We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away for friends”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welshpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strawberry Skys Yurts
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great get away for friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had such a great time staying at the Yurts. The yurts are clean, nicely decorated and have such a lovely atmosphere, especially at night with the lanterns lit and the fairy lights on. The fact that there was unlimited wood for our campfires and that the common kicthen area was fully stocked just made the stay so much easier! Even the compost toilet was nice! The owners are friendly as are the locals- we suggest a trip to the Black Lion in the next village.
Only one suggestion - think it needs a bit of signage on the roads and the gate onto the property as we struggled to find the place.
lots to do in the surrounding area.
We will be going back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebekahjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We've just got back from a weekend break here. We booked the three yurts friday to sunday for 10 adults as a surprise 40th birthday party. The birthday girl, who has an aversion to camping, absolutely loved it! The yurts were all fantastic. We knew there was a kitchen and dining area but didn't think we'd bother as we'd taken stoves to cook some prepared food on the friday and were planning a bbq for saturday. We ended up cooking and eating in the dining area on the friday - the table comfortably sat the 10 of us and had everything we needed crockery/cutlery wise - even down to the tea towels. The shower was spotless, the compost loos, although they sounded a bit scary, were absolutely fine. We congregated around the big yurt on saturday, the bbq was great, even considering we were cooking for 10.

I can honestly say we all had the best nights' sleep - I thought it may be a bit hot as friday was probably the hottest day this year. All wood, tea lights, firelighters were provided - which is a lovely touch. All the yurts had lanterns and solar fairy lights creating the most beautiful atmosphere - so much so, we can't wait to go back in the colder weather to take advantage of the stoves in the yurts.

Eric and Anya could not have been more welcoming. Everything was explained to us and then basically we were left to it - but knew we could get hold of them if needed.

We didn't venture in to the village, even though directions were provided, but we didn't feel the need to move from the yurts!

We will definitely be going back! I cannot think of one negative about our stay, apart from I wish we'd booked for longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbean71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Four of us shared the larger yurt for four days and three nights, and had such perfect escape. The yurt was so comfortable, pretty, clean, smelt amazing and had everything we needed. Not just in the yurt but the kitchen, shower and toilet (tho very eco-friendly!) were perfect for what we needed. Even tho there were 6 other people on the site we never got in the way too much of each other, and the yurt are so well positioned you never felt looked over or hardly heard each other!
The owners were perfect hosts, making us feel very welcome at the start and never hassled us over the four days, only stopped and chatted if our paths crossed. The unlimited wood was amazing as well which we took full advantage of! We were also provided with fun directions to the local village over fields and farmland, with recommended places to eat.
Definitely a place to recommend and revisit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carys_owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in February. It had been snowing, was minus 6 but that did not spoil a thing. The fire, once going keeps you toasty, there is everything you could want, fab hot shower, great clean kitchen a quick stroll down the hill. The owners are lovely and so helpful. We trecked over the fields and spent one night at the black lion pub in the local village, well worth it. The locals were so friendly and we had a great time! One night we had a BBQ and camp fire in the snow which was magical! If you fancy some outdoors fun , you can't beat this!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachiehg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Visited as family of 3 and really enjoyed it. We had booked the large yurt and it was beautifully decorated with a toasty log fire. Fairy lights and lanterns inside, bbq and pit fire outside. The view is amazing. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lou2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Could not have asked for a better weekend. The Yurt was perfect, it had lovely furnishing and had an amazing atmosphere. Could not of asked for a better weekend. We didn't get to use the BBQ. However, I am planning on coming back in the summer next year with friends and taking full advantage of all the facilities! Very clean and very well priced especially as they supply all the fire equipment and tea lights! We will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicevmandrew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it.
The owners and their dogs are fantastic . There are only 3 yurts and they are far apart so totally private. Lovely shower and kitchen. Wood is chopped up ready in the barn and you have your own outdoor picnic area with fire pit
Loved it, and the chippy in town is amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staffscasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welshpool
6.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
14.0 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Melverley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Mountain Edge Shropshire Lodges & Camping Pods
6.4 mi away
Vine House B&B and Self-Catering
6.5 mi away
Red House Cottage
Red House Cottage
#2 of 3 in Guilsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Skys Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Skys Yurts

Property: Strawberry Skys Yurts
Address: Clyniarth Cottage | Cyfronydd, Welshpool SY21 9HB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Welshpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are three accommodations which are situated apart from each other in a secluded two acre field. Willow yurt is roughly 16ft in diameter and sleep 2-4 adults. Cherry yurt is 19ft in diameter can sleep up to 6 adults. And Oak yurt is two yurts, one 16ft and one 19ft which are joined together by a corridor and a door. Each yurt is fully furnished and heated by a woodburner which makes them extremely warm while the felt holds in the heat. Outside, each yurt has its own fire-pit, bench seating, picnic table and cast iron BBQ, all of which can be moved around the field so larger groups can sit together. At the bottom of the yurt field is a very eco compost toilet, don't be scared it's not that different to a normal loo, just without the flushing! The kitchen and shower facilities are situated in a separate area a few metres from the yurt field. The cabin kitchen is fully equipped with all the cooking equipment, crockery and glasses you should need including a gas cooker, fridge and kitchen sink. The shower is close by and is fully heated it also includes a heated towel rail and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strawberry Skys Yurts Welshpool, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing