We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
downstairs lounge area kitchen overlooking the meadow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
downstairs lounge area
kitchen overlooking the meadow
dining area
upstairs bedroom with king bed, lounge area and balcony with views across the valley
downstairs bedroom (double bed)
upstairs bedroom with king bed, single bed, TV, DVD and views across the kitchen garden
lounge area in upstairs bedroom
view from the cottage
upstairs bathroom
downstairs lounge area
single bed in upstairs bedroom which also has a king bed in
downstairs double bedroom
downstairs bedroom
view from hallway to balcony
fresh flowers
cottage in the summer sunshine
relaxing outdoor area
View of the cottage from the shepherd's hut
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Presteigne, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wht1
East Anglia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

It's a fantastic, comfortable, peaceful place to stay, in the middle of Wales. Very well planned and maintained, and Andrea is a delight to deal with. Very highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2018
So pleased you had a lovely stay and we really appreciate you leaving this kind review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spam0101
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Shepherds Hut”
Reviewed 18 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a brilliant stay in the shepherds hut for a 2 night quick break. Very clean all equipment provided and stunning views. Well looked after and Andrea was very nice and knowledgeable. Would highly recommend for a place to get away from it all. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2018
so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking time to write this review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxin0
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning haven in the Welsh countryside.”
Reviewed 30 March 2018 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed in the gorgeous eco cottage at Wild Meadow, a beautifully crafted home from home in the rolling Welsh countryside. The cottage is comfortable and spacious, with simple tasteful style and stunning views, especially from the master bedroom.

The hosts, Andrea and Jonathan, couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, a really lovely couple. The meadow is a great place to stay, with or without kids. Even in October, after most of the flowers had gone over, we had fun with our two young children picking apples and raspberries and playing on the swing in the huge oak tree at the top of the meadow.

It's a hard place to leave! We'll be back for our third stay this summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2018
Hello Maxine, thank you for your lovely review. We are looking forward to seeing you all back in the summer. Lots more produce in the kitchen garden at that time of year and the meadow will be in full bloom!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katie7776...
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Idyllic getaway!”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have just stayed in the delightful Shepherd's Hut at Wild meadow. The hut is at the top of a hill with gorgeous views of the valley below. The hut itself is so cosy, with a small wood burner and a comfy bed and chairs. The outdoor kitchen, a rustic log building, had everything we could possibly want. Our hosts accommodated our every need, including provisions for breakfast the next day. There is an Eco toilet, hot gas shower, an outdoor fire if you wish to cook outside. A gorgeous hilltop meadow to explore with fruit and vegetables (when in season) you can help yourself to and swings on oak trees! Although both in our 60s we played like children on the swings! It was a delight. If you want to give your brain a rest, switch off from the stresses of life, I high recommend Wild Meadow.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
Hello Katie,
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and managed to relax.
Andrea and Jonathan
(p.s we also enjoy the swings!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
And thank you for being first rate guests and for taking the time to leave a review!
Hopefully we will see you again.
All the best
Andrea and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Warren T
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Year”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A beautifully built and presented cottage that is a stone's throw from Presteigne. Yet, situated in it own meadow, it offers a wonderful feeling of seclusion to help you unwind and relax.
We had 5 of us staying in the cottage and two further relatives round daily. The cottage accommodated us all easily and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
So pleased that you had a lovely stay, thank you for your kind words in the visitor book and on here! Look forward to seeing you again, maybe when the meadow is in full wildflower bloom :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni P
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Heaven is at Wild Meadow Shepherd's Hut Presteigne”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have arrived home today after a few wonderful days of stepping back in time, being almost totally off grid at the top of Wild Meadow, with views across the fields and the Cottage below us. We were warmly welcomed by Andrea, who made sure that we knew how to 'use' the compost loo, were ok about lighting the wood burner - Maxi was made a fuss off and then she left us to it, having helped carry our belongings up the hill to the hut. The hut is fabulous, the bed is so comfy neither of us wanted to get up in the morning! Maxi soon settled in to his new portable bed and toasting himself in front of the wood burner, the whole meadow was his to play and bounce around in during the day - lighting is supplied via a solar panel, the compost loo was surprisingly comfy to use, cooking in the special lean-to is an adventure, gas burners and a very efficient grill too - Andrea had supplied us with a few essentials ready and waiting for us in the fridge - that was a lovely touch and the delicate flowers in the hut and in the kitchen were the icing on the cake! As there was no one in the coattge Andrea offered the use of the shower, which we though was very kind of her, but we had already been brave and washed in the open bathroom! A throw back from our childhood upbringings. There are 2 swings magically hidden and a fruit garden too - the apples are soooo sweet and I think there are quite a few raspberry's less now after our visit. The place despite being at the top of the hill, is so serene and quiet, today was the first time that Maxi barked and that was because of the hunt passing by, The time has gone all too quickly and I am so glad I found Wild Meadow - it was just what two weary souls needed and the fact that our rather bouncy big black dog was made to feel very welcome too, made it a special time for all of us. The Radnorshire Arms in Presteigne serve the most delicious food if you don't want to cook, and the shops are quaint and not the run of the mill ones you find in some towns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace adn quiet and the feeling of freedom for us all
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Hello Jeni,
It was lovely to meet you and we are so pleased that you managed the have the break you wished for. Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about your stay in the Shepherd's Hut.
all the best
Andrea and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing