We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful birthday weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glandyfi Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Machynlleth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glandyfi Castle
Ranked #1 of 14 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful birthday weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent an unforgettable weekend at Glandyfi Castle to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday.
Close family members stayed for the whole weekend and were treated to memorable breakfasts and wonderful candlelit dinners in the beautifully decorated dining room.
Everyone was delighted with the luxurious accommodation and splendid views.

The courtyard was the perfect setting for my husband's birthday lunch party. 40 family members, ranging in age from 1 to 91, had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The buffet lunch was much praised and everyone's tastes were catered for admirably. The children found the castle fascinating, particularly the suit of armour, the cannon and the ramparts, and they enjoyed playing with Sidney, the dog. The adults appreciated the comfort, style and very warm welcome.

Maureen, Peter and their staff worked extremely hard to ensure that every aspect of our event ran smoothly. The service throughout was warm and attentive, yet unobtrusive.

My husband was brought up in the village, so the castle was the perfect choice for a family reunion. Maureen and Peter certainly gave him a wonderful welcome home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
69
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Little Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

After a fantastic day on the bike touring through Wales the warm welcome we received as we arrived at Glandfyi Castle was perfect. Maureen made us feel at home and relaxed straight away and we enjoyed the late afternoon sun on the terrace looking out over the spectacular views. The restoration of the castle and the decor is stunning and you know so much attention to detail and design has gone into making this an impressive yet very comfortable place to be. We had dinner, bed and breakfast and both were excellent,so much choice. Our only regret ..we didn't book to stay longer! A big thank you to all at Glandyfi Castle for making it a short but perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Certainly worth spoiling yourselves at Glandyfi Castle. Maureen was the perfect hostess and justifiably proud of her marvellous home. One might expect an old building like this to be damp and draughty but no, this was cosy accommodation, with wifi and modern plumbing, in an amazing setting. Lots of attention to detail in the choice of fixtures and fittings, views over the estuary and the colourful gardens a real treat. People using "Linnet", "Nightingale" or "Wren" rooms need to be fit enough to cope with two flights of stairs. A truly memorable one night stay really close to the RSPB Ynys-Hir and the Dyfi Osprey Project.

Room Tip: Rooms named after birds and a clue in the name - Wren was small but had a nice en-suite, Linnet was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jandles37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I rarely feel compelled to write reviews on places I visit. However, Glandyfi Castle has captured my heart! The location alone is enough to bewitch any guest, this combined with the warmest of welcomes from our delightful hosts immediately reassured us that the afternoon would be truly special.

The Castle's decor was inspiring (especially as a recent home buyer!) and though we were only there for afternoon tea we had the pleasure of exploring all the little libraries and snuggly nooks and crannies.

The food was divine. Tea was served in vintage china teacups (adorable!) and the little cakes and sandwiches (with the crusts cut off!) were delicious. Despite the considerable number of us, Maureen and her staff managed to float effortlessly around everyone.

It was not only the beautiful Castle and the scrumptious food that made this experience, but especially noticeable was the infallible warmth and attention paid to detail by Maureen and Peter. I don't know how you managed to cope with all of us AND remain calm and friendly - even stopping to discuss cake recipes!

Thank you, thank you, THANK you for looking after us! Please send our love to SIdney the daschund!

I can't wait to come back for a longer trip to paradise!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We recently celebrated our Golden Wedding Anniversary with our family at this beautiful and impressive castle.
When we were deciding how and where to celebrate, the choice of venue was easy as we had been twice before. On this our third visit, there were nine adults, a toddler and a baby and we stayed for the weekend.
Our hosts Maureen and Peter made us so welcome and made suggestions and arrangements so that our stay couldn't have been more comfortable and perfect for the event.
Once everyone arrived and settled into their sumptuous rooms we were served afternoon tea on delicate bone china decorated with spring flowers. The cakes made by Maureen were exquisite and we were kept supplied with different kinds of tea. This was a fitting prelude to the evening meal featuring local sewin or sea trout.
The following morning the breakfast choice of cereals, fruit and cooked food equaled anything we have had world wide.
The rest of the day we spent either walking round the grounds and going on the roof with Peter admiring the stunning views or going to the beach, before an afternoon tea with yet a further and different variety of sandwiches and splendid cakes.
Our celebration meal on the second night was served in the candlelit atrium watched over by a knight in armour. The food was amazing and the atmosphere magical.
The staff were pleasant, helpful and very attentive even down to providing us with a baby sitter.
The next day we left reluctantly and all our party agreed that the weekend celebration had been perfect.
The castle is impressive, the views stunning, the food delightful, but the warm welcome from Maureen and Peter and their staff made it the perfect celebration weekend for us.
We must mention Sydney, the wire haired dachshund, who delightfully kept us company throughout.
If you want a special place to celebrate an event or just to stay, we highly recommend Glandyfi Castle. Thank you Maureen and Peter.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent, but Osprey is very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This place has a stunning location.The decor is tastefull,and unfortunatly thats where it stops.Staff dont know how to wait on tables properly or how to talk to customers, "in a minute love"or "when I have finished serving the tea"when asking for coffee is not acceptable.We went for afternoon tea and it was nothing special which was a shame as it could be fab with the setting .Hope the food and service will improve.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clychau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Glandyfi Castle for two nights in the Skylark Room. The room was kitted out with hot drink making facilities and chocolates. The bed was large and comfortable. The en-suite had a large walk in shower with jets that you could spray on your back and Clarins miniatures in case you had forgotten anything. A kiddi-bed had been made up to accommodate our 3year old.

The venue itself is spectacular. Several reception rooms of different sizes that suited if there were just a few of you, or the whole 18 that were in our party. Log fires were tended to to ensure our comfort.

The staff, particularly Maureen and Peter, the hosts, could not have been more accommodating. I took a cake for the celebrations and they happily stored it safely until our second evening.

The food was faultless. Both evening meals were cooked perfectly to the individual's preference. The breakfast was truly the nicest I have had at any venue, with a wide variety of cereals, yogurts, croissants and cooked breakfasts. The fruit salad was beautiful, and I can highly recommend Maureen's scrambled eggs! Meals were prepared earlier meals for the three small ones in our party that enabled the adults to enjoy our evening celebrations without worrying.

The wine cellar had a good selection and we were waited on throughout the day for all our refreshment needs.

The grounds were well tended to and the setting is beautiful with good opportunities to go for walks or take a short drive to local towns or the beach.

My husband and I would definitely go back for a truly luxurious experience.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Genevieve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
4.9 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
4.2 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdovey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
13.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glandyfi Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glandyfi Castle

Property: Glandyfi Castle
Address: Glandyfi, Machynlleth SY20 8SS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Glandyfi Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glandyfi Castle is a regency gothic listed building with Dramatic views overlooking the Dovey estuary and RSPB bird reserve in Mid-Wales. The Castle is set in 45 acres of woodland and gardens, only 10 minutes from the sandy beaches. Aberdovey golf course is a 30 minute drive, and only 15 minutes from Aberystwyth. There is a direct rail link from London, via Birmingham and guests can be collected. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glandyfi Castle Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing