We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great location with fabulous views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas Dolguog Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machynlleth
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great location with fabulous views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We booked this hotel for its location and the fact that is is dog friendly. We had a superior room very large with king size bed and a single. Plenty of room for 2 of us and the dog the views were fabulous and the next morning we had a great view of a rainbow. The weather was very mixed.There were only 6 guests staying on a Monday night but the food was fresh and all home made. I had chicken which was perfectly cooked with a delicious sauce and plenty of fresh vegetables. There was too much for me so I asked the waitress to wrap it for the dog which she did with a smile my husband had the steak pie which was also good. Breakfast was generous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaDerbyshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    29
    8
    9
    1
See reviews for
22
25
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

A lovely, personal welcome to this family-run hotel in one of the best-ever locations overlooking stunning valley with views to Snowdonia. Beautiful gardens to stroll in and spot the wildlife. Room very comfortable and with that view to wake up to, what could be better!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bewtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

After booking this hotel due it's location (out of the city with walking routes nearby), we had a great stay in triple room with a marvelous view to a open field. The room has plenty of space (differently from other hotels we stayed at) and a balcony, the staff is very friendly and the restaurant is excellent: has a tasty and good looking food. A hotel that is great for spending a whole weekend at. Certainly the best one we stayed at in Wales so far! And don't forget to visit the Grandma's Garden, we loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GZech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed for 2 nights on a golfing break.
Beautiful and quiet area just outside the town.
Nice bar, sitting area with great views.
Friendly staff, good breakfast.
Had steak the 1st night and Fishcakes the 2nd night which was OK but nothing special.
I had a room in the Annexe, funny old place with crappy carpet and dingy shower room. Had A nice flat screen tv though... but not many channels.
Bed was ok with old fashioned sheets/blankets
Superb Value so I definitely had value for money! Wouldn't take the wife there though, she would kill me!
I would go back with the lads as we tend not to be too fussy and the price is right!

Room Tip: Avoid the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldridge, Walsall West Midlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

My wife & I have spent two week-ends at this hotel .The first in a standard room and the second in a superior room which I personally would recommend.
You would not find this hotel by accident as it is half a mile off the main road but when you arrive you wil be pleasantly surprised and pleased. It is an old house dating from 1632 in a stunning location surrounded by 'Grandma's Garden'.
It is important to stress that each and every room is different and I know because I have seen every one. The floors are uneven and the stairs narrow - there is no lift.
The standard rooms (3, 4, 5.16,17,18, are well furnished and a reasonable size althouigh those in the Annex are smaller. The Superior rooms (1,6,& 8} are just that - superior in all aspects. An excellent standard of furnishing and quite large. The only ground floor rooms are in the annex - 3 standard / twin (16.17,&18) and the only single (15) in the hotel. There is also a very large executive suite (20) and a family room (19) upstairs in the Annex. Room 7 is a superior room with a four poster bed often used as the bridal suite. The reception is mainly unmanned but a bell is responded to immediately both in the reception and the bar. The hotel is family run with owners Tina & Anthony Rhodes having very much a 'hands on' approach.
There is a good choice of menu both at breakfast and at Dinner. Service was good and the food - cooked to order - excellent.
All staff we met were friendly and helpful. The two lounges, one with a log fire, were very comfortable with amixture of easy chairs and settees
My one criticism is that the roof of the resatuarant is a little high so that you have to stand on your balcolny to appreciate the magnificent view. The railway line at the bottom of the garden did not cause us a problem.
We were disappointment in not seeing any of the reputed three ghosts.
There is ample car parking
If I were to visit the area again I would certainly stay at Plas Dolguog

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford,
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

Has many outstanding features, not least the gardens at the back. Not ideal if you don't have a car. The walk to town is through a caravan park with "no entrance" signs, and pretty steep. I got the impression that they were having trouble finding a chef. Hopefully that is all sorted out now. Still something quite special; better than your average appalling British hotel.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorCalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Belgium
Level Contributor
197 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

As per the other reviews, don't go here to find either the perfect interior or luxury living - you won't get it. The location, however, is stunning.
This hotel is run by a team of outstanding Hosts (with a capital H), who cannot do enough to make guests feel at home. The Chef kept the restaurant open after hours to offer us a meal upon our late arrival and on another day (Sunday) he opened early to prepare breakfast because he would not allow us to leave on empty stomachs.
When I mentioned my back pain was not helped by my (perfectly suitable but slightly soft) bed, the lady at reception combined forces with the Chef and a maintenance man to make necessary (carpentry) adjustments to my bed so that I would be comfortable. And I was, sleeping like a log during our 2nd and 3rd nights. Where else do you get this kind of personal service and hospitality?
If you're looking for a welcoming 'home from home', this is the place for you.

  • Liked — The people, the people, the people - and the wonderful location (and good food)
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
0.9 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
9.2 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdovey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
9.7 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#3 of 14 in Machynlleth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Dolguog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Dolguog Hotel

Property: Plas Dolguog Hotel
Address: Felingerrig, Machynlleth SY20 8UJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Dolguog Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resembling a nature reserve in miniature. Many bedrooms offer balconies overlooking the Dyfi Valley and hotel gardens. Ground floor and family rooms available - dogs welcome. All bedrooms are individually furnished and offer everything you need to feel completely at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Plas Dolguog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dolguog Hotel Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing