We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit......as good as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maenllwyd Guest House
Ranked #5 of 12 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Second visit......as good as the first”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A we stated previously we always intended on returning here, however this visit was unintentional.

We had booked to stay locally at a caravan site with our kids, however due to the terrible standards of the caravans we refused to stay. Rather than deny our kids the weekend away we decided to try Maenllwyd (our previous visit was without the kids).

Thankfully there were vacancies so off went. We arrived well outside the normal arrival times but Gareth had hung around waiting for us. A nice touch was that he instantly recognised us from our previous visit.

Our kids shared a double and my wife & I shared another. Both rooms were at the top of the house. Both rooms were crisply clean, lovely white towels. Our room had a skylight so we could lie in bed & count the stars. The kids room was huge, with a bath AND a shower!!!!!

We stayed for 2 nights, breakfast was great. Kids loved it.

Would I stay again................yep. Enough said.

Room Tip: Try & get a top floor room, number 7 has a bath & shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lala L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    24
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
47
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Maenllwyd is 5 minutes walk from the town centre and is a decent place to spend the night, with plenty of parking space for the car. Our room (number 1) was a good size, clean and comfortable with ensuite bathroom. The B&B felt a little tired in places (the shower could do with an upgrade, as could the general decor) but the hosts were very friendly and helpful, chatting to us over breakfast about places to visit in the local area. Breakfast was tasty, with the standard breakfast options available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife and I, plus various other members of my family. have stayed at Maenllwyd for the last 4 years during the Machynlleth Comedy Festival. Gareth and Jane have always been so hospitable and chatty and the bedrooms are well appointed and comfy. The breakfast is well-cooked and it has altogether been a pleasure staying there. It is 5 minutes from the shops and restaurants but far enough from the centre to be peaceful and quiet, and there is plenty of parking space. I would wholeheartedly recommend it. Tony and Jan

Room Tip: If you want to stay there, book early as it's very popular. First floor rooms are lovely especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestwasthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have just spent three nights at the Maenllwyd Guest House. We were welcomed by Gareth and shown to our twin room on the 2nd floor (No.6). This was a nice quiet room overlooking the back garden. The decor was a bit dated and the television quite old, but the room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was lovely and very hearty. I would recommend this guest house to anyone. The location is perfect for getting about North Wales, and it is only 5 minutes walk into the town centre where there are ample pubs and eating places.
Thank you Gareth and Jane for being so hospitable, if we are in the area again we shall definitely be back.
L & M Carter, Sheffield

Room Tip: The back rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Beautiful setting, easy walk to all the town pubs, restaurants & shops, ample parking, great breakfasts (just as you'd like them!) lovely en-suite rooms with everything you need and more. Thoroughly enjoyed my fortnight stay & would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnEFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Booked here for one nights b & b, good value at £65 for a double room including full english. Although a bit dated and basic, the room was spotless and the host, Gareth, was very welcoming. Slept well and breakfast was lovely the following morning. All in all, a great stay in no frills guest house.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Lovely welcome on arrival, nice big room overlooking the garden. Tea and coffee, shower, TV etc. Friendly owner who grew up in the house. Very close to centre of Machynlleth so a short walk. We stayed here to be close to Ynis Hir and The Dyfi Osprey Project. Would come back again and stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephmurphy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
0.6 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
631 reviews
9.8 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#4 of 12 in Machynlleth
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 12 in Machynlleth
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maenllwyd Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maenllwyd Guest House

Property: Maenllwyd Guest House
Address: Maenllwyd Newtown Road, Machynlleth SY20 8EY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maenllwyd Guest House is situated in the historic market town of Machynlleth, in the heart of the Dyfi Valley. Gareth and Jane have run the guest house since 2009 and have refurbished the bedrooms, breakfast room, stairs and reception hallway and plan to start on the en-suite shower/bathrooms in 2016. It offers 7 en-suite rooms all with Freeview TV, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities plus complimentary toiletries and freshly laundered towels. A good choice of cooked and continental breakfasts are available for all our guests or we offer a room only option if requested. There is free off road parking and a large garden with recently added decking area for guests to enjoy the sun! To welcome you on your day of arrival you can enjoy a complimentary hot chocolate & biscuits. So what ever your reason for visiting Machynlleth and the surrounding area we hope you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maenllwyd Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maenllwyd Guest House Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing