We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff let building down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brigands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brigands Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Staff let building down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in Aug 2014, the building is fantastic, just a shame the staff let the the business down !!! We found the staff to be rude and unhelpful.

The rooms were very clean and well equipped, the building creaks but that's to be expected with its age. The area is beautiful and surrounded by rolling hills and there is easy access to main routes

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    56
    12
    14
    4
See reviews for
51
122
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kent UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We ate here last Sunday and found everything to be spot on. The mains included Duck, steak and chicken - all cooked and served with passion. The restaurant was clean and well appointed.
Would visit again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TeebeeKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I would just like to thank the young man who was on reception and breakfast on Friday - 18th July. He is a great asset to Brigands Inn, attentive, charming and polite. I would definitely recommend the Inn, and hopefully he will be on duty when we return again. I'm sorry I didn't get his name. The breakfast was excellent and the Inn has a charming old world air about it. Thank you.
Diane and Bob McEnroe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane-McEnroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel whilst away working. The room was large, clean and tidy with a large en-suite bathroom with a free standing bathtub and big shower.
The staff were friendly and helpful, even down to fresh milk in your room instead of that carton rubbish!
The food was amazing, local fresh ingredients cooked really well.
Overall a lovely place to stay and I am thinking about taking my wife there for our next anniversary!

Room Tip: Even though room 8 faced on to the road it was still nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived at brigands inn for a buffet for our charity cycle run, and what a place! We were welcomed by the assistant manager steve (organiser) and the fabulous team, the welcome, service and whole function blew us away, with easily the best buffet we have seen, all our support staff and cyclist were looked after start to finish, I personally will definitely return, and I'm sure the rest will also. Thankyou brigands inn.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cycle-life33987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We enjoyed a delicious Sunday lunch in the dining room before booking in. The lamb and pork were perfectly cooked. We were warmly welcomed by Catrin and shown to a characterful room with a four poster bed and large ensuite (Room 1). Breakfast was delicious, crempogs (pancakes) with maple syrup and blueberries and full Welsh Breakfast with lava bread etc. were two of the choices. Service was very pleasant throughout our stay. The Hotel is characterful with a relaxed atmosphere, perfect for a walking holiday/break. Excellent Chef.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1WhiteRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night at the end of June 2014. I booked the hotel the night before with no problem. We were given a very warm welcome on arrival and quickly shown to our room. We were given room 10 at the top of the hotel which was comfortable, roomy and very clean. Lovely views from the window, no light pollution in this room with close fitted venetian blinds and heavy curtains. There was abundant hot water for bath and shower. The bed was comfortable with crisp white bedding which smelled heavenly. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and received very good service. The food was good and extremely well presented. Breakfast was also good and plentiful. We were in the area to check out the fishing but not for this visit. We asked at reception for any details on the fishing in the area and that offered by the Inn. A very helpful young lady said we if came back in half an hour she would find out for us. On return we were told the the chef had a lot of personal information but the inn had not offered fishing for about eight years. Our overall impression of the hotel was one of warmth, friendly staff, cleanliness with a fresh and fragrant aroma everywhere. I think the room rate of £115 a night a bit expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Springtime77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
9.7 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
10.3 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
10.3 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
4.2 mi away
Penrhos Arms
Penrhos Arms
#6 of 14 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 14 in Machynlleth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigands Inn

Property: Brigands Inn
Address: Dinas Mawddwy, Machynlleth SY20 9HJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brigands Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Welsh welcome awaits you in the Dyfi Valley. With the beautiful coast, Snowdonia , Snowdon and the Aran Fawddwy, only a stone’s throw away, the Brigands Inn is an ideal base for your adventures. Bydd croeso cynnes Cymreig yn eich disgwyl, yma yn Nyffryn Dyfi. Gyda'r arfordir, Eryri, Yr Wyddfa a'r Aran Fawddwy nid nepell o'r gwesty, mae Tafarn y Brigands yn ddelfrydol ar gyfer unrhyw anturiaethau neu hamddena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brigands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brigands Inn Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing