We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brigands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brigands Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falaise, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My first visit to the area, what a gem the Brigands Inn is. Hospitality was spot on, food, draught beer, service and value for money. Will be returning again next year. Rob, the manager, was excellent. When asked about the plants in the garden, he did his utmost to find the names of certain plants that I would like in my garden!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lloyd m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sera Catrin J, Manager at Brigands Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear lloyd m,

Thank you very kindly for taking time to write such a lovely review about your experience here at Tafarn y Brigands Inn, Mallwyd.

I hope very much we see you again, very soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    56
    12
    14
    4
See reviews for
51
122
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I am glad to say that my visit was wonderful. I was offered room 8. A spacious, smartly decorated room with an en suite bathroom. The cleanliness was impeccable. The decor in the bar area and lounge - light and welcoming. Staying as part of a work visit, we would return late at night to a selection of warm, cold snacks. The breakfast service was no exception. The ingredients are the best of local produce. The food is presented and tastes exceptional. Located in the countryside there is plenty of options for sight-seing. Catrin, the manager even suggested a route for my daily run! It is personal touches like these that make it worth every penny! I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a worthwhile experience, or even just passers by!
Thank you!
Diolch am brofiad hyfryd!
Manon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, Manager at Brigands Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Manon W,

Thank you for taking time to write your lovely review about us. I am so glad you enjoyed your very first stay with us at the Brigands, and that you enjoyed the food. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Looking forward to seeing you again, very soon.

Diolch iti Manon am dy eiriau caredig, mi nai dy yrru di ar lwybr rhedeg gwahanol, tro nesaf!.

Cofion cynesaf atat, ac I bawn yn BC.

Catrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanbrynmair
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were disappointed when the Brigands Inn closed earlier this year as we had had some pretty good food there in the past. Living in rural mid Wales, our proximity to decent restaurants is... well,.. limited! I always found it a pleasant venue- good food, fabulous scenery and comfortable, if rather tired decor.
Wow! The food has been elevated from good to great; the scenery continues to be fabulous, but the decor has moved into a whole other league. Both the bedrooms and the public rooms have been fully refurbished to an exceptionally high standard. The overall effect is charming and absolutely perfect for a 15th Century coaching inn.
I can't sign off from this- the very first review I have ever felt sufficiently impressed to write- without thanking the staff at The Brigands. I don't know how you managed to find such a brilliant, helpful bunch in such a sparsely populated area of Wales, but I'm grateful you did!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, Manager at Brigands Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Gemma N,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time us. The staff are constantly striving to deliver the very best possible service, and hope very much that we will see you again.

Diolch yn fawr,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

A very disappointing visit. While the staff were cheerful, the Sunday lunch was poor with one small bowl of mixed veg to share and beef that couldn't be cut, and no response from the kitchen when the waitress returned the plate to the kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarilynClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, Manager at Brigands Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear MarilynClay

Many thanks for your review. I am very sorry that on this occasion your meal with us did not live up to expectations. I have spoken with the chef regarding the beef on Sunday as the quality of the meat was not of a good enough standard and for that I apologise.

We have just re-opened and there is still some fine tuning to do and I can assure you we will continue to improve in coming months and I very hope that you will give us another chance. If so please do introduce yourself to me.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

After an unfortunate accommodation encounter 20 miles up the valley, the Brigands was a welcome sight for sore eyes - and feet. We were greeted by Rob, who was more than happy to offer us a room last minute, for the entire weekend, including our wonderful hound Charlie with no extra cost.

We were offered room 1, which was delightful including a four poster bed, possibly the most comfortable, spacious and best room that we have stayed in especially for this price. The bar was fabulous and the staff even came to join us after a busy re opening evening, this added a more personal touch.

The Head Chef Justin delivered a distinguished breakfast menu, using the best local produce. Therefore, we chose the full Welsh (of course!). This was followed the next day by smoked Haddock and poached egg breakfast and finally Eggs Benedict. Yum!

In addition to this we ate in the evening, the highlights included the ham hock, the steak (cooked to perfection) and the sea trout. The food was presented beautifully and tasted so good..... A hidden gem... Hats of to the Chef!

All in all - the staff were professional, the patrons were friendly and the food excellent. I would highly recommend this place even if you are just passing through.

Thanks for the great experience and saving us from a fate worse than death down the road. Lots of Love James, Karen and Charlie. We'll be back!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, Manager at Brigands Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear James G

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and I am sure next time you come down you will see how far the new team has come on in a short space of time.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were very pleased to see that the Brigands had re-opened last weekend follwoing a very expensive looking refurbishment. We had been recommending it to visitors to our holiday cottage, which is just a few minutes walk away, and had been dismayed to hear that it had closed down in the spring. We popped in for a drink when we had to make an emergency visit to our own cottage and we were so impressed that we decided to stay overnight in order to try out the food in the evening.

The place looks fantastic, it's beautifully decorated and the staff are very welcoming. The range of food and drink on offer would suit all tastes and was of really good quality. The place was buzzing on Saturday night, and despite the amount of customers ( a mix of locals and visitors ) we felt welcome and were impressed with the food quality, lovely bottle of Merlot and and the staff. Robert in particular was very hands on, making sure it was all running like clockwork. We can't comment on the bedrooms but had a good look around all the public rooms and they were really welcoming and comfortable. We have already started singing the praises of the Inn to our own visitors and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PenyBontCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, Manager at Brigands Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear PenyBontCottage

Many thanks for coming to visit us on our re-opening. I am really pleased you enjoyed it and I very much hope that we can be mutually beneficial to each other.

Once again many thanks.

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here on saturday 24th Aug 2013 Robert was very friendly and made us very welcome best place we have stayed in a long time, lovely decor. food was superb will definitely visit again.
lovely views from window

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julesbrunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, Manager at Brigands Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear julesbrunn

Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind review on Tripadvisor. As you know we have only just re-opened and we do hope that we can build on these early days.

I very much hope that we will see you down this way again.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
9.7 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
10.3 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
10.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdovey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
4.2 mi away
Penrhos Arms
Penrhos Arms
#6 of 14 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#3 of 14 in Machynlleth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigands Inn

Property: Brigands Inn
Address: Dinas Mawddwy, Machynlleth SY20 9HJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brigands Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Welsh welcome awaits you in the Dyfi Valley. With the beautiful coast, Snowdonia , Snowdon and the Aran Fawddwy, only a stone’s throw away, the Brigands Inn is an ideal base for your adventures. Bydd croeso cynnes Cymreig yn eich disgwyl, yma yn Nyffryn Dyfi. Gyda'r arfordir, Eryri, Yr Wyddfa a'r Aran Fawddwy nid nepell o'r gwesty, mae Tafarn y Brigands yn ddelfrydol ar gyfer unrhyw anturiaethau neu hamddena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brigands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brigands Inn Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing