We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, take dogs but now it's a bit work a day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maenllwyd Guest House
Ranked #5 of 11 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Stayed here a few times with my dog and it does the job. It's a bit more expensive than alternatives in the area but the fact that it takes my hound is a real bonus. It always surprises me that accomadation set on long distant paths doesn't take dogs in the main.

The running of the guest house has passed to the son last november 2009 and he and his wife lack the warmth that the parents had. It felt like they were reluctant owners who would rather be doing something else. Don't expect any idle chit chat.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Maenllwyd Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2010

I had a pleasant enought stay. The service was friendly without being overpowering. Breakfast was very nice. The room was very clean, if a little on the small side. The shower was hot, but little more than a drizzle. Really good location - very handy for the shops and pubs. Plenty of parking, but beware the drain that runs accross the carpark - damn near took out my suspension.

One thing always puzzles me about B and Bs though - why do they decorate them in such old fashioned tat? Lose the china carthorses and 60s pictures of children with big eyes, and the place would look so much fresher!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cestmoiici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Maenllwyd is a very nice family run business. The guest house is clean and tidy with well prepared rooms and ensuite facilities. A full breakfast menu is on offer with polite and efficient service. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Good location as it is situated at 2 min walking distance from town centre, easy to find, with very nice rooms, clean, with all comforts and quite spacious, in a quiet neighborhood.
Owners are very helpful and make you feel welcome from the beginning. Free parking place. I really loved this b&b and it is very handy if you're planning a visit to the Centre for Alternative Technology as it is at 10 min drive from there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumpkin022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

My wife and I normally go to a larger hotel but they could not accomadate us so we tried this guest house/hotel on the spur of the moment. The manager and staff where extreamly friendly and gave us a nice warm welcome despite it being late in the night. Despite not being asked a good hot meal was sent to our room within 30 minutes of us booking in. The room was clean, tidy and decorated to a standard normally associated with hotels costing double. This is not a guest house but a home from home, great value and a pleasure to stay in. Now on our favorites list.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mini-freaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

we arrived lateish but were made to feel very welcome indeed

accomodation very good - clean - comfortable - breakfast super

will definitely stay there next time we're down

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Good location on the way into town. Handy for local amenities and visiting the picturesque area.
The guest house has recently changed hands. We were given a warm welcome - nothing was too much trouble. Can't understand why anyone would have any complaint.
We have stayed on many occasions over the past few years and never had a bad experience.
Hospitality and food very good. Would recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaygirl64Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
0.4 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
265 reviews
8.7 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
660 reviews
10.0 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#4 of 11 in Machynlleth
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maenllwyd Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maenllwyd Guest House

Address: Maenllwyd, Newtown Road, Machynlleth SY20 8EY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range: £65 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maenllwyd Guest House is situated in the historic market town of Machynlleth, in the heart of the Dyfi Valley. Gareth and Jane have run the guest house since 2009 and have refurbished the bedrooms, breakfast room, stairs and reception hallway and plan to start on the en-suite shower/bathrooms in 2016. It offers 7 en-suite rooms all with Freeview TV, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities plus complimentary toiletries and freshly laundered towels. A good choice of cooked and continental breakfasts are available for all our guests or we offer a room only option if requested. There is free off road parking and a large garden with recently added decking area for guests to enjoy the sun! To welcome you on your day of arrival you can enjoy a complimentary hot chocolate & biscuits. So what ever your reason for visiting Machynlleth and the surrounding area we hope you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maenllwyd Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maenllwyd Guest House Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing