We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful restaurant and a credit to Glyn and team”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glan yr Afon

Glan yr Afon
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Machynlleth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant and a credit to Glyn and team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Five Star in every way and not heard of anyone who has not had a truly wonderful meal..great food, great service, great atmosphere..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paultunstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    25
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent food & service even on very busy days! Hosts go extra mile to help and make it special. This was for a special meal ^ it was dealt with very well from booking to delivery!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

While on holiday in Wales we had a meal here to celebrate a family birthday and had a very enjoyable evening. The restaurant had a relaxed atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and plentiful with a good choice for all courses. I chose lamb steak which was cooked to perfection, pink and very tender. There was also a good selection of wines. We had a wonderful evening and meal and are only sorry that we live too far to visit this restaurant more often.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BristolCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Always stunning, love the food and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Well my sea bream was served with sweet potato chips, a marriage made in heaven, I was able to see how flavours complement each other. Spouse had duck with red cabbage and plum sauce which he raved about and we shared a gorgeous welsh rarebit for starter. The staff are really friendly and we went twice once with friends and once as a twosome, both excellent and the burger with cheese, bacon and relish was great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paulione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A True Gastropub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have eaten here on several occasions, including a very busy New Year's Eve dinner, over a period of three years and we have always had great food, service and value. They concentrate on using the best ingredients, obtained locally where possible, and present them in an imaginative menu. The presentation on the plate is also thought through to give immediate appeal to start eating and to please the eye artistically. I have been to many more expensive restaurants who don't do this as well as the Glan yr Afon (The Riverside) does, who charge a lot more. The wines, too, are very well chosen and on asking the co-owner, Glyn, if he had been on wine courses to choose such good quality wines he said, "no, but I've had a lot of experience of trying and choosing them over the years." They also serve three rotating cask ales, and a range of lagers and ciders. If gin is your tipple, then you will be spoilt for choice by their large selection. The staff are all very pleasant and welcoming, always ready with a smile, and efficient in their various roles. Glyn's co-owner wife, Corina, is also a very good hostess. When the bill arrives, it really is very good value for money, especially considering the quality the food and wines, the plate presentation and imaginative menus, and the efficiency and warmth of service from the staff. We shall, undoubtedly return on our next holiday in Aberdyfi. You will not be disappointed if you try this gem of a pub, but it would be best to book it in advance as they are regularly very busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VinocolapsoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glan yr Afon also viewed

Pennal, Snowdonia National Park
Pennal, Snowdonia National Park
 
Machynlleth, Powys
Machynlleth, Powys
 

Been to Glan yr Afon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing