We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old School Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welshpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old School Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 20 Welshpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed at the Old School as I was competing at a nearby sporting event. My request for very early breakfasts was no problem and set me up for the day. The accommodation was immaculate and the welcome warm. I look forward to a return visit later this year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review - it is great to hear that we met your needs in every way and it was an absolute pleasure to do so. We hope the weekend ended as successfully as you hoped and we look forward to welcoming you back in the autumn.
Best wishes
Vickie and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
62
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

No noise or light pollution just peace and quiet in a beautiful setting. Superb breakfasts and an excellent evening meal. An ideal location to explore mid Wales 10/10 for everything. We will return in the near future

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Ah, how we love to get reviews like this! We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves so much. We certainly enjoyed you to stay as you understood exactly what The Old School is all about. Don't leave it a year before you return. The weather was beautiful for your stay but all the seasons are worth seeing here.
Best wishes
Vickie and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Genuinely felt relaxed and almost like part of the family, such was the welcome and friendliness. I also opted for an evening meal which would put some restaurants to shame, beautifully prepared and presented. The accommodation is comfortable with a large sitting room area that is great to relax in. Really I couldn't fault the Old Schoolhouse and would return with pleasure if I'm back in the area - but watch out, it get's very booked up!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Feddy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for such an enthusiastic review. We really enjoyed your company and it is very clear that we achieved what we set out to do for you. But it is hard not to relax in such a peaceful area. I also think having one of our friendly hens on your shoulder helped to melt away the stress! Come back soon.
Very best wishes
Vickie and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had one night at the Old School House and were sad to leave. We received a sincere, warm welcome and made to feel at home immediately. The service was perfect, and I cannot fault our hosts! The log burner wS lit for us and the evening meal was wonderful!
Breakfast was plentiful and we left unable to eat smother thing! The rooms were clean and spacious, extremely comfortable. I would highly recommend this B & B and would definitely stay again.
Excellent value for money. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay!
Jackie and Chris. X

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 558Jaxp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We loved having all three of you to stay. It was very memorable for all the best reasons. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Again, it is great to hear how much you enjoyed our evening meal and hearty breakfast. Please come and see us again very soon.
Best wishes
Vickie, Tim and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a very picturesque property although a little remote (10-15 minute drive to Welshpool). The welcome was warm and friendly - a cup of tea instantly offered along with home-made flapjack. The bedrooms were well decorated and spacious and the sitting/dining room was well equipped. The ensuite bathrooms were equally well appointed.The property is particularly well suited to two couples. I have no hesitation in recommending this B & B and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks so much for your words of appreciation. We certainly agree that our location is a little unusual for a school but as you say that is what makes it so picturesque. We are on very quite B road so no single track lanes to negotiate! We really enjoyed having you all to stay and hope to see you again in the very near future.
Best wishes to you all
Vickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a very enjoyable 4 night stay at the Old School. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. The lounge/dining room for guests was very welcoming with the log burning fire. It was also lovely to opt for the evening meal each evening after being out all day. The food was excellent with a good choice and nothing was too much trouble.
We shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TiggersOldMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you found so much to praise us for and to recommend to others. We would love to see you again so please come and stay next time you are visiting Welshpool.
Best wishes
Vickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

A lovely stay with very friendly people. Excellent accommodation - with a wonderful shared sitting/dining room complete with a log burning stove and a good collection of games! Ideal for two couples to share.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was very memorable for us and we would like to thank you for being so generous with your time and allowing our son to sit in your beautiful cars. We couldn't agree more that our accommodation very much lends itself to having both rooms taken by the same party. It means that you get the self contained guest wing all to yourselves - so you can really relax.
We hope to see you and your cars again.
Many thanks and best wishes
Vickie and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welshpool
3.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.4 mi away
Vine House B&B and Self-Catering
0.0 mi away
Gwaenynog Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Red House Cottage
Red House Cottage
#2 of 3 in Guilsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Red Lion Inn
#2 of 6 in Welshpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Railway Inn
The Railway Inn
#2 of 3 in Forden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old School Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old School Bed & Breakfast

Property: Old School Bed & Breakfast
Address: Maesmawr, Welshpool SY21 9DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Welshpool
Hotel Class:4 star — Old School Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian school in a peaceful, rural location just 10 minute drive from Welshpool. Large and comfortable ensuite rooms,guest lounge with log burner. We also offer home cooked evening meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old School Bed & Breakfast Welshpool, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing