We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Gardens - Wonderful Views”

Powis Castle and Garden
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Welshpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This medieval castle, originally built as a fortress, houses one of the most beautiful and extensive collections of treasures from India.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gardens - Wonderful Views”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our visit on Bank Holiday Monday was just walking around and taking in the gardens which are, in my opinion one of the best the National Trust has to offer. Lots of colourful and unusual flowers, shrubs etc and a lovely collection of shaped yew trees all of which overlook the lovely Welsh countryside.
Stopping for refreshment at Lady Violet's Tea Room situated in a secluded corner of the gardens is a must and we relaxed there with a coffee and just soaked up the atmosphere. However, all praise must be given to the lady behind the counter who, entirely on her own and with no assistance whatsoever, was serving, making the drinks and taking the money and remained calm, friendly and efficient even though the place was heaving with Bank Holiday Monday visitors. Perhaps on days that are known to be busy she should be given some help?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    824
    278
    56
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our recent visit to Powys castle and gardens”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We visited here on 12/5/2014 and found it a lovely place to visit. It is a National Trust property and the guides in the house were knowledgeable and friendly. The building was well cared for as were the gardens. We found the Clive museum a little disappointing as we expected a little more from the items on show. We had lunch in the café which was delicious, well presented and of a high standard which we would expect from the trust. The views of the surrounding area were wonderful. There was an uphill walk from the car park but there was a courtesy bus available too.
Plenty of parking with peacocks roaming freely. A lovely visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JaniceNG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Stunning Property”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Powis Castle is one of my favourite National Trust properties. Together, the red stone, intricate terraces and immaculate gardens combine to create a beautiful site. The history of the building is fascinating, especially with the addition of the Clive Museum.The volunteers are super-friendly and the cafe produces amazing local food. I'd love to stay in the Bothy on the castle grounds one day - it would be like waking up in a fairytale!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful and interesting”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I am fascinated by castles and regal history. Powis castle is just breathtaking from the gardens to the castle. The staff are incredibly friendly and very knowledgable. The lamented cards found in each room are a fantastic touch and I found them really useful. I would highly recommend a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Placement Student year 2000”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

One whole year, four seasons, come the 26/06/2001 my time was over as a placement student from Lancashire.
Leaving was gut wrenching as my Horticultural knowledge improved by 1000% .
Powis has the national collection of Aralia {Devil's walking stick}.
Family friendly,take a picnic and [HobNob] on The Great Lawn.

You won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pukkalife .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Powis Castle and Garden also viewed

 
Llanwddyn, Powys
 

Been to Powis Castle and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing