We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel- pitiful shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel- pitiful shower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent 1 night at Lake Vyrnwy in early August. Both the evening meal and breakfast were excellent with very good service. The spa area was superb and the location of the jacuzzi is inspired with an amazing view of the lake. Our room had a lake view and was satisfactory for the price except for the shower which was little more than a dribble. I reported this to reception on check-out and was assured that it would be addressed. I would be interested to know if this was indeed looked at. We stayed in room 19.

Room Tip: Avoid room 19 until the shower is dealt with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewandDenise_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    444
    133
    67
    29
See reviews for
145
996
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed here for one night in a premium lake view room. The room was a good size and accommodated a king size bed, plus an extra bed for our daughter. However, some of the furnishings in the room were poor-the two leather chairs were badly faded, and the chairs on the balcony were in need of repainting/varnishing. The exterior of the hotel also appears to be in need of refurbishment-much of the paintwork is faded and worn and the fencing on the edge of the driveway leading up to the hotel is rusting and broken. This does not give a good impression when approaching the hotel. As mentioned in a previous review some of the areas of the garden/grounds appear to be little more than a dumping area and are not pleasant to walk around. The hotel has spa facilities but no swimming pool and there is a minimum age of eighteen for using the spa.

The views from the hotel of Lake Vyrnwy are beautiful and the hotel makes good use of this by having large windows in the lounge, restaurant and bistro; and balconies and benches for people to sit and enjoy the view. The choice and quality of food is excellent. Staff are friendly and polite. The homemade shortbread biscuits served with tea and coffee in the lounge are delicious and a lovely touch.

There are some lovely walks in the area, varying in length and suitable for both adults and children or you can just relax around the hotel. I would definitely return for a short relaxing break.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room to make your break even more special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravellers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Fantastic views if you have paid the premium price for the lake view. We didn't but paid £150+ for one night in a small room with poor furnishing (the table top was split in two). If you want to enjoy the view, go drink and eat there, but don't pay the premium for a room.

We booked a meal but had a dog in tow - so we were reserved a table in the bar - which is not the most attractive, dominated by a pool table. We decided to have room service instead - on the rickety, split table. The steak was good, excellent in fact. Retiring to bed I turned the TV on. Sadly the TV had an old 4:3 screen so the picture was truncated on both sides.

The staff seemed polite and helpful enough so it wasn't all doom and gloom.

Don't wander around the back of the unused tennis court - the area is a dumping ground and generally a shambles.

In all, the room (B&B) was worth no more than £90/night. For the price charged here, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greyhound w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

On our way down to South Wales we stayed one night with our 5 year old son. We usually stay in the original part of the hotel (our choice) but this time stayed in a newer room. It was perfect for us and had a little balcony which was really nice. The Tavern food was great as was our breakfast. The breakfast manager was very good and made sure we had everything we needed.. impressed. Yes, another wonderful stay at Lake Vyrnwy!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spageej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Lake Vyrnwy Hotel. All staff were really polite and friendly. We used both the Tavern Bistro and the Tower Restaurant and both facilities were very clean and food was lovely. All served with a smile! :-)
On the day we departed we decided to extend our stay a little and enjoyed a coffee with the stunning views in the drawing room. We were not made to feel as though we had to leave and a lovely waitress brought our coffee to us. Nothing was too much trouble. It was our wedding anniversary and the friendly nature of the staff showed as they had left a card and chocolates for us in our room on the second day of our stay. How lovely!
Thank you to all staff who were so attentive and approachale. We had a truely relaxing time and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leenie1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I decided to book here for our first wedding anniversary. Having paid £260 for a lake view room, we expected a lot for our money.

On arrival, we went for our Spa treatments which were excellent and very relaxing as we could not check into our room until 4:30pm.

When we checked in, I wasn't blown away by the room we were given (very basic) however the views were incredible so this compensated for the quality of the room.

We opted for food in the Tavern and found the food to be adequate for the price. The staff were quite rude and did not greet us upon entering. We had to ask to be seated after 10 minutes of standing around waiting to be acknowledged. The girl behind the bar was far too informal in her manner and come across as rude.

Our sleep in the hotel wasn't great. We were put in a room which was above the function room which we found out were for two weddings that day. Surely, this should have been taken into account? We understand that you have weddings but we were clearly not part of the wedding party! I had to call down to reception at midnight to ask for a fan to drown out some of the noise. The receptionist was not apologetic in the slightest.

The breakfast was adequate and we were glad it was included in the price of the room as the price is far too much if you just want a bowl of cereal and a mug of tea.

Check out was 10:30 and overall £260 for 18 hours is not worth it. We would visit the spa again but would not stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xTeacherManx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife is confined to a wheel chair, I always ask are your premises wheel chair friendly, they said oh yes we have a lift. What they fail to mention you have a long walk along corridors you enter the lift and exit in a store room, then along another long corridor where you find yourself outside, with a further 50 yard walk to the bar area. Had they told me that I had to push the chair in the rain I would not have gone, a credit for my trouble and heart ache was ignored.
If you have a wheel chair and staying in the hotel, I suggest you find another venue

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwddyn
10.5 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
20.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
15.3 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
7.5 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Property: Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Address: Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwddyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel Llanwddyn
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel And Spa
Hotel Lake Vyrnwy
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa Llanwddyn, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing