We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Machynlleth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Living-Room Treehouses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We are a family of four, 13 & 11 year old boys, and have just returned from a fantastic 2 night break in the living room tree house called Penny. We were greeted and helped up to the tucked away tree-house with it's own section of woods to play in, by the lovely Mark. The boys loved the rope swing, the den and all the extras as well as having to go over a rope bridge high up to get to the tree-house. This morning it was really windy and I could see the trees through the windows sway, but we stayed nice and still in the super sturdy and warm cabin. Lots to do in nearby town. Only problem with the stay was I wished we had stayed a night or more longer! Happily recommend, hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Living-Room Treehouses
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

This trip exceded all expectations, it was truly awesome. To drink fresh mountain water at whim, have showers at one with nature and to wake up to a inspiring breathtaking view made us feel the luckiest people alive. I can't recommend this enough

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We recently spent three nights in Penny. A newly built, stunning tree house.
We are a family of four with our children aged 11 and 13 and this is our second year at the tree house, last year we spent three nights in Timmy.
Penny is a purpose built, luxury tree house and is perfect for a relaxing break and quality family time. You have the sense of remoteness in an idyllic location, a short walk up the hill behind rewards with a beautiful sunset over the mountains.
George Clarke spent a day filming for his Amazing Spaces series although this wasn't a problem because it gave us chance to explore the beach, estuary and watch the ospreys and we were left a hamper.
We will be returning and I'd recommend it to couples or families. The time we spent together was priceless.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Mlakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent five nights in Penny in early June. We'd been given a long weekend as a gift, but decided to extend it to make the most of it

The location was perfect, we barely saw another human on-site from the time we unpacked to the time we left. It was peaceful and calm, the perfect way to relax from a stressful couple of months. The whole thing was an experience from chopping wood for the fire, to the outside shower (I used it twice a day to make the most of it!) and the composting toilet (I never did get used to that!) I even learned that my husband has a fear of rope swings, but should probably apologise to the sheep who were no doubt disturbed by my giggling as I swung around!

The treehouse has pretty much everything you need, and had plenty of room for two of us, but travel light if you're going for one of the more remote treehouses, it's a bit of a trek up hill!

Room Tip: If you're up for the trek, the more remote treehouses are in a beautiful location.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Blondie247772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just returned from 2 nights in gwdy hw. Our family of 3(an 8 year old boy) found it awesome. He never once asked for iPads or TV. One of his favourite activities was chopping wood. And the compost toilet is what he wants at home! Very friendly staff whom were responsive to our needs. The heat in the fields was 34 degrees celsius at times but the tree house was in the shade and made our stay very pleasant. Would really highly recommend this experience to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just returned from a two night treehouse experience which we all thoroughly enjoyed. The venue was fantastic, and our girls all really enjoyed making dens, playing on the tree swing and checking out what nature they could see around the place. Peter welcomed us and explained what was on offer and we quickly found our feet, and enjoyed a walk both nights down to the local pub for food and refreshments! We would recommend this to anybody and the location is within driving distance of Aberdovey and Barmouth which we visited on one of our days at the Treehouse.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just come back from a weekend in the treehouse and what a weekend it was!

We were welcome by Mark who helped us carry our bags to the treehouse which is about 5 minutes walk across a field from the car park. On the way he told us about things to do in the area and then showed us around the treehouse explaining how to use the wood burner, shower and toilets.

The treehouse itself looks and feels lovely and cosy. There is bedding and spare blankets (for winter I assume), plenty of tealights, wood for the burner and a torch to use at night.
You also get plates, cuttlery, pans and a gas hob to cook and eat your food. There's also a kettle and cups for your tea/coffee.
Outside you can cut more wood should you need it (or just for the fun of it!).
There is a swing that is sure to please children and adults alike. And the stream is a source of fun as well as relaxation, especially in the morning when all is quiet but the calming sound of running water nearby.

We had a great time forgetting the stresses of "urban living" and getting back to nature.
Our 7 year old son loved it so much that he was truly sad to be back home after just 3 days. It has been his best holiday ever, beating exotic beach destinations.
We would love to go again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
6.1 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
103 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Penrhos Arms
Penrhos Arms
#6 of 11 in Machynlleth
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Trewythen Lodges
Trewythen Lodges
#2 of 5 in Llanidloes
222 reviews
10.1 mi away
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
9.0 mi away
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living-Room Treehouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living-Room Treehouses

Address: Bryn Meurig Farm | Cemmaes, Machynlleth SY20 9PZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Machynlleth
Price Range: £160 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote treehouses in hidden valley on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park in Wales. There are six individual treehouses, each in its own natural environment ... offering romantic accommodation for couples, and a magical experience for families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Living-Room Treehouses Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing