We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tan y Coed

Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Summer view from the covered deck Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Summer view from the covered deck
Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Winter view from the covered deck
Morso Log Burning Stove, all wood provided
Large Comfy L-Shape Sofa
Sheepies
Dining Area with Additional Stools
Bedroom 1 with Kingsize Bed
Bedroom 2 with Full Size Single Beds
Bathroom with WC, Electric Shower and Sink
The Lodge from the Field Below prior to Glass Balustrade
Summer view from the covered deck, 2
Decked Area off the Lounge
View from the Hill at the side of the Lodge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Plentiful Supply of Logs on Deck
Cabin Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Machynlleth, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sally H
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very peaceful”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

clean , warm , ideal for a good rest :-] very good street market in the town on wednesday's well worth a visit ; - ]

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
225alison
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin was gorgeous and we all loved it, there was room at the side of the cabin to have a BBQ which we did every night and then sat on the balcony sipping a glass of wine wrapped in a welsh blanket with candles lit looking at the view, heaven! and the best thing, no wi fi so work could not get in touch with my husband and torture him whilst on holiday! so relaxing, we have stayed in mid/north Wales many times and this was the best, thank you James it was beautiful we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful and no Wi Fi
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4cansofsp...
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just perfect. Because I booked late eBay didn't send me the follow up email, so I rang James the owner and he sorted it while I was on the phone to him!
Lovely and peaceful and the log fire works really well
Only regret is I couldn't stay longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jr602015
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Welsh excellence , very good”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Every thing was lovely, sat looking at the scenery and sheep, my grandson loved the trains , enjoyed it and definitely would go again ,our dog loved it too ,thank you for our stay ,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sceanary
Liked least: trains
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianofpo...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth it to sip wine and take in the view from the balcony”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Compact, although two bedrooms but clean and cosy. About 25 minutes walk through the fields and lanes, to Machynlleth which has the usual pubs, cafes, indian restaurant and house of parliament!!!
Surrounded by lovely countryside and although there are other cabins nearby it was very peaceful when we stayed with birdlife (kites/buzzards etc.) in abundance.
In the evening unwind by sitting with a glass of your favourite and enjoy the views over the Dyfi valley and surrounding hills.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony view
Liked least: Overall lack of space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
1 review
“A beautiful place to be.”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from our third visit and found Tan y Coed as lovely and comfortable as ever. It is such a delightful place, well appointed and with a view from the verandah which never fails to captivate us. I am sure that we will be visiting again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise in the woods”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Tan y Coed is surprisingly close to the town of Machynlleth. It's also surprisingly close to other cabins in this small woodland. But it is quiet, peaceful and amazingly restful, whilst having a fantastic view from the lounge and verandah, looking across the Dyfi valley to the southern edge of the Snowdonia National Park and the foothills of Cadair Idris. The cabin is well equi[pped, comfortably furnished and very beautifully arranged for a romantic stay or a personal retreat.
We cannot wait to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package (it just works beautifully) and the beautiful outlook.
Liked least: The mood lighting is great, but for old eyes like mine it wasn't easy to see to read, or even to wash up.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing