We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable, relaxing, stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 13 Presteigne B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A comfortable, relaxing, stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed here whilst walking the Offa's Dyke Trail, deliberately choosing to stay between the larger town of Kington and Knighton, in order to stay somewhere quieter and deeper in the countryside.
The Old Vicarage was just what I was seeking, a handsome building with character, set in fields and a garden, with a very peaceful atmosphere. Pat was very welcoming, the food was very good, and I had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachHut123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We were pleased you took the short detour off the Dyke to recharge your batteries and enjoy our peaceful location.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent one night here over Easter and are very glad that we chose this B&B. It is in a peaceful location with beautiful views across the valley, surrounded by fields full of lambs gambolling around (and 2 alpacas) and a lovely garden. We received a friendly welcome from Pat and Michael who were helpful with recommendations of where to go and what to do.

We had a large room on the first floor with ensuite shower room. Very clean and comfortable. There is a sitting room downstairs for guests. Breakfast was delicious - especially the home made jam (rhubarb and ginger was my favourite).

We hope to return again one day to explore more of this lovely part of Wales.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PocketRocket76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for visiting us at the Old Vicarage and for this review. Spring is certainly a good time to visit with the lambs never ceasing to entertain. We look forward to welcoming you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

An ad hoc and late notice business trip brought me out to this previously unknown part of border country. Word of mouth led me to the Old Vicarage, and I called at short notice. Despite a late arrival, Pat provided a hugely convivial welcome to this absolute gem. The house is beautifully appointed, spotless, extremely spacious, tranquil (quiet enough to hear the lambs bleating in the surrounding fields) and ‘soft’ with detailed finishing touches. The huge bay-windowed parlour boasts an extensive and eclectic selection of music which guests can choose (or not) to play whilst recuperating in front of the wood burner. Tremendous value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We were very pleased to be able to accomodate you. We hope the business went well and that next time you visit our beautiful border county you are able to spend some time to enjoy it! We hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights during a trip to the Hay Festival. It was excellent all round - location, cleanliness, spaciousness, facilities, service, quality and size of rooms, value for £, warmth, delicious food with great choice and generous portions, beautiful gardens, etc.

Pat and Mike were very welcoming and helpful. Eg, I had some back and leg pain from travelling and found the bed too hard (my partner found it very comfortable!) so slept on a folded eiderdown on top of the mattress (princess and the pea..). Pat noticed the folded eiderdown beneath the sheet and, when we returned from our day-out, offered us a mattress topper and made up the bed for us. Comfortable!

We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We were pleased to enable you to have a comfortable stay. We enjoyed meeting you and we do hope that you will be able to stay and explore our beautiful area again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Found The Old Vicarage, Evancoyd, nr Presteigne (not to be confused with a similarly named property nearby) on the Alastair Sawday website and booked for a single night as we were on our way home.

A beautiful house in lovely grounds, maintained to an exceptional standard. The bedroom was very comfortable and the food (dinner and breakfast) was very good. We would certainly visit again. There is also a self-catering cottage which looks to be a good base from which to explore the neglected but beautiful countryside of Radnorshire.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We were very pleased you found us for your stop over and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that we can point you in the right direction for sightseeing in this beautiful unknown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I had an excellent nights stay! Warm welcome, fresh milk for my cup of tea and chilled water to help me cool down after a long drive. Very rural location so very quiet and peaceful. Huge room with comfy bed. Nice en-suite. Breakfast was fantastic and set me up for the rest of the day. All on all, a really great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We were pleased you chose The Old Vicarage for your stay. It was lovely to see you again for your return visit. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at The Old Vicarage for three nights at the end of May and it was perfect! Pat and Mike made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The Old Vicarage provides a very high standard of accommodation including spacious rooms all beautifully decorated, fantastic bay windows, lovely linen, and lots of finishing touches which make it a really great place to stay. The breakfasts are delicious and totally irresistible! The Old Vicarage is very peaceful and the surrounding countryside is stunning - lots of hills, trees and green fields - and the walled garden is an inspiration! It is undoubtedly one of the most relaxing places to stay and it's impossible to walk through the front door and not feel at home straightaway!

Ann, Celia & Helen Jordan

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was lovely to have you to stay at 'The Old Vicarage'. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our surroundings. We do hope we can welcome you back at some point to explore more of our hidden treasures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Presteigne
4.4 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Radnorshire Arms
The Radnorshire Arms
#2 of 13 in Presteigne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Fforest Inn
The Fforest Inn
#1 of 2 in New Radnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Lowe Farm B&B
Lowe Farm B&B
#1 of 2 in Pembridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#3 of 13 in Kington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Evancoyd, Presteigne LD8 2PA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Presteigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Welsh - English border, 'The Old Vicarage' has beautiful grounds with glorious views and provides a peaceful retreat to escape to the country. There are three large comfortable rooms; a double with en-suite shower room, a twin - bedded room with private bathroom and a double room with private bathroom. The large sitting / breakfast room has panoramic views over Radnorshire and a cosy log fire. A welcoming complementary tea with homemade scone or cake is provided on arrival; a three course dinner is available by prior arrangement and you can bring your own drinks to accompany your meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast Presteigne, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing