We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Vicarage Country House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Presteigne
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Knighton Hotel(Knighton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhydspence Inn(Whitney-on-Wye)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Talbot Hotel(Leominster)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Oak(Leominster)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
113
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaul and johndrawing roomold vicaragehome madeattention to detailvictorian styleb bon arrivallook forwardcakesrolling hillstrained chefreturn visitlook no furthersuperb hostsbeautiful gardena lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is a splendid place to stay, not a hotel at all. The support from Paul and John when I was making enquiries through to leaving with a pot of jam and a chicken shows real attention to detail, sadly lacking in the majority of hotels.
We were treated as genuinely favoured guests, nothing is too much trouble and the accommodation is superb. A lovely, lovingly restored Victorian home was most welcoming in the snow of an unusual White Easter.
Other reports describe the garden in summer, and we are looking forward to a return trip. To enjoy that as well.
You will not be disappointed with a stay in this unique guest home.

Room Tip: There are only 3, ours was magnificent. The others looked similar.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerP219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday and had a lovely time. The rooms are fantastic, as was the welcome from John & Paul. Excellent cooking and a lovely dining room really made the day. Looking forward to coming back and will bring friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave-kent-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The OId Vicarage is the perfect place to unwind. Paul and John offer the finest cuisine and a warm and welcoming environment. The rooms are carefully furnished with the beds being particularly fine. I slept very well indeed. There are some lovely walks in the local area and we were grateful to Paul for his local knowledge. We would certainly choose to visit the Old Vicarage again, and recommend it as a delightful and inspiring place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We have been staying at the Old Vicarage for some years and our recent stay was as enjoyable as ever and as interesting as our first visit. It is a wonderful property in a lovely area and John and Paul are great hosts, ensuring guests are comfortable in a very relaxed atmosphere. Our latest visit was in November so returning to a roaring fire with tea and scones was perfect after a day out. The breakfasts are wonderful and dinner served in the Dining Room special. Highly recommend a visit any time of the year.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own unique charm. Call Paul or John for advice.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The Old Vicarage is just as fabulous as the last time we visited, and the time before that. The decor is beautiful, some new additions every time we visit. The gardens are lovely even in frosty sunshine, and the views and ambience are just perfect. We brought relatives this time as a celebration birthday weekend and they enjoyed the place as much as we did. Lovely breakfasts with mostly home cooked produce (I don't think Paul has got quite as far as making his own cornflakes yet!) set us up for the day, and the area is very pleasant and interesting to visit. Paul & John are perfect hosts, you feel like a valued friend when you return, and they are full of interesting conversation on all sorts of topics, and very knowledgeable about places to visit and see in the area.
we are already thinking about when we can go back and visit, our 22 yr old daughter is very keen to go with us next time (despite no mobile signal or internet) as she is dying to experience the beautiful beds!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, the four poster in the Burlington room is quite high so if you are small or not very agile ask for one of the other rooms. All rooms have lovely views and are quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LazyRizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radnorman, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your return visit to The Old Vicarage.
We look forward to welcoming you here again in 2013.
With best wishes Paul & John
PS We have free wifi access available for guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews