We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family meal”
Review of Penrhos Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penrhos Arms
Ranked #6 of 11 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Superb hospitality from all the lovely staff, they even got our dog some biscuits! The restaurant was beautifully decorated and very welcoming. All of the food was well cooked and wholesome. The "specials" from the board were especially good. Large portions and wonderfully fresh veg. Good value and a very nice evening. My family took us to other pubs, but this was our favourite by far.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skippy65690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Nice little pub that serves huge piles of food.
A stones throw from the treehouses so ideal if you don't fancy cooking and a nice little walk. They have the usual menu but the specials really were superb. A little chilly for us in November but the beer garden looked very nice indeed.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank seasonedtraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My wife and i stayed in the treehouse further up the lane from the pub in October and we ate here on both days!
The food was very good - freshly cooked, local ingredients (the local egg farmer was dropping off when we were there one day). The 'big' breakfast is exaactly what it says on the tin!
The staff were friendly, the beer was good - definatly worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crookedtongues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stopped off for a very late lunch which we ate in the back bar. Open fire created a nice atmosphere in the pub which is steeped in history. Interesting snippets of local history framed information on the walls.

The vegetable soup was packed with veggies; the fish cake very tasty with a substantial salad. The roast beef and lamb were delicious. Jury remained out on the pheasant sausages. At least six vegetables on the plate as well as roast potatoes and mash - all piping hot.

Initially we were the only people there but as our meal progressed the pub became quite busy, mainly with locals. Separate dining room which also had an open fire.

Staff were friendly and helpful. There are five bedrooms all of which appear to have been recently renovated plus a cottage. Car park to the side of the pub plus a large beer garden.

Room Tip: Only had lunch so cannot comment on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed there last week for one night only and it was superb. The room is adorned with every toiletry you can think of and has great tea making facilities. There is a tray for muddy boots if you're a walker and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. We were on the roadside but it made no difference to a wonderful nights sleep as the double glazing did it's job plus the fact it's a fairly quiet road.
The hotel is set in a little village away from the town and gets busy with locals later in the evening. We sampled the local fayre and started with the beer. Nice to see hand pulled bitter and it was a lovely pint, my wife said that the range of lagers was OK too. We had a starter and a main course but couldn't manage the dessert course but I did see a young lady who had the cheeseboard and it looked magnificent.
The breakfast was one of the best I've had, maybe a slight criticism of the sausage but the rest of it was great and the staff couldn't do enough to help
Overall we had a brilliant stay at the Penrhos Arms and would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: we had room 2, there are only 5 but they all seemed first class.... enjoy your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crostoncritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Ate out twice in this pub, first night it was fairly busy but food order taken quickly by a lovely member of staff not sure if she was one of the owners or not. Never had chicken in bacon and cheese before served with cold bbq sauce!! always had hot sauce over it so that was slightly odd. Other than that a nice meal. On the second night it was extremely busy but again we were shown to a table quickly and our order taken quickly as well. Had a bit of a wait for our meal but waitress was apologetic which we appreciated. Food was average ,had lasagne which was a bit try but very tasty. If your on holiday in the area its definitely worth going to for a bar meal .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annr832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Food here is disgraceful!!! One of our party ordered roast dinner and when we complained about the quality the Waitress replied ' the veg was freshly cooked yesterday' - come on!! Only good thing was the reasonably friendly staff.

Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank _lovetotravel_1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
5.6 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 4 in Machynlleth
105 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Elephant & Castle Hotel
6.7 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Machynlleth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Machynlleth
161 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#2 of 11 in Machynlleth
322 reviews
6.4 mi away
Maenllwyd Guest House
Maenllwyd Guest House
#5 of 11 in Machynlleth
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhos Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhos Arms

Address: Cemmaes, Machynlleth SY20 9PR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range: £78 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrhos Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Penrhos Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrhos Arms Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing