We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Time”
Review of Gwalia Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwalia Farm
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Time”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent two days in the beautiful cabin on the lake. The facilities are incredibly well thought out and everything you need is provided. The peace and quiet that we found there was idyllic and we couldn't get over the quality of the cabin itself. Both Dee and Amy were very friendly and made us feel welcome and settled when we arrived.

I would highly recommend the cabin to anyone who needs some relaxation and adores being in nature.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllyGee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    0
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Gwalia Farm accommodation falls into two parts - camping pitches and a private cabin on the lake. We didn't camp (though we did walk around the entire campsite on our stay, so got to see all of the pitches which are attractively wild and gorgeously spacious, unlike so many campsites we've stayed at in the past. In my opinion the pricing is not unreasonable.)

During our break we stayed at the Cabin on the Lake. Wow. You know when you find one of those places that you want to tell everyone about because it's so brilliant, but at the same time you kind of want to keep it a secret because it's so lovely you don't want to share it? Well, this is that place. Everything about our stay was perfect - a lovely warm welcome, a beautifully appointed cabin to sleep in, all the creature comforts you could wish for, gorgeous wild scenery all around... The lake is bursting with life which provides hours of entertainment, the birdlife is captivating, the walks are are lovely - there's a canoe! I could go on and on.

The hand pumped showers, wood-fire hot tub, hurricane lanterns and composting loo leave you in no doubt as to the fact that you're camping - and yet it's so luxurious calling it such feels like cheating. Furthermore it's astonishingly better priced than so many 'glamping' alternatives. I really cannot recommend Gwalia enough - you'd be bonkers not to go.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank surferb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We are used to wild camping and found the facilities here only just above what we had the next night wild camping by a stream. In fact, we preferred the wild camp as we were totally alone and had the lovely sound of the stream throughout the night. In Gwalia Farm - where the lady we spoke to was extremely friendly - we paid £6 per person (so £12) for the addition of the compost toilet and water from a spring which came out of a pipe. We do not like the per person charging at campsites as we have a tiny tent and also wonder how much this would set a family back....We were asked if we would like logs for a fire, breakfast delivered to our tent etc - all of which would have cost us extra money. We do not object to people trying to run a business, but the price should be less for these basic facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debdwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

This was our first camping experience. My boyfriend wanted to visit the Osprey Project which was only a short drive away and the website looked good. There was only one other couple on the camping field and they left after the first night so we had it to ourselves. The good: Nice pretty, secluded spot, very quiet, camping fires and barbecues allowed, friendly hosts. The bad: Not many facilities, one compost toilet and running spring water, definitely don't bring children! Pub a 5 minute drive away.
Overall: If you want secluded wild camping to proper rough it, this is for you. Otherwise I would suggest somewhere more commercial or stay in the B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lucy_moffatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
6.3 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
7.2 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
6.6 mi away
Maenllwyd Guest House
Maenllwyd Guest House
#5 of 12 in Machynlleth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
13.1 mi away
Trewythen Lodges
Trewythen Lodges
#1 of 5 in Llanidloes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwalia Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwalia Farm

Property: Gwalia Farm
Address: Cemaes, Machynlleth SY20 9PZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Gwalia Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwalia Farm Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing