We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine house and superb hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Presteigne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Vicarage Country House
Ranked #1 of 13 Presteigne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

A winter weekend spent in this wonderful Victorian home where the attention to detail is second to none!! A roaring log fire, scones and tea greeted us on our return from walking Offa's Dyke. Paul is a superb chef and uses best quality local produce, the wine cellar has an excellent selection too! Thoroughly enjoyed a restful few days and highly recommend this gem of a place and it's attentive hosts John and Paul.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Happy223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for The Old Vicarage Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stopped off on our way to Anglesey, if only we'd had more time we'd have loved to stay longer. The house has been restored so beautifully, it was faultless, and so clean (I truly believed we were the first occupants of the shower). We stayed as two couples and had the house to ourselves (a mid week off season booking) so the sitting and dining rooms were all ours, we felt as if we were featuring in a period drama. Friendly hosts and good value for money despite being slightly more than the average guest house. It clearly is NOT an average guest house.

Room Tip: before I realised I had clicked on fitness center - I have to let you know that there isn't one...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magglington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at The Old Vicarage a couple of years ago with our friends. The service, decor and food was amazing. It was great to see what a wonderful restoration job the guys have done to the place.

We arrived to afternoon tea and had a wonderful meal cooked in house with exquisite service. Breakfast was another treat.

We spent the day in Ludlow and then went to the nearby Michelin starred pub for evening meal.

In our last morning the guys gave us a tour of the property explaining all the work they had done on it.

I would definitely return here. Great for a chilled out relaxing weekend

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a wonderful 2-night stay in September in this excellent Victorian style house. Paul and John are very hospitable hosts and made us very welcome. On arrival we had tea in the Drawing Room with delicious homemade scones. Paul is a trained chef and the second night we stayed we had a fabulous dinner cooked with locally sourced ingredients, Our room was spacious with a very comfortable Victorian brass bed. The bathroom had an ornate marble topped sink and a big bath tub.
The house is set in lovely gardens and located in breathtakingly beautiful countryside. There are so many interesting places to visit nearby we will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonBirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Quite simply the nicest B&B we have stayed in, anywhere. The house is decorated to a wonderful standard, both in quality, historical accuracy and attention to detail. The two owners are most welcoming and charming, have a great knowledge of the local area and they are delighted to chat about things to do and see, as well as the house.
The rooms are a perfect mix of period appearance (wallpaper, four-poster bed) with new/modern conveniences (comfortable mattress, efficient shower), and all of them have wonderful views.
The breakfast is beautifully presented and consists of locally sourced ingredients prepared and/or cooked to perfection.
We cannot wait to return, both to The Old Vicarage, and to Herefordshire and Radnorshire, which turned out to be a hidden gems.

Room Tip: There are no dud rooms (we were shown them all, as everyone had checked out before us the day we wer...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Type17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This area of the country is a joy to visit and explore, but a stay at The Old Vicarage really makes any trip just that little bit more special. The Gothic Victorian splendour of the building is enhanced by the attention to detail shown inside; from the informal opulence of the dining, sitting and drawing rooms, to the sumptuous brass half tester and four poster beds, stunning views and locally sourced foods, cooked to perfection. Paul and John were the perfect hosts; genial, informative, helpful, but non-intrusive - that perfect blend of friendliness and professionalism - further enhanced by a jar of lovely home made jam to take home with us as a keepsake.

The attention to detail throughout is really worth a further mention here. There is a tremendous effort to maintain a Victorian feel throughout the property - electric cords are old fashioned, light switches are unobtrusive - you can even call for John or Paul via the original call system (not that we needed to!) We were treated to wonderful breakfasts - much of it home made - even the sausages were a delicacy from a local butchers, all beautifully cooked and presented.

The location of the Old Vicarage is superb if you are exploring the area - good driving distance from Ludlow, Leominster, Hay-on-Wye and Welshpool - so much to see and do in a small area, whether you want to relax or pick up the pace; the scenery is stunning and there is something for everyone.

There are two self contained cottages on the land, which Paul and John rent out, so we will definately be going back - hopefully for a week next time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful and have splendid views. There are no TV or tea making facilities in th...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrieB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Old Vicarage, well what can I say?...

The Old Vicarage is owned and run by Paul and John who are the most wonderful and polite people. The history behind this place is somewhat on the large scale to which I'm sure we were only told a small piece of. Fascinating place.

House & Rooms

The house itself is set off from the road in the most tranquil and peaceful spot. With lush gardens (managed by John to whom does a superb job) and views to die for, what more could one want. Paul and John have spent a lot of time, effort and clearly a lot of money on their beautiful home / b&b and the self investment is priceless. The interior decor is quaint and loving. It just feels like a home. During the winter I can imagine the house excelling itself with the gorgeous fires around the house.

The cleanliness of the house is excellent. You wouldn't believe Paul and John do it themselves being as busy as they are but they find time and do a very, very good job. Being a company owner of a cleaning company myself, I can assure you cleanliness, health and safety and health and hygiene are perfect and if grading myself would receive top grades. Very well done!

The rooms are gorgeous and spacious! The beds are huge and comfortable and views again, are to die for. The bathrooms/en-suites are excellently clean and maintained to a high standard and the quality of the furnishings around the house and the bedrooms and bathrooms are top class. One issue I always pick upon in hotels where ever I stay is the linen. I never find them as clean as I want them! However, I believe Paul and John do the linen exactly the way I do mine! Nothing to worry about here chaps. The whites are brilliant white after each wash and the feel of them are soft and warm. The secret is..... Ask Paul ;)

Food

We ate in each morning and evening as our purpose was to relax and unwind. Do our own thing during the day and return to this beautiful setting. Each morning the breakfast was delicious. Big breakfast cooked freshly by Paul (the chef) and fresh coffee, tea or any other item of liquid you desire. Obviously no alcohol. No complaints on the breakfast side. The evening meal.... Well... Move over Michelin Star restaurants and make way for Paul's fantastic cooking. In fact, it's not fantastic it's simply sublime. The presentation, texture, taste and just everything was perfect. I'm not sure I've ever eaten anything quite so tasteful. I'm a good cook too! I would recommend eating in as I can assure you, you will not be disappointed. John is an excellent man. He explains all the foods with beauty and delicately. This is a skill. He makes you want to dive straight in! He does such an excellent job serving the drinks, foods and his service skills are well above par. Lovely person!

People and Service

Paul and John have worked incredibly hard to get where they are today and have achieved more than one can expect. Renovating all on their own this most delightful property and showing their masterpiece to the world is just 'an honour'. They are both the most wonderful people and I hope you go and visit their home. You cannot fault anything.

We will most definitely be going back to see them! Look forward to seeing you both soon!

Excellent!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Vicarage Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Country House

Address: Norton, Presteigne LD8 2EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Presteigne
Price Range: £99 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deservedly winner of the Tripadvisor 2012-14 Certificate of Excellence and 2007 Visit Wales (Welsh Tourist Board) Best B&B in Wales, The Old Vicarage, Norton, Presteigne is situated in beautiful walking country on the Welsh/Herefordshire border. Enjoy the stunning Victorian decor, furnishings & fittings, comfortable beds, dinner by candlelight with excellent food and wine, delicious breakfasts using superb local produce and the lovely landscaped gardens with fabulous views across the hills of England & Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Country House Presteigne, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing