We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Gogarth Hall Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gogarth Hall Farm
Ranked #8 of 12 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place. Ron and Deilween were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Family room - nice room, big enough for four, though the bathroom is a bit small. and yes, the floor is uneven, but we didn't mind that. Breakfast was good and plenty, too. The Kids loved the place .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hue
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Had a lovely stay at the farm whilst working in the area. Would highly recommend using for a trip to any number of the attractions all around. Plenty to do and explore at the farm itself and really pleasant accommodation to start from. Will be back.

Room Tip: All cottages in amazing settings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattrose87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed in static caravan for a week during Easter holidays. Views from caravan is amazing. There are plenty of fields for kids to run around and everything is vary safe. It was fairly impossible to bring our 5 and 7 y.o indoors they were having so much fun. Location is excellent, close to the beach as Machynlleth town, best of both worlds. Plenty of activities for kids too. There are two sheep dogs in the farm as they are really friendly, our kids spent loads of time playing with them. Owners are extremely friendly, it felt like home from home. Caravan itself is a little bit dated and old fashioned. Could have done with a bit of better cleaning, however we had such a great time it did not really bother us. Overall it's lovely place to spend holidays, friendly owners and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekuna19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We decided to travel to Aberdovey last weekend (July 12th) during the excellent weather spell. We thought if we wanted to stay, it wouldn't be a problem. Blimey - Everything full. Having tried everywhere, we decided we'd stop of at Machynlleth. But just 2 miles outside of Aberdovey is the above farm house - Vacancies! Great, so we tried and to cut my long story short - What a diamond of a place. Very welcoming, cheap as chips and a fabulous room overlooking the back gardens / Dovey / Hills etc... Fabulous... Because the TV didn't work (Which didn't bother us) we moved to one of the cottages. This slept six, three bedrooms, lounge, kitchen (Litre of milk thrown in) and bathroom - could quite easily have lived there - fabulous views from the patio as well. Breakfast was great and must highly recommend this to all. Will in future stay there. PS. They booked us in to the local Pub for an evening meal (Last minute) - 1-2 miles down the road - Packed with diners, great food. Excellent, excellent...

Room Tip: Either in the farmhouse or in the cottages. The room we were first shown in the farmhouse slept 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Seeing a sign on the road we rode up the drive and were given a family room for the 2 of us overlooking the river Dovey.
It's a big old farm house with cottages and a static caravan in the grounds. Yes there is a lot of furniture and a couple of creaks on the stairs but this just adds to the charm of an old farmhouse. If people don't like that sort of thing I'm sure one of the big anonymous chains will be happy to take your money.
The en-suite was a little peculiar with the sink in the room next to one of the beds and the shower although adequate could have done with a little more oomph.
Breakfast was excellent and plentiful.
Parking was good with plenty of space for the bikes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ciaron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here over the bank holiday weekend as a recce for our main holiday in August this year. A very comfortable and clean property with VERY comfortable beds (I haven't had 8 hours unbroken sleep in years). Referring to an earlier review, yes, the decoration is 'old-fashioned' and the floors are uneven - however, this is a very old farmhouse and it all adds to the character. We loved it. The breakfasts were top-rate and I don't think I have ever seen eggs with such a deep yellow yolk :)

Totally convinced we have made the right choice for our holiday with a large part of our famliy in August.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kd2001Swindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

lovely location..however there was not a warm welcome, waited ages for someone to turn up , evenin meal offered..no..old fashioned decoration, left a small bottle of lemonade on my bedside locker and it slid off(tg cap was on)room over crowded with tat so hardly any room to put any thing of ours,, was not a good experience at all for us, no need for me to go on...

Room Tip: very hard to comment as i was led by their advertising on the internet which wasnt very accurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank whyadvertisefalsely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
4.6 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
98 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
52 reviews
4.7 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
147 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gogarth Hall Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gogarth Hall Farm

Property: Gogarth Hall Farm
Address: | Pennal, Machynlleth SY20 9LB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Gogarth Hall Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering cottages located on a working farm in Snowdonia national park. Properties overlook the Dyfi estuary and Cambrian mountains. Aberdyfi village 4 just 4 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gogarth Hall Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gogarth Hall Farm Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing