We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Black Lion Inn

The Black Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Machynlleth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

It really is worth a detour to eat at this pub.This is a lovely old fashioned pub with low ceilings. beams and a log fire. There is an extensive menu with an excellent choice. The food was delicious with generous portions, all being reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and attentive, even although they were busy and it was only Tuesday lunchtime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    34
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem - Bring Your Appetite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

What a delightful Inn, full of character, if you were asked to describe a perfect, cosey country pub steeped in history this would be it.

The food was delicious and plentiful, after a day cycling around the Cambrian Coast the Mega Burger really hit the spot!

Service was excellent and personable - I can't wait to come back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidC1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Full of character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to try this place for food after reading such good reviews on here and we were certainly not disappointed. My boyfriend was here for a bike race and this was a perfect place to fuel up.

I had the Swordfish which was a special, it was beautiful, light and full of flavour. My boyfriend had the Black Lion Meg Beef Burger, it looked fantastic and he thoroughly enjoyed.

We were very lucky to get a table as we hadn't booked and it was busy, thankfully there was only the two of us and there were two tables for two left. The staff were very friendly, helpful and polite and the building is stunning, full of character with a fantastic fire place which I can imagine is lovely and cosy in the winter.

If we're in the area again I am sure we will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SianEWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“16th century pub/ restaurant with 21st century menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This lovely old 16th century pub/ restaurant is a real gem. The pub has low ceilings, thick walls and beams and a marvellous fire-place/ ingle nook. It retains it's historical charm. The menu surprised us as it was very complete and up to the minute with wide options. I had a sirloin steak ( medium-rare) and my wife chose a plaice. Both cooked to perfection and with top quality ingredients. Staff were unfailingly helpful and welcoming.

Thanks and we'll be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank steve2295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My family have eaten here many times and it is consistently excellent. It is a tiny very old traditional old Pub. Wonderful. Never been disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bontgoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Lion Inn also viewed

 
Machynlleth, Powys
Machynlleth, Powys
 
Pennal, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Black Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing