general could not have been more friendly and attentive. There is a pub adjoining the hotel too where you can buy bar meals if you like.
If you pay a supplement (£25) you can upgrade to a lake view room but be careful, for the same price, the size and facilities can differ considerably, check which room you are getting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbob3630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at the lake. It is great that you would compare your stay here to a stay at the Italian Lakes. I do agree that when the sun is shining like it has been for the past couple of weeks it really is beautiful. I am glad that you enjoyed the food and I will pass your kind words on to the chef.

As you point out the rooms are all different sizes due to the age and the original layout of the building. Each room is individually furnished and decorated taking into account the size and characteristics of the room.

We hope that you will return to stay at the lake before too long.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Having just returned from a Travelzoo offer at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel, I can honestly say I would not change an inch of the experience we encountered there....so much so we stayed an extra night.

Hospitality, food and LOCATION....simply at its best...

I cannot wait to return, what a truly magical find!!! Weldone Lake Vyrnwy staff and management...we will be back soon!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 4thegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much that you decided to extend your time with us. It gives us all a real perk up when a guest leaves such encouraging comments.

I am glad that you are going to return to stay with us at the lake. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

A return visit equally enjoyable as before - and it won't be the last visit. It is off the beaten track but worth the effort. Fabulous location, wonderful room with balcony and gorgeous ever changing view, excellent food in restaurant, attentive staff.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for a balcony/terrace with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for writing this review of your stay here at the lake. I am glad that your stay was equally as enjoyable as your previous visit to us.

I am delighted that you will be returning to visit us again soon; we look forward to welcoming you back to the lake.

Kind Regards

Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

What can you say but fantastic!! Didn't know what to expect as it was a random booking on living social. It looked amazing and didn't disappoint. Hidden away in the welsh hills sat next to a beautiful lake this was the perfect place to unwind for me and my wife. The food was fantastic, the staff (some trouble with language barrier with a couple) were polite, quick and helpful, the room was just right with a very comfy bed,adequate decor for and a lovely clean spacious bathroom.tv choice in room wasn't great and reception poor but considering the location it was expected. You couldn't want for a better view if you love scenery and the sunsets were perfect, the sun sets just at the top of the lake casting it's shadow across the lake.

We will definitely look at booking to go back in the future.
Didn't get chance to make use of the tavern or spa but we were there literally to relax and do nothing but when we go back I intend to take more advantage

Room Tip: Ignore the swimming pool marks as the hotel doesn't have one, just a very nice spa and gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alawton77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am delighted that you had a brilliant stay with us. Your praise of the food, staff and your room is great to read and I am glad that this has contributed to such a relaxing break for you. It sounds like you took advantage of the tranquility that this area has to offer.

I am glad that you will be looking to return to stay with us in the future. I truly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We booked a deal with Travelzoo for our anniversary and our experience has been really good. My wife splashed out on a facial and said it was fantastic - plus the discount vouchers with our deal helped the affordibility. The views here are stunning and it is an idyllic spot overlooking the lake to just sit off and chill out. Our suite was garden facing and very comfortable. The cuisine in the Tower restaurant last night was superb and all the staff were professional and attentive. Not sure what happened at breakfast for another reviewer today but we were treated well at every point and again the food was spot on. The place is just quirky and interesting and we love places with some character and history. Some may think the decor slightly worn in places but for me, any major modernisation would detract from its charm and ambience and the estate is very well cared for. It suited us for a night escape as part of our celebrations so thank u Lake Vyrnwy, we are fans...☺

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pen a review of your stay with us. I am delighted that you had a great stay, and that the discount vouchers were helpful - I will pass your wife’s praise on to the Spa staff. The chef and the staff will appreciate your kind words.

I quite like the thought of being seen as quirky and I would agree that what some may see as slightly faded others may find character that adds to the charm.

I am glad to hear that you are now fans of the hotel. I truly hope that we will welcome you back to the lake in the near future.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwddyn
10.5 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
20.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
15.3 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
7.5 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Property: Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Address: Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwddyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel Llanwddyn
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel And Spa
Hotel Lake Vyrnwy
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa Llanwddyn, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing