We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little cafe”
Review of Y Gegin Fach

Y Gegin Fach
Ranked #22 of 30 Restaurants in Machynlleth
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little cafe”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I love this little cafe. The decor is old-fashioned in a good way and the staff are friendly and efficient even though it's always very busy. I am a bit of a coffee snob, but the coffee here is just excellent - I usually have Americano, but the caramel latte is also delicious. The cream teas are very good value. The scones are huge, you get plenty of cream and butter - a bit more jam would be good, but no big deal. I can't visit Mach without stopping here for the best coffee in Wales!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tsuyoiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food, reasonable prices.”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were in Machynlleth partly because of the Market, so most of the eating establishments, including this one, were busy.
We managed to get a table indoors, although it wasn't too bad outside, and the place quickly filled up.
The range of dishes is reasonable, and the service was quite quick considering how busy they were.
We'll certainly consider going back when we are next in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Eggcelent”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Tucked away in a corner this little welsh cafe is a little gem,it offers a full welsh breakfast and a good variety of meals, all presented well and served on a hot plate the coffee is very good.the cafe has an old fashioned charm and friendly staff

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“tired and worn out looking cafe - but nice food and staff made up for it.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice, simple food. Lovely staff. Only downside was the decor - tired and dated! in desperate need of a revamp! Old-fashioned furniture ect (but suppose just not to my personal taste).

But overall - nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeganneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not great”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

the food was lovely and the cafe had quick service but when we came to pay, the waitress (who had just served us) kept trying to take an order. Generally, she seemed to be not very with it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Y Gegin Fach also viewed

Machynlleth, Powys
 
Machynlleth, Powys
Machynlleth, Powys
 
Machynlleth, Powys
Machynlleth, Powys
 

Been to Y Gegin Fach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing