We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty!”
Review of White Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Machynlleth
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dirty!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The only thing decent in this place was the bathroom. Found the bedroom dirty. We stayed in Room 4. Dead insects in the bed. Pub Ok though and nice meals to be had and breakfast was Ok. Borrowed an iron which again was bogging. Try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Room 10! Room 10 Room 10 Room 10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabber88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    49
    31
    18
    17
See reviews for
30
53
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here recently for a couple of nights and enjoyed it, yes there was dated pine furniture in our room but I wasn't bothered by it.
For me what matters most is the cleanliness, friendliness and good food, and it had got all these. Our room was a good size but the floor had got a good tilt on it so my husband said he didn't know if it was the floor or the beer( two pints only) which caused him to stagger, but its an old Victorian? Hotel it's bound to have such things. The room could do with being redecorated but it looked like the hotel was being refurbished.
The clock tower was twenty or so metres down the road and chimed every 15 minutes but as we always travel with earplugs it didn't cause any problem. Our room had a shower en-suite but after a hot tiring day out I wanted a bath and on our floor there was a full bathroom, a toilet and an extra shower room, I asked if it was ok to have a bath and was told it wasn't a problem. The bathroom was set out with fresh towels so I didn't even have to remember to take the one from our room.
We ate in the hotel on the first night and the food was lovely, huge fish and chips for my husband and Sunday roast for me with six different vegetables, the food was so good that the following night we didn't bother thinking about going elsewhere. This time I was feeling a bit full so asked if I could have the kiddies scampi and chips, this posed no problem and was just right.
I would definitely stay here again if I needed to be in the area.

Room Tip: If you like a laugh the tilt on room 9 will get you going
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanwrin, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Called in for an evening meal.Pub was busy but not packed, good selection on the menu and reasonable priced. Service was quick and the soup of the day was really nice. I chose a vegetarian option off the menu which was rather bland in taste and the bottom had been over microwaved and was like rubber. the other diner had gammon and that was apparently lovely.

Will return but maybe not chose something that has to be re-heated!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Very good Food and Value for money, suitable for vegetarians. Excellent location. Small restaurant. Shame about service and restaurant as food's Very good. Personally wouldn't recommend the Wynnstay is Much Better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarlitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed here recently in this characterful hotel in the town centre.Large car-park.Very good real ale with four hand pumps and properly cooked food. My dinner was a well balanced veggie option.The gravy was good and cauliflower firmly done including greens.The breakfast in the morning was good overall but no muesli .The veggie, cooked option was a very full plate indeed with the beans in a ramikin which I liked. The cooked tomatoes were unripe and hard.There was a choice of white or wholemeal toast with butter and jams..The staff were friendly and helpful.The faults with this hotel are room related..Whilst being clean there was no toilet roll holder.. Loose radiator valves. A stupidly- placed glass shelf above the tiny shower room sink meant you could not lower your face for bathing/ shaving etc.A large Kitchen extractor near by was still going full blast at midnight,(And probably afterwards). The pine bedroom furniture was very dated, looking as if it had been sourced from a charity shop...To be blunt the stay here is not cheap and the rooms need to be modernised properly not in this rushed, haphazard manner in order for the hotel to offer value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valuematters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I shall start with the good points, nice sized room,great location in the middle of Machynlleth, ample parking at the rear of the hotel, and breakfast satisfactory.
The curtains were so thin they let day light in, our room had a frosted class panel which let in the light from the hall way.
Our room was right above where staff were taking cigarette breaks so was woken by some "colourful" language, not a pleasant wake up call.
The furniture was very out dated and the general appearance of the room was shabby, it definatly needs of a complete revamp as £70 was way over priced, I have paid less and got more of my money. I think the owners urgently need to re-decorate or bring their prices down.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanineFelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Machynlleth hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Only had lunch there but they were very friendly, the food was excellent and I had a guest beer that was very downable.

A little disorganised because they only reopened after a 3 week refurb.

Recommended

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike_Ames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
0.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
102 reviews
14.5 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
315 reviews
11.4 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maenllwyd Guest House
Maenllwyd Guest House
#5 of 11 in Machynlleth
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Hotel

Property: White Lion Hotel
Address: 10 Heol Pentrerhedyn | Pentrerhedyn, Machynlleth SY20 8DN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Lion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lion Hotel Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing