We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly pub!”
Review of White Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Machynlleth
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Mmmmmm, a dog sat eating at a table - I would like to have seen that!!! (Previous review) just called in here for a drink with the family, and dogs, while waiting to pick up a Chinese takeaway. A great atmosphere on an early Saturday evening. Lots of families, and dogs, in the bar. The food looks good, large plates kept passing us by, looked at longingly by our 2 greyhounds. Had a few nice chats with some of the locals, visitors and bar staff, all of whom made a fuss of the dogs with the busy staff happily providing water for the dogs. The only downside was the loud, inappropriate, foul language coming from a group of three individuals sat in the centre of the room. I know it's a pub, but your own self-respect and common sense should tell you what is and isn't appropriate when children are present. To this end, sometimes I prefer dogs to people!!! I may not have mentioned that I own 2 dogs (!?!?!?) so, to the previous reviewer who was offended by dogs in a BAR area, I will say this, lighten up!! This is a pub in both a farming and tourist environment where dogs play a large part in the success of the local economy and therefore are accepted in most environments. In my humble opinion, a pub is not a pub without a good atmosphere, friendly people and a mutt or two!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stay for a night while travelling through the area. The room was clean and well appointed. The ensuite was also clean. Breakfast was ok as was dinner. The hotel does need to review the policy of pets in the bar as this does not seem to be hygienic. A person was feeding a dog which was sat at a table.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel on a cycling holiday in Wales, having used it on a couple of occasions previously. The owners have clearly done a great deal of work to upgrade the decor, along with an external facelift and a tarmac car park. Our group of 13 thoroughly enjoyed their stay with excellent food, a good selection of ales, clean rooms and bike storage. The breakfast lived up to the previous night's meal and so we headed off for another long day in the saddle stuffed! Thanks Michelle and the team

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulR008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Although having an email and phone confirmation reservation, no room was available when we arrived. Little concern as to our lack of accommodation, just suggested try the Wynnstay Hotel next door! Luckily they had a room and were excellent, but don't trust the White Lion!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was surprised there didn't seem to be much accommodation on offer in Machynlleth but the White Lion is ideally placed in the town centre near the clock tower. The White Lion is an attractive traditional stone building. Upon entering the bar the atmosphere was friendly. My room was pleasantly decorated in neutral tones and spotlessly clean. There was a good selection of tea/coffee/biscuits. My bed was comfortable. The location is quiet and I had a pleasant view of the mountains at the rear of the hotel. I asked for an early breakfast and it was excellent, hot and plentiful with a proper butcher's sausage and plenty of tea. The staff are friendly and I recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are most likely quieter as they are away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvergirl735764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were looking for somewhere to eat in Machynlleth and had vaguely heard reviews about this place so decided to give it a try. We called in on spec and were found a table easily. The place is comfortable and pleasant without being overly luxurious or fancy. Our meals were not too long in coming and when they did, they were of generous portion size and very hot! The food was good, it wasn't too pricey and we enjoyed it, so we'll no doubt come again when next in the area.

Room Tip: We didn't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaApl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

dropped in for a meal last week great that you can get food all day ordered at the bar Wendy is always smiling and makes you so welcome, she is top class and so are the rest of the staff they work so hard and look happy in no time at all our food was ready, we really enjoyed our meal and would go back beautiful refurbishment thank you x

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesShamElSheik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
0.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
76 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
104 reviews
11.4 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Penrhos Arms
Penrhos Arms
#5 of 11 in Machynlleth
129 reviews
8.6 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdovey
367 reviews
10.3 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#3 of 11 in Machynlleth
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Hotel

Address: 10 Heol Pentrerhedyn | Pentrerhedyn, Machynlleth SY20 8DN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Machynlleth
Price Range: £42 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Lion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lion Hotel Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing