We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great week”

Review of Powis Castle View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Welshpool, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David T
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great week”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Thanks for telling us about how to get to The Montgomery canal. It was fantastic. We walked to the Horseshoe Inn and back. So beautiful and natural. We saw two swans with nine signets. We also saw a snake swimming down the canal. Then back to the castle kitchen in Montgomery for more cakes (in the car).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Dear David T,

We're really pleased you had a fantastic stay in Powis Castle View, and thank you so much for your comments.

Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B
Purley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage with Perfect Views”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just got home from a 1 week stay at Powis Castle View. The Cottage has everything that you need for a comfortable stay and was very dog friendly which was a real bonus. The owners Mike and Lyn were very welcoming and made it clear they were there if we needed them but otherwise were happy for us to just relax and enjoy our stay. Welshpool is only 5 minutes in the car and has all the necessary shopping for a self catering stay. We also found some lovely pubs close by that served great food. The views were absolutely beautiful and whether having breakfast on the deck in the morning or watching the sunset in the evening it is the perfect place to recharge the batteries. Would definitely like to return before too long.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Dear Sue B,

Mike and Lyn will be really pleased with your comments and that you had a great holiday.

We hope to see you again soon, so give us a call.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suekb2015
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing stay in countryside”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Perfect place for quiet holiday but still close enough to Welshpool to have all facilities. Walking through the owners land was so relaxing we did not want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the fresh air.
Liked least: All was fine.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonella...
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a lovely week in this beautiful, comfortable cottage! There is absolutely everything one needs and more! Superking bed in the main bedroom and twin beds in the second bedroom which was occupied by our teenage daughter who absolutely loved it! Lovely bathroom and an open plan kitchen very well equipped. We had also some great bbq and relaxing hot tub. The grounds are wonderful too, sheep grazing and there is a horse and a little Shetland pony so friendly our daughter felt sad when we had to leave! The owners are lovely people, kind and welcoming. We felt at home and were sorry to leave but we'll be back! We honestly couldn't ask for more! Very Highly recommended!! *****

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jueym
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Choice”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Had a totally blissful week in this wonderful holiday accommodation. It offers real comfort and 'home from home' feeling. No expense has been spared by it's lovely owners who run the beautiful B&B next door - they were so welcoming, helpful and kind without being too intrusive (a wonderful balance we felt) It is a great base for exploring both this part of Wales and Shropshire too. Loved the sound of the Sheep, the two cute little ponies in the field and watching the Chickens in their coop scratching around and getting on with laying their owners some jolly fine eggs. All in all we had a totally fab week and great weather to boot. Were sorry to be going back home as we just didn't want our wonderful week there to end. We will definitely be back :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-the-c...
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home from home - but with stunning views (and a hot tub!!)...”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Excellent family accommodation with beautiful views over the valley to Welshpool and ideally located for exploring mid-Wales and the borders.

My family and I have just spent a fantastic weeks holiday in this well appointed bungalow in the grounds of the owners B & B which is at the end of a 1/2 mile drive through open farmland. The property itself is very modern, has a large flat screen TV and wi-fi which made the teenagers happy, two clean, light and airy bedrooms and a decent sized lounge/kitchen. The bathroom is modern with a power shower and a bath, always lots of hot water on tap and soft and comfy towels on the hand rails! The kitchen is well appointed with an oven, hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, and dishwasher.

Outside there is a large decking patio area to the front of the property with a gas BBQ, 'comfy' chairs and a patio set. To the side of the property there is parking for several cars, and no parking allowed in front of the property so your views of the countryside won't be ruined!

A fully enclosed hot-tub is made exclusively available to guests of the bungalow and is an excellent way to relax in the evening and watch the sun set over the hills on the opposite side of the valley.

The property is 5 mins drive from Welshpool which has a Tesco, Sainsburys and Morrisons as well as an Indian, Chinese, couple of fish and chips shops and a kebab shop which also sells excellent freshly baked pizza's.

The owners were always on hand for help and advice and were very helpful.

I would not hesitate in recommending this property to a family or couple looking for a clean and well appointed property, in a good location for exploring the borders and North Wales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing