We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Machynlleth
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was surprised there didn't seem to be much accommodation on offer in Machynlleth but the White Lion is ideally placed in the town centre near the clock tower. The White Lion is an attractive traditional stone building. Upon entering the bar the atmosphere was friendly. My room was pleasantly decorated in neutral tones and spotlessly clean. There was a good selection of tea/coffee/biscuits. My bed was comfortable. The location is quiet and I had a pleasant view of the mountains at the rear of the hotel. I asked for an early breakfast and it was excellent, hot and plentiful with a proper butcher's sausage and plenty of tea. The staff are friendly and I recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are most likely quieter as they are away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvergirl735764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    45
    28
    16
    15
See reviews for
29
48
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were looking for somewhere to eat in Machynlleth and had vaguely heard reviews about this place so decided to give it a try. We called in on spec and were found a table easily. The place is comfortable and pleasant without being overly luxurious or fancy. Our meals were not too long in coming and when they did, they were of generous portion size and very hot! The food was good, it wasn't too pricey and we enjoyed it, so we'll no doubt come again when next in the area.

Room Tip: We didn't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaApl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sham el sheik
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

dropped in for a meal last week great that you can get food all day ordered at the bar Wendy is always smiling and makes you so welcome, she is top class and so are the rest of the staff they work so hard and look happy in no time at all our food was ready, we really enjoyed our meal and would go back beautiful refurbishment thank you x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesShamElSheik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

dropped in for Sunday lunch, not many places open here on a sunday. Pub / restaurant was busy, food was good decent pub food, staff were attentive and all went smoothly. Never thought of going in here on previous visits but it was a decent pub and eatery. and when here next year will drop by again. as a restaurant say 2 stars as a pub restauarant say 4 stars if that makes sense. we only ate here

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanellen, Abergavenny
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Good choice on menu, food was tasty, well presented and of sufficient quantity, Good solid pub food. Nice choice of real ales, all well priced.

Decor & atmosphere in pub was fine, would not hesitate to go again as i have done in the past when visiting the area

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Huw D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Limited choices through my company's booking system, so was a bit concerned about a room over a busy pub, but they are actually pretty nice and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but newly decorated rooms have all the basics and can't complain for the money

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s22urf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel was a lovely surprise. It is located near the junction in the centre of town. We were welcomed on arrival by a person we took to be the manageress. She was pleasant, welcoming and helpful. The first thing we noticed was the range of beers available on the bar - something we look for when booking hotels. As well as the usual Banks's bitter, there was a beer from Hog's Back Brewery, and the unusual Samuel Adams pale ale on handpump. Something I have never seen in the UK on draught before. And very nice it was, too.
Our room was clean, and very large, with a lovely en suite bathroom.
The bar was a large, pleasant drinking area next to the open plan dining room. As well as the three real ales available there was plenty of other drinks for all tastes, including excellent tea and coffee.
We didn't book a table for evening meal. (There were four of us). We found that at dinner time the place was unexpectedly full. The manageress went out of her way to make a table available to us, and we had a very pleasant evening meal, with a good choice of reasonably priced dishes on the menu.
The pub and dining facilities are deservedly popular, and the pub was full while we were there, a sign of a well run establishment. We'll certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPeterson67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
0.9 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
8.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdovey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#3 of 14 in Machynlleth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maenllwyd Guest House
Maenllwyd Guest House
#5 of 14 in Machynlleth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
3.2 mi away
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Hotel

Property: White Lion Hotel
Address: 10 Heol Pentrerhedyn | Pentrerhedyn, Machynlleth SY20 8DN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Lion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lion Hotel Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing