We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full marks for Food, Character and Ambiance”
Review of Brigands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brigands Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Full marks for Food, Character and Ambiance”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We enjoyed a delicious Sunday lunch in the dining room before booking in. The lamb and pork were perfectly cooked. We were warmly welcomed by Catrin and shown to a characterful room with a four poster bed and large ensuite (Room 1). Breakfast was delicious, crempogs (pancakes) with maple syrup and blueberries and full Welsh Breakfast with lava bread etc. were two of the choices. Service was very pleasant throughout our stay. The Hotel is characterful with a relaxed atmosphere, perfect for a walking holiday/break. Excellent Chef.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1WhiteRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    61
    12
    15
    6
See reviews for
56
131
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night at the end of June 2014. I booked the hotel the night before with no problem. We were given a very warm welcome on arrival and quickly shown to our room. We were given room 10 at the top of the hotel which was comfortable, roomy and very clean. Lovely views from the window, no light pollution in this room with close fitted venetian blinds and heavy curtains. There was abundant hot water for bath and shower. The bed was comfortable with crisp white bedding which smelled heavenly. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and received very good service. The food was good and extremely well presented. Breakfast was also good and plentiful. We were in the area to check out the fishing but not for this visit. We asked at reception for any details on the fishing in the area and that offered by the Inn. A very helpful young lady said we if came back in half an hour she would find out for us. On return we were told the the chef had a lot of personal information but the inn had not offered fishing for about eight years. Our overall impression of the hotel was one of warmth, friendly staff, cleanliness with a fresh and fragrant aroma everywhere. I think the room rate of £115 a night a bit expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springtime77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have stayed at The Brigands Inn on 6 or 7 occasions since it's refurbishment last year, each time it gets better & better! Catherine & her team are fantastic, nothing is every too much trouble. The rooms are fabulous, especially number 8...my favourite! The food is not only beautiful to look at but taste gorgeous too!. I travel with my dog Freddie & we are both always made so very welcome. It makes such a difference at the end of a busy day when you know you are going to be "so" well looked after. Thank you Catherine & the rest of the team.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A recent major refurbishment of this lovely old hotel has provided an excellent destination to enjoy a meal. Make a stop-off for a meal here on your journey by all means, but this is now a terrific place to enjoy a meal. With an imaginative menu, beautifully cooked and presented food served by friendly and helpful staff, we go out of our way to dine here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had a really good meal here at the end of a long day's walking. The meat is locally sourced. We opted for the pork and apple sausages with herb mash and onion gravy. The sausages were produced from pigs that had been reared just 3 miles away. The flavour was really good. The staff were friendly, and it was a great place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 992Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Even before you walk in you're welcomed by a charming you lad who was cutting the grass on a warm spring day.
The bar area was lovely and it looks like a lot of time and effort goes into this place.
We were checked in by the Assistant Manager, his name was Arwyn(I think or something rather Welsh) who took us up to Room 10. It was a lovely room, antique wardrobe and furnishings which fit in perfectly with the mood and the character of the building.
Some fresh milk and some homemade cookies were provided which were a nice touch.
We were lucky that the staff are local as Arwyn directed us on where we could go for a walk.
My girlfriend and I went walking for a good 2 hours and when we came back we ended up having a nice cold pint of Peroni and a glass of sparkling wine.
It was a busy night in the kitchen as it was half term and it was nice to see a place that busy, shows that it is a good place to eat.
I started with Scallops and my other half had warm bread and olives(the white bread was lovely)
I then had a sirloin steak, cooked to perfection, medium-rare, just how I like it. My girlfriend had the Seabass which was local but I can't remember where it was from and she said it's probably the best fish dish she has had in many many years.
I couldn't handle a pudding as I was too full but my other half had the Afogato, simple, clean but very effective.
The service was great, which was mainly by the young lad who we met while walking in, I think he said his name was Arnie or something along those lines. He was very polite.

We had an early night and had a lovely sleep(the beds are simply amazing, so comfortable and just spot on!!)

Breakfast was just as good as the meal the previous night! Poached eggs were just bang on!
We even had some Danish pastries!

Check out was again nice and simple, no rush to kick us out haha
The short girl who served our breakfast was smiling and made sure we had a lovely stay and that we did!
Looking forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed ay the Inn whilst on a tour of North Wales, the hotel is easily located and despite being next to a main road the Inn felt more like a Country retreat inside. The Inn has been tastefully decorated with many original features - fireplaces, exposed beams and the room we stayed in was beautifully decorated and furnished with very solid oak furniture. The staff were welcoming and the Inn is very clean and comfortable. The service we received in the restaurant was poor and we were left for a considerable time (nearly 45 mins) before our food order was taken, this poor service was repeated when we were left for half an hour before our main course plates were cleared away and again when the dessert order was eventually taken. This meant that our two course meal took nearly two and a half hours! The restaurant wasn't even very busy. However, the food quality was excellent, there isn't a children's menu but they are more than willing to provide half portions or cook child-friendly meals on request. We could not fault the excellent standard of evening meal and the breakfast was also excellent. We stayed in room 9 which had very poor light pollution and if you are used to dark sleeping conditions - beware. There was a tremendous amount of light from the curtains (I think possibly a flood light to illuminate the front of the Inn) the light seemed to be aimed at our window and light flooded in from the corridor around and under the room door.
All in all, the hotel was beautiful sadly partially let down by some poor service and light pollution.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2wheelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
10.3 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
56 reviews
9.7 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
101 reviews
10.8 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Buckley Arms Hotel
Buckley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinas Mawddwy
65 reviews
4.2 mi away
Penrhos Arms
Penrhos Arms
#6 of 12 in Machynlleth
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigands Inn

Property: Brigands Inn
Address: Dinas Mawddwy, Machynlleth SY20 9HJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brigands Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Welsh welcome awaits you in the Dyfi Valley. With the beautiful coast, Snowdonia , Snowdon and the Aran Fawddwy, only a stone’s throw away, the Brigands Inn is an ideal base for your adventures. Bydd croeso cynnes Cymreig yn eich disgwyl, yma yn Nyffryn Dyfi. Gyda'r arfordir, Eryri, Yr Wyddfa a'r Aran Fawddwy nid nepell o'r gwesty, mae Tafarn y Brigands yn ddelfrydol ar gyfer unrhyw anturiaethau neu hamddena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brigands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brigands Inn Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing