We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Radnorshire Arms
Ranked #2 of 13 Presteigne B&B and Inns
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little gem”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for one night. On arrival we have been shown two different rooms- one modern, one traditional. We have decided to stay in the traditional one as we have preferred that one- not because the other one was not nice , it was stunning too- but my partner and I liked the style of the room. The room was comfy, clean, nice size, and warm. The bathroom needed a bit of TLC but we are not fussy, and it was clean too.
The service was very professional, lovely staff. The deal we've bought included a three course dinner meal, and no word of a lie, we had the BEST rump steak ever!!! We'd recommend this hotel to everyone. Plus there was a lovely tapas bar 50 m away from the hotel too, with brilliant atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    40
    17
    12
    5
See reviews for
25
60
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

after been given one night stay at this hotel as a thank you present, i clicked onto the their website and was excited for what i saw. Unfortunately, the reality was much different.
After driving 2+1/2 hours, my boyfriend and I eventually arrived and we were looking forward to a romantic night away.
we had been advised to take the modern outside lodges, so we checked in and headed to out room with the world's biggest piece of patio flooring attached to our room key.
I thought i had been transported back in time and i was in maplins from hidi high, as the outside lodges were no more than garden sheds, but still undeterred we entered the room hoping for something special inside but entered a bleak soulless cold damp room with paint peeling off the walls.
At which stage my boyfriend said "no way I'm sleeping here", it really did feel like we had entered someone's converted shed.
The only upside to this room was that the bathroom looked like it had been recently updated to what i can only describe as a very good standard.
The view form the room was not of a beautiful 16th century manor house, but at the back of the hotel which more resembled a 1960s lunatic asylum. This is not a one person's rant for no reason, as I have posted photos of our view so you can see the room and the view from the room.
As dinner and breakfast were included in our package, we decided to wait and see until dinner to give it a chance, we sat at the hotel's pub and had a beer whilst we contemplated what to do.
We opted to leave back home and not even take dinner, so we headed back home and saved the service to make up the most uncomfortable bed ever created.
I know we should have complained at the time but we were so disappointed after such a long drive the whole hotel looked tired and dated and we couldn't be bothered to have a discussion about it so just cut our losses and left.
This wasn't done lightly as it was a 5 hour round trip.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank notanaveragebritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianni D, Owner at The Radnorshire Arms, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I was utterly disappointed to read your comments about the hotel and your experience here last week. I am even more disappointed that you chose not to raise your concerns with any of the staff at the time.

We take the business of customer service very seriously here at The Radnorshire Arms and my staff are all passionate about offering our guests a top quality experience. If you had taken the time to mention your dissatisfaction with your room you would have been greeted with staff who were prepared to bend over backwards to make you feel comfortable.

As you can see from the review directly above this one, we are happy to show customers a variety of rooms to choose from and we would have been happy to do this for you if you could have taken the time to mention that you weren't happy. We could have offered you a room of totally different character and style which overlooked the garden. Following that, if you still weren't happy we could have offered you a further alternative by showing you our sister hotel in the group that we would happily have moved you over to at no extra cost to ensure you left us satisfied. (our sister hotel, The Knighton has already undergone a full refurbishment and perhaps would have been more to your specific tastes). Sadly, you chose to do nothing, say nothing and then remotely post a negative review about us. I feel your unwillingness to interact with our staff is what caused your trip to be wasted and has left you frustrated and annoyed with your experience. I am equally frustrated and annoyed that you didn't give us the opportunity to deal with your issues privately and professionally.

As regards your other comments. When you have spent over £300.00 replacing keys (and then locks) that guests take home and don't return then action needs to be taken! We are a small business here and every £ that we lose unnecessarily is a big deal to us. We don't have (nor do we want) the big corporate faceless uniformity of large chain hotels nor can we afford a cardkey system. Quirky and original is what we are here and make no apology for that. However, I will certainly agree that the key fobs are unnecessarily large (although I've never seen a patio decorated in such). Having taken over this business in February this year, I have a lot to do to bring the place up to the standard that I want it to be but Rome wasn't built in a day and I am working on things one at a time as funds become available. I have in fact, already got new key fobs being made which will be smaller but still too big to go home with in your pocket.

The room that you were given was indeed in the annexe. Many of our customers prefer these rooms because of their modern style and as you pointed out, the interiors have been completely renovated 1 year ago. As they have been fully insulated I would refute your claims of dampness in the room and I will certainly investigate any peeling paint issues today and have those immediately rectified. Your comments about the rooms being like a shed I do not accept. There are 8 rooms in a straight line with a canopy over the walkway. Because the facia on the rooms is wooden then this dictates to you that they look like sheds. Many hotels have long corridors of rooms all facing each other and all uniformly laid out. This is how many hotels lay out their space, do we then describe them as prisons? I think you have been unfair in your comments about your room although I do agree that your view was not the best view to be had. As I have said many times, if you could have taken the time to talk to us we could have rectified the matter but, and I quote "we couldn't be bothered to have a discussion" then nothing could be done to assist you.

We are, of course, aware that we have a very old building. Some, if not all our rooms in the main house are in need of updating and we have just started this week the process of stripping out all of our bedrooms and bathrooms in the main house to bring them up to a much higher standard as well as new carpets, curtains, fixtures and fittings in all the public rooms. Following this the whole of the outside of the building is being redecorated and brought back to its original glory. We are spending a great deal of money on this refit and I am very confident that we will have an exceptional hotel following the completion of this.

Whilst I am, of course, concerned, disappointed and sorry that you had such a poor experience with us, I can only reiterate that if you could have been "bothered" to speak to us, we could have turned the situation around and given you the pleasant experience that you expected from us.

I would implore any of our guests to speak directly to us about any problems with their stay with us at which point I guarantee that they will be greeted by staff who are both well trained to deal with customers and who are passionate about what they do. By all means, post your comments on Trip Advisor, but please make sure that you speak to us too!

Yours Sincerely

Gianni D'Aniello
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We visited this place twice whilst staying in the area, the first time was just for drinks late in the afternoon. We had our dogs with us and we were all made very welcome. A beautiful roaring fire was just what we needed, all very cozy and warm! So we decided to return the following day for Sunday lunch, we were led into the beautiful dining room where we all decided upon which roast to choose. All of our meals was very nice and plentiful, and the service was excellent. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadjeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

my husband booked a night here as a surprise. we arrived about 6 in the evening. we were greeted by the owner who quickly took us to our rooms. we were on the top floor but wasnt a problem for us (no lift) our room was huge and very clean and tidy. tea and coffee supplied but also had tins in the hallway which ive not seen before and thought this was a nice touch.The hotel itself is very impressive. steeped in history.
we had a three course meal in the restaurant in a gorgeous panelled room in front of a roaring fire. The food and service was brilliant. the staff could not do enough for us. the bar had a welcoming relaxed atmophere.would definately go back and recommend this hotel to friends and family.thank you for a pleasant night stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyg086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

A large party of us stayed here recently we had a fantastic time , the rooms were nice and the staff were very helpful .We all had various meals in the evening and these could not be faulted in any way , breakfast was also very nice and the staff could not do enough for us looking forward to going back in a few weeks time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank flowersteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have a holiday place in presteigne & have been going to the Radnor for over 20 yrs. For the past few years it has been nothing special (apart from the building) but our recent stay after a year's absence was superb.We took advantage of a Valentines package with b & b and meal. It was so welcoming & comfortable. Awful weather but enjoyed relaxing by the log fire in the bar. The meal was heavenly.....lovely atmosphere in the wood panelled room. Breakfast was tasty & relaxed with yet another open fire in the background. A lovely quiet casual atmosphere with attentive yet unobtrusive service. We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

sixteen of us stayed overnight bed/breakfast/evening meal. we found our room no.10 to be clean and very comfortable, the only fault was all the stairs getting to it, but could not find any fault with the room or indeed the food or hospitality showed by all the staff. we all had various selections off the menu and we all really enjoyed the food which was well presented and plentiful as was the breakfast in the morning.all in all a good time was enjoyed by us all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Presteigne
5.1 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
19.4 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Radnorshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Radnorshire Arms

Property: The Radnorshire Arms
Address: High Street, Presteigne LD8 2BE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Presteigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Radnorshire Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned historic 3* Hotel and restaurant, offering 17 en-suite rooms, all equipped to the highest standard with a lounge, childrens' play area and gardens. We accommodate individuals, couples, families and larger groups in relaxed and spacious surroundings whether it be for a very special occasion or for a quiet evening out. Located in beautiful countryside in the town of Presteigne next to Offas Dyke and close to Ludlow Hereford, Shrewsbury and Llandrindod Wells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Radnorshire Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Radnorshire Arms Presteigne, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing