We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little pub/hotel”
Review of Penrhos Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penrhos Arms
Ranked #6 of 12 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nice little pub/hotel”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Very friendly staff, nice little pub, breakfast was nice. it's an old building so do not expect every nook & cranny to be perfectly straight, all in all we had a nice stay..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1960john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    32
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
31
53
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The usual hotel we use when visiting Machynlleth was fully booked, so we took a chance on thie Penrhos Arms and are glad that we weren't put off by the previous negative reviews. We found this country pub to have plenty of character with welcoming staff and locals. We were given an upgrade to the four poster room and found it (and the rest of the pub) extremely clean and comfortable.. Soft furnishings, carpets and decor in this room all appeared relatively new. We did not have an evening meal but breakfast was good. Considering the (very convenient) location on the side of the A470 an easy 6 mile drive from Machynlleth, traffic noise did not disturb us. All in all a very enjoyable stay and we would certainly be happy to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwlad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

How on earth this hotel as got a 4 star rating is quite hard to beleive. First impressions were rather disappointing, the room was even worse. The price for this room was priced at £ 85.00 but to be truthful we have stopped in better b&bs very much cheper. The room had a musty smell and very dark with emulsion chipboard wall paper which was hanging off the bathroom ceiling due to lack of venlitlation and condenstaion. there was a ceiling extract fan which seemd like it had'nt been cleaned in years. Thankfully we only stopped for 1 night which was enough. Best comment I can say, is the beer was good and the locals were freindly. Would we ever stop here again? definitely not.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrissybabe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I stayed at the Penrhos for 4 nights in April 2011 whilst working in the area. I found it more appealing than most hotels I've stayed in, largely due to the friendly and helpful staff and the bar regulars. I slept well in a clean and comfortable bed and heard virtually no road traffic between 11pm and 7am.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartg_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

My partner and I are regular B & B travellers, we like to travel away once a month to a different part of the country. As such we have a lot of experience of different quality B & B's. Penrhos in Cemaes ( Not Machynlleth as stated ) is the worst B & B we have stayed in so far in the last year.
I will tell you just a few of the problems we experienced. First of all the place was all locked up and deserted when we arrived at 4 pm. We had to wait 15 mins for someone to arrive from another site after telephoning the hand written number on the back door, good thing we checked the back door as the front door had nothing on it.
The second problem was the room itself, poorly decorated in cream woodchip, dimly lit, cold and noisy as its right next to the main A470. The bathroom was worse with peeling paper on the ceiling and generally in need of redoing. The only thing good about it was the comfy bed.
The next morning we came down to an empty lounge/bar which was where our breakfast was served. The breakfast itself was fine but you can't help feeling a bit out of place when you are the only guests in the whole building. Later that evening we decided to have a "home cooked" meal there, this turned out to be a big mistake. Everything was clearly cooked from frozen and tasted bland and the price at nearly £20 for both meals was way too much.
The rest of the premises is in much need of refurbishment and by this I mean comfy chairs. Most of the seating was hard backed and not suitable for long periods. It just doesn't feel like a B & B should feel. Far too cold and unfriendly. The deal we chose was 3 nights for the price of 2 but we left a day early as we couldn't face another night.
For this reason we would NOT recommend Penrhos, Cemaes to anyone. Don't waste your hard earned money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bond008Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This B&B is now available for booking through laterooms.com. It has a pub on the ground floor with rooms upstairs but insulation between floors is appalling and windows are not double glazed, hence u can hear traffic if facing road and noise from the pub. Room was good size but very tired looking, extremely dark even with all lights switched on and it was really cold too (couldn't turn on radiator either). Bathroom, very basic and tired, shower tray leaking, towels look random and old. There were tea cup stain marks on bedside table, shoudn't happen. Only redeeming grace was the service. The lady at reception was really warm and friendly. Breakfast average but breakfast lounge was dark and musty. For £70 a night, you can get better in the vicinity, definitely.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

The Penrhos Arms is well-situated on the A470, within easy reach of the coast. Cemmaes itself is a relatively quiet (except for the main road) and charming little village.
The Penrhos is the village local, but it also happens to have several bedrooms. It sits right on the roadside, with a small carpark to the side/rear.
We stayed for three nights, B&B, which cost us approx £80 per night for a double room. The room was clean but 'tired'; the en-suite cramped and the shower cubicle a typical British disappointment. Unexpectedly, the wardrobe, though not huge, had a generous supply of hangers (for once!)
Traffic noise wasn't too bad, but was noted and could be an issue at busier times. Due to the close proximity to a main road, I advise very close supervision of young children - the front door opens straight onto the roadside pavement.
Breakfast was about the usual guest house standard - nothing to shout about.
On the upside there are eminently drinkable house red wines and two changing real ales on offer. The restaurant food was enjoyable, although the delivery of side orders was haphazard (if you can call a standard portion of veg a side order - £2.50!)
The staff were usually quite charming and helpful but seemed to get easily stressed by the demands of a large party of diners.
I think we were influenced more than a little by reports of the Penrhos prior to the previous owner retiring. Perhaps we were expecting too much, but I feel a bit let down. We understand that the Penrhos is now heavily linked to, if not owned by, the owners of the Brigands Inn, just up the road.
I won't discount the possibility of visiting the Penrhos again - it is pleasant enough, but could be a lot better. Recommended with some reservation.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESP2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
5.9 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
101 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
57 reviews
6.7 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#3 of 12 in Machynlleth
284 reviews
6.1 mi away
Maenllwyd Guest House
Maenllwyd Guest House
#5 of 12 in Machynlleth
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhos Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhos Arms

Property: Penrhos Arms
Address: Cemmaes, Machynlleth SY20 9PR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrhos Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Penrhos Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrhos Arms Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing