We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden dog friendly gem”
Review of Glan yr Afon

Glan yr Afon
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Machynlleth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a hidden dog friendly gem”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Mandie my fiancee booked in as a single diner and asked if they would accept dogs they said that they do in the bar area fantastic. Arrived at 6pm to find plenty of parking (always a bonus). Entered the bar and were greeted so warmly by the staff very clean and contemporary interior without being pretentious , she and the dog was shown to her table and given the menu and asked about drinks she had a lemon and lime and the dog was brought a large bowl of water. Beautiful selection of starters and mains she had the smoked salmon mackerel and cream cheese the dog had a pork pie which caused a few chuckles lol. For main she had the pork loin stuffed with black pudding and wrapped in pancheta served on a bed of green beans sautéed new potatoes with a wholegrain mustard, white wine, herb and cream sauce she said it was a large portion well worth the money. The filter coffee was to die for perfect ending to a perfect meal. Thank you to all the staff she had a wonderful time and couldn't stop raving about it
Starter salmon £6.95
pork pie £2.95
Main pork loin £13.95
lemon and lime x 2 £3.00
filter coffee £2.00
She has promised me that we will definitely be visiting again and from what she has said I am not going to disagree.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    29
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the service”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Bistro style food of very good standard and well presented. Nachos very good, seabass and asparagus main perfectly cooked, and DS said beefburger was best ever.

But food is not everything. Service by young female staff is functional and disinterested. Management need to consider how to make their paying customers feel more welcome by, er, making them feel welcome. How hard can it be?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good meals”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were staying locally for a week. Arriving on Saturday after a long journey, we booked Sunday lunch here beforehand so that we would have a quiet day. Good meal, very pleasant staff and nice surroundings. Before leaving on Sunday we booked our Friday night meal. The restaurant was already fully booked, would we mind eating in the bar? I explained that we needed step free access, and we were shown which door to use. We were allocated a table which had space around it so that it wouldn't be a struggle for my 91 yr old, wheelchair user mum to get to. We had another nice meal on Friday. All in all a good find.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing service and attitude”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We called in for dinner without a reservation and were told that as we hadn't booked we could eat in the bar area. We were happy with this and were told to wait in a lounge area where our drinks order was taken while we looked at the food menu. The bottle of wine we ordered was put on the table in front of us with 2 glasses for us to help ourselves and then the food orders were taken.

We were quickly shown through to the dining area in the bar which was very pleasant. Our first course was served and we asked if we could have some tap water. After 15 mins, the water hadn't arrived and when our plates were cleared we asked again. We still had a long wait and after another reminder, the water eventually arrived.

The main course was served, which was quite good, but no one came to ask if everything was alright with our meal, as we have had at any other eating establishment we have been. We sat for a long time after finishing our meal until the plates were taken away. We were asked if we would like to see the dessert menu, which we said we did. After more than 30 mins, no one came near us, although there were several members of staff present we couldn't catch anyone's eye. In the end we decided not to bother so went to the bar to ask for our bill. When the bill was given to us it was for over £100! They had given us the wrong bill and gave us the right one with no apology.

Although the food was acceptable and the decor was good, the service and attitude of staff was unacceptable and we wouldn't recommend this place to friends and family and certainly won't be visiting again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DaisyCrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“SUNDAY LUNCH”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Visited twice here for Sunday Lunch within the last month - standard of food and service excellent on both occasions. We had Roast Beef & yorkshire pudding, Roast Pork and apple sauce and two Fillet of Place - all were very enjoyable. I was impressed that the people eating fish got a slightly different selection of veg to us eating the roasts. We have all been to those restaurants who serve sprouts fish! Someone is being thoughtful and it shows. £58 for four of us with four drinks. You don't have to ask for tap water its on the table already. Loos very clean.
The boss is very hands on - a sure recipe for success I would say.
The food is very hot - but I wish they would serve the food on hot plates then it would stay hotter longer but its not an issue really. Will go again. If only they would run the restaurant at plas Talgarth - which I hear is awful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolansk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glan yr Afon also viewed

Pennal, Snowdonia National Park
Pennal, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Glan yr Afon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing