We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No faults at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have just returned from a special travel zoo deal for this hotel. The views are outstanding, the service was excellent, and the food was of high standard. We smiled at the cuddly 'do not disturb dog' and appreciated the fact that the main lady running the restaurant remembered peoples names. The décor has a faded country house feel but this would be our preference. The next time we stay, we will be paying the extra for a room with the lake view.

Room Tip: room 12 overlooks high azaleas so room 13 would be better if you want a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fire-by-night89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

This lovely old hotel has a charm of its own which is complimented by the stunning views of the lake and it's beautiful surroundings. We stayed at the hotel on the 25th of June and enjoyed a warm welcome from the very helpful receptionists and found the rest of the staff to be just as cheerful and accommodating. The only downside being that they could have done with a little more help to cater for the number of guests as the waiting times between our courses at dinner were rather lengthy and we almost gave up on breakfast as we waited over half an hour for it to arrive. However, the quality of the food was superb and was worth waiting for so would we visit again, but hopefully next time the service will be a little
quicker.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel is in an idyllic and enviable location overlooking Lake Vyrnwy and is perfect for a quiet break. Level of service is on the whole very high from the waiting on staff to the friendly receptionists. We enjoyed our experience both nights in the restaurant being lucky enough to have a lake view window table watching the sunset. After a delightful goats cheese starter on the first evening I was disappointed that it wasn't on the menu again the following night. However I casually mentioned this to the waitress and she sorted it out with the chefs for me so I was able to enjoy it for a second time.

We paid a little extra for a lakeview room with a balcony which was advantageous as the weather was beautiful during our stay. My husband enjoyed every opportunity to get the perfect picture of the Lake! Although not a great deal to in the local area aside from nature walks we hired some bikes locally and did the 12 mile cycle around the lake. The road is very quiet with little traffic and flat for most of the way so was easily manageable.

I would definitely return if I wanted a few days of relaxation, good service and great food. I would try out some of the spa treatments next time too.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Honest_Mr_n_MrsSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to pen this review. We are delighted to read such kind words. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the goat’s cheese starter for a second time considering how much you enjoyed it.

The weather has been lovely for the last couple of weeks, it is great that you got to experience the area at such a beautiful time. I hope that you will return to the lake in the near future to experience what else we have to offer.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our last stopover on a weeks tour, and we stayed just one night, oh how we wished we'd stayed longer. The hotel is set quite high in the hills and overlooks the tranquil lake, for an unbeatable view. We had the presence of mind to pay for a lake view upgrade, which we could enjoy from our bathroom and bedroom so we enjoyed the lake view late at dusk and dawn. We found however that because of the shape and original purpose of the house, the rooms were quite different, and our travelling companions' room was significantly smaller. The food was excellent, not had fillet steak cooked that way ever and will try to recreate the recipe, the service from reception to dining was warm, welcoming and courteous. We arrived early but this was no problem, although only one of our rooms was ready we were able to leave our bags and enjoy an afternoon's cycle round the lake to build up an appetite for the 5 course dinner to come! Our deal included prosecco and truffles which seemed to be the case for most of the visitors, it was a nice touch and much appreciated. The hotel has an old fashioned charm about it. There is also a Tavern attached to the hotel with very reasonably priced drinks. This is definitely on the return list and one to recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiftys0methings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind review. I am delighted to hear of your “heavenly” stay with us and it is great that you were able to experience the lake view from your bedroom in such lovely weather, as it is really is stunning. As you say, the rooms are different and have their own characteristics but as you point out this is due to the age, shape and original purpose of the hotel. We do believe that each room has its advantages and different rooms appeal to different guests.

I will pass your praise of the food onto the chef. I am glad that the service from staff was excellent as well. I am delighted that you are planning on returning to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the lake.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just having been touring around Britain for six days and not staying in a bad hotel at all, I have to say this really is the Jewel in the Crown. The hotel commands an amazing position overlooking Lake Vyrnwy, given the excellent weather it would've been easy to think we were on the Italian Lakes at times.
We stayed at this hotel on a deal, including a five course meal, of which three of the courses had choices, I can recommend the fillet steak covered in red onion marmalade and cheese, delicious! Breakfast was also top notch and the restaurant supervisor very friendly.
The staff in general could not have been more friendly and attentive. There is a pub adjoining the hotel too where you can buy bar meals if you like.
If you pay a supplement (£25) you can upgrade to a lake view room but be careful, for the same price, the size and facilities can differ considerably, check which room you are getting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbob3630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at the lake. It is great that you would compare your stay here to a stay at the Italian Lakes. I do agree that when the sun is shining like it has been for the past couple of weeks it really is beautiful. I am glad that you enjoyed the food and I will pass your kind words on to the chef.

As you point out the rooms are all different sizes due to the age and the original layout of the building. Each room is individually furnished and decorated taking into account the size and characteristics of the room.

We hope that you will return to stay at the lake before too long.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Having just returned from a Travelzoo offer at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel, I can honestly say I would not change an inch of the experience we encountered there....so much so we stayed an extra night.

Hospitality, food and LOCATION....simply at its best...

I cannot wait to return, what a truly magical find!!! Weldone Lake Vyrnwy staff and management...we will be back soon!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 4thegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much that you decided to extend your time with us. It gives us all a real perk up when a guest leaves such encouraging comments.

I am glad that you are going to return to stay with us at the lake. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A return visit equally enjoyable as before - and it won't be the last visit. It is off the beaten track but worth the effort. Fabulous location, wonderful room with balcony and gorgeous ever changing view, excellent food in restaurant, attentive staff.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for a balcony/terrace with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for writing this review of your stay here at the lake. I am glad that your stay was equally as enjoyable as your previous visit to us.

I am delighted that you will be returning to visit us again soon; we look forward to welcoming you back to the lake.

Kind Regards

Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwddyn
10.4 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
202 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
137 reviews
11.7 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
11.7 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
597 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Address: Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwddyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Price Range: £87 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel Llanwddyn
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel And Spa
Hotel Lake Vyrnwy
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa Llanwddyn, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing