We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

The Judge's Lodging Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The old court house, gaol and judge's lodging have been fitted out in 19th period style with audio guide.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    26
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An interesting visit”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The staff were very interesting and helpful and we had an informative trip round this beautiful building- time well spent!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“So glad we went.”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I visited the Judge's Lodging last Saturday with my partner whilst on a visit to Shropshire. What an amazing place. There is so much to see, it took us about two hours to look round. I don't know whether it was just that particular day but it wasn't at all busy so it was a pleasure to wander about. There was a head set to commentate on each room, usually giving different staff members points of view as to how it would have been at the time they worked there. We were impressed to see that, when your tour was complete, the staff removed the foam covers from the headsets for cleaning.
The house was oppulently furnished, exactly apeing the decor of the age. There was an information board in the hallway showing photos from the time the building was restored and explaining how they had come across a trunk containg all the silverware that would have been used for the judges and is now on display.
All the rooms were laid out as they would have been and you were invited to touch the items on display, to sit in the chairs and to look through the drawers. It was so interesting. Inside some of the wardrobes were the actual robes, and even a wig, used by the visiting judges!
We went into the holding cells and saw how dingy and sparse they were. What a shame they aren't still like that! We went into the vast kitchen and had a go at working the water pump. I struggled to get a drop out but my partner eventually succeeded in filling a couple of buckets.
Before walking up from the holding cells into the court room we noticed something that made me feel a little strange. On the wall at the bottom of the steps leading up from the cells were several prisoner's names and the length of their sentences, carved into the plaster. It was quite eerie. The court room itself was magnificently restored but still set out in its original style There was a continuous recording playing in the courtroom replicating the trial of a man accused of stealing a duck and this added to the sombre atmosphere. As my partner stood in the dock area, I called out in a serious voice (knowing we were alone), 'Take him down!'. Such power!!
It was a really interesting way to pass a couple of hours and so informative too.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“You really step back into the past”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

You'll need at least an hour-and-a-half to two hours to really get the most from this place. And don't skimp - the audio tour is the best I've heard in Britain. With oil lamps and candles, the rooms already have an atmosphere. There's none of this "don't touch|" attitude, in fact the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. You really get an idea of what it was like to live and work here in the 1800s.
Looking at some of the items around it looks as though it's a great place for children, too, especially on a school visit (how come museums weren't like this when I was at school?), The only problem is that the servants' quarters are a bit dark (as they would be) so you need to get near a window to read the excellent guidebook.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank leeGlosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wet weather retreat”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Hadn't planned to visit the Judge Lodgings but weather was really poor during our 2 night break in Mid Wales so looked to see where we could go indoors and so glad we chose this place.Staff were friendly and informative, and we found it really interesting.
It was also great to be encouraged to touch the exhibits -usually so many areas are cordoned off.
Probably spent a good 2 hours there -great value for money and recommended.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TugboatMidlandsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Judge's Lodging Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Judge's Lodging Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing