We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Les and Lesley A very special B & B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Presteigne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Vicarage Country House
Ranked #1 of 13 Presteigne B&B and Inns
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Les and Lesley A very special B & B!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was my first experience of the Old Vicarage and I can honestly say it wont be my last. Paul and John have a most beautiful and unique home and we are very privileged to share it with them. They are great hosts and the food was amazing. In fact we had booked for a meal out on the Saturday and after tasting the meal on Friday we cancelled the restaurant. That says it all. We are just in the process of thinking who we can take the next time around.
Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: All rooms were good but we stayed in the Green Price room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
82
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grantham - Lincs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Great Hosts Paul & John, Great Rooms, Great Food, Great Wine, Great Company, You would have to go a long way to beat a stay at this place. Everything is amazing, food is of the highest quality, freshly prepared by Chef Paul, all locally grown and purchased ingredients. Strongly recommend a stay here, be it a long weekend or longer. Thanks for a great stay and making our 37th Wedding Anniversary so special.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Having stayed at a number of B&Bs in the UK, I would rate The Old Vicarage as among the very best. It is the perfect combination of welcoming hosts, a wonderful house, and a pretty garden---all set within beautiful countryside. I was in the Green Price Room, which has a superb view of the garden and the church. Two chairs facing the window proved the perfect place to read and plan the day's activities. John and Paul were accommodating in every way. Their suggestions of houses and gardens to visit were perfect. Paul is a superb cook, and I enjoyed dinner all three nights of my visit. John is the gardener, and the result of his efforts are a delight.

Room Tip: Each room is quite beautiful in it own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Have visited The Old Vicarage a number of times and always enjoy the surroundings and hospitality. This place is truly special and we will return whenever we can. Paul and John are consumate hosts and we particularly recommend staying for dinner. Other reviewers rave about the building, it's decor and furnishings - this is not overstated and a total joy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SteTrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The Old Vicarage has only 3 things going for it - the property itself, the owners Paul and John and it's location!

It is a large Victorian, George Gilbert Scott designed vicarage set in beautiful gardens with terrific views over the rolling countryside. It has been restored virtually to its original state, including electric bell pushes, which you are encouraged to use, in the study, drawing room and dining room - and you are invited to use all these rooms at your leisure, pre dinner drinks are taken in the drawing room. The atmosphere is authentically 19th century with the only noise coming from the various chiming clocks.
Paul and John are very friendly and can't do enough to help - they are clearly Victoriana fanatics and the food (prepared by Paul) is excellent too. The local area (Welsh marches) is completely unspoiled with little traffic and lots of small towns with good local shops. All in all a lovely, tranquil and very friendly place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: They all are extremely well appointed with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Old Vicarage is a delight. From the tea and freshly-baked banana and pecan loaf on our arrival, through the stunningly-decorated high-Victorian rooms, to the delicious breakfasts, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was extremely comfortable, and Paul and John looked after us very well; even cooking a special light dinner one day when I was ill. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Green Price room, which was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewWBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We've just returned from probably the most magical weekend away we've ever experienced. What really made it for us was this truly beautiful property, which has been restored to its former Victorian gothic splendour. The attention to detail throughout is amazing - from the antique furnishings through to the wallpaper and all the beautiful lighting fixtures around the property.

We love country house hotels, but the Old Vicarage truly blew all the others out of the water, and it is fantastic value for money.

Paul and John were the most welcoming hosts, and made us feel at home from the moment we stepped through the door. They looked after us throughout our stay so well, with freshly baked scones and homemade jams each afternoon, and the most delicious breakfasts: from homemade yoghurt to locally sourced sausages, eggs and bacon. Each evening we were treated to the most wonderful cooking by Paul, who is a former top chef. We were staggered by the quality of the food - the first evening we had a beautiful tender beef wellington for our main course, and the second evening was the most delicious locally sourced pheasant. It was wonderful to take apertifs in the drawing room before dinner, and have coffee there afterward beside the log fire.

The property is located high in the Welsh Marches, offering splendid views in every direction over the rolling hills. We'll be returning in the summer so that we can sit out in the garden in the evening and enjoy watching the sun set over the hills! Locally there is an abundance of things to do, but we really enjoyed a walk along Offa's Dyke as per John's recommendation - the distant views are unparalleled, and it was fun to watch the lambs in the fields.

We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning, but we enjoyed the Gilbert Scott room, with its lovely roll-top bath - v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sislio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Presteigne
3.2 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Radnorshire Arms
The Radnorshire Arms
#2 of 13 in Presteigne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Country House

Property: The Old Vicarage Country House
Address: Norton, Presteigne LD8 2EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Presteigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deservedly winner of the Tripadvisor 2012-14 Certificate of Excellence and 2007 Visit Wales (Welsh Tourist Board) Best B&B in Wales, The Old Vicarage, Norton, Presteigne is situated in beautiful walking country on the Welsh/Herefordshire border. Enjoy the stunning Victorian decor, furnishings & fittings, comfortable beds, dinner by candlelight with excellent food and wine, delicious breakfasts using superb local produce and the lovely landscaped gardens with fabulous views across the hills of England & Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Country House Presteigne, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing