We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glandyfi Castle experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glandyfi Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Machynlleth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glandyfi Castle
Ranked #1 of 14 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montgomery, Powys
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glandyfi Castle experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

If you’re looking for an adequate Hotel for the night, this is not the place for you. If you’re looking for an experience, Glandyfi Castle is the place you’re looking for. Sumptuously restored Regency/Gothic building with stunning views of the Dovey estuary. Maureen and Peter create a relaxed atmosphere that will make you feel like it’s you own home. Great choice of food you can to eat as much or as little as you wish. Can’t wait to our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
69
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed here just one night on an unplanned stop over en route elsewhere and what a find. An unexpected treat. Glandyfi Castle is located in a supurb position overlooking the RSPB reserve a Ynys Hir, it is easy to find and is spectacular. The renovations are tasteful and incredibly well done down to every last detail. There are nice little touches too like a fresh fruit bowl in the room and sumptuous bathrobes. We had use of the drawing room and the library, where a fire had been lit just for us. Best of all was the breakfast in the covered court yard, which is a wonderfully light, modern area that works so well in this great, gothic castle. We were made to feel very welcome. There were no rules about breakfast or dinner times and we ate our dinner in our bare feet (lovely carpets). It is an incredibly grand building where you are encouraged to feel at home. If you are looking for something very special without the stuffiness or formalities, this is it. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppsie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The word Guesthouse does not do this marvellous property justice. The proprietors Peter & Maureen Holmes have clearly done a first class renovation job on this property, which in my opinion can stand shoulder to shoulder with any exclusive country house hotel. Unlike a hotel your stay is not regimented in any way and you are made to feel at home in the luxurious surroundings. The property benefits from seclusion and magnificent views and I can see why the BBC Spingwatch presenters used it as their base while they filmed in the area. Great comments have been left by them in the guest book. In an otherwise hectic business schedule it was a real pleasure to stay at the Castle. Both Peter & Maureen are super hosts and Maureen's culinary delights are a must when staying. I will certainly consider returning with a group of friends and making a long weekend of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discerning1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horam, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

You are blown away by the spectacular views in any direction and the beauty of the sympathetically restored castle and you haven't even walked inside yet. My 7yr old daughter and I were given such a warm welcome by the family, nothing is too much trouble. The meal times are flexible which was great for us as we were visiting family and exploring the area. The food was amazing, satisfying an adult foodie and a child. All the rooms were luxuriously comfortable, which is very welcom after a day adventuring! The castles location is great for the scenery but also makes accessing Wales and its many treasures. I cannot praise this hotel high enough and eagerly look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikizzy_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
4.9 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
4.2 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdovey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
13.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glandyfi Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glandyfi Castle

Property: Glandyfi Castle
Address: Glandyfi, Machynlleth SY20 8SS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Glandyfi Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glandyfi Castle is a regency gothic listed building with Dramatic views overlooking the Dovey estuary and RSPB bird reserve in Mid-Wales. The Castle is set in 45 acres of woodland and gardens, only 10 minutes from the sandy beaches. Aberdovey golf course is a 30 minute drive, and only 15 minutes from Aberystwyth. There is a direct rail link from London, via Birmingham and guests can be collected. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glandyfi Castle Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing