We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still friendly and consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White Lion Hotel

White Lion Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Restaurants in Machynlleth
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Still friendly and consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This place has had a refurb and is indeed improved decor wise. The welcome is still as friendly and the food was good too. Homemade curry tasted homemade (in a good way) and the prices were reasonable. Beer good and the coffee was hot. Very pleasing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HTH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    61
    22
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch - Also booked a Conference and Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I had a really lovely lunch at The White Lion Hotel, Food was excellent, very friendly staff I would give it 5***** rating. I have also booked the conference room with lunch for 12 Company members. Michelle went out of her way to make sure everything was perfect for our Meeting and the lunch that was served was excellent. Again I would highly recommend for Conference Meeting, so friendly and relaxed. Kind regards Sallie Ashworth

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sallie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“wow what a smashing sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

wow how this place has changed, its been over 12 months since last visited and its been revamped, nice new decor. really friendy staff and value for money meals
there was so much meat on my partners plate he couldnt finish it . we had, had a starte so were to full for pudding wil def be coming here again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midllands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very average pub food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

service and food was poor, was a bank holiday so maybe reason?would rather pay extra and go some where offering better value

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank celiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powys
Level Contributor
125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great specials board.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

And gang of us went and all enjoyed the great variety of food on offer.
The Belly Pork with Gratin potatoes. And veg was just beautiful.
The Sticky toffee pudding topped our night off beautifully.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Lion Hotel also viewed

 
Machynlleth, Powys
Machynlleth, Powys
 
Machynlleth, Powys
Machynlleth, Powys
 

Been to White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing