We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our second visit but not our last”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welshpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old School Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 20 Welshpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our second visit but not our last”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

On both occasions we have found the Old School House very much to our liking. There is a real homely atmosphere and the hosts do their best to make sure you are comfortable.The Old School House is not very easy to find the first time but it is really worthwhile to make the effort. We hate to recommend this find too highly because it might be fully booked the next time we wish to stay!

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms and both are equally comfortable, very clean and tastefully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elwyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 December 2014
It is always very pleasing to welcome back guests each year. And it was a real pleasure to see you both again. We hope to see you again in 2015 and that the weather will be as kind as this time.
Very best wishes
Vickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
62
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have recently spent two nights at this fantastic B&B. Vickie couldn't do enough to make us feel at home. We were welcomed with a large pot of tea and the offer of home made cake - so thoughtful after travelling. We were booked into the Pine Room which was extremely comfortable with everything we needed provided even down to a mini-fridge for the milk for our early morning cup of tea. Breakfast was very filling and the cooked option included eggs from the hens which roamed the garden. Also included were home-made preserves and fresh strawberries - a real treat! On our second evening we opted to stay in and Vickie prepared lovely meals for us both. We supplemented the meal with a bottle of wine we bought in. Perfect after a day out!
We'd definitely return here if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: We can recommend the Pine room but the Oak room (which was already booked) has patio doors leading t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 December 2014
Many thanks for such an appreciative review. It is always great to know that guests have enjoyed their stay in every way possible. So pleased you enjoyed your evening meal. We are only a bed and breakfast but we think it is very important that our dishes live up to expectation too. Hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Vickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This B&B is in such a picturesque and quiet location. Vicki and her family including the chickens and dog, Daisy, made us feel very welcome. The original building has been extended and has been done beautifully, with a lovely dining room and gorgeous bedrooms. We were in the Oak Room, which was one of the best rooms we have stayed in and the ensuite was lovely. Dinner was delicious, as was the breakfast. Cannot recommend highly enough. We will definitely be staying again!

Room Tip: The Oak room was lovely, but I'm sure the Pine room is as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
I must first apologise for the delay in responding to your lovely review. We are always very pleased to hear from our guest. Although your stay was brief we really enjoyed your company and Daisy loved all the attention. We hope the rest of your holiday was as good as it promised. And you were absolutely right about Harry Potter! Hope to see you both again very soon.
Best wishes
Vickie and Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This a fantastic place to stay. A lovely quiet location with beautiful country views. Located up a lane, but not far from the main road and convenient for Welshpool and Llanfair Caerinion. The room was furnished in lovely oak furniture and rich upholstery and excellent facilities kept spotlessly clean. My second day was spent driving a steam loco on the nearby narrow gauge railway, so the lovely shower was very welcome.
The food is also excellent. On arrival you are greeted by Vicki with a pot of tea and lovely home made cakes. The hearty breakfast sets you up for the day, all nicely cooked with fresh laid eggs from the chickens wandering around outside, home made jams and fresh fruit.
This bed and breakfast is highly recommended, If you are in the area don't miss it.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms, ours was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandJ2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for such appreciative comments. We are always very pleased to hear our guests have found us to be just what they needed. We love where we live and think we have a perfect spot not far from town but in a quiet and easy to find location. (And no single track lanes with grass growing in the middle to negotiate! ) You obviously agree. As you love the railway we hope you will make a return visit very soon as it would be lovely to see you both again.
Very best wishes
Vickie and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

warm welcome from vicki cup off tea and home made cake.excellent evening meal vicki is a good cook.lovely big bedroom with patio doors with small table and 2 chairs outside to chill out in the evening sunshine with the resident chickens who are after a few titbits.great shower good for my wife who has mobility issues.had a hearty breakfast and set off for tenby.booked there and then to stop on our return journey home. top quality b and b god willing will stop there again LOTS OF THANKS ALAN AND BRENDA MORTON

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We did enjoy having you stay as you were great company. As our accommodation is ground floor we have a lot of guests with mobility issues who find it very accessible and easy to use as you did. Please come and stay again anytime as it was a real pleasure to have you both. Thanks for such a lovely review.
Best wishes
Vickie and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We loved our stay here. We stayed in the Oak Room. It was clean, airy and beautifully presented. Vickie is lovely, and the breakfast was great. We also opted for an evening meal, which was very tasty and good value.

The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom large and spotlessly clean. Our only minor gripe would be the shower was rather disappointing, but maybe that's because we're used to a power shower.

Outside, there are chickens running around, and busy bird feeders. The house is set in a beautiful location, and we enjoyed a lovely walk after dinner down the lanes, with some great views.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildheart65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhen, Manager at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had some great weather into the bargain. We were a little puzzled by your comment on the shower as it is a modern 8.5kw model. But we really value genuine, constructive comments so we investigated. I had a shower! And I couldn't agree with you more - the shower was not up to par. We immediately replaced the shower head and tweaked up the pump pressure. So a big thank you for bringing that to our attention and look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes
Vickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a warm and friendly welcome when we arrived. Vicki was very helpful with every question we asked. The B and B was very clean and comfortable. We all want to go back again soon especially for the breakfast! Thank you Vicki.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We very much enjoyed having all four of you to stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and I hope your cycling expedition was a great success.
Hope to welcome you all again very soon
Vickie and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welshpool
3.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
568 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
252 reviews
3.4 mi away
Vine House B&B and Self-Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Red House Cottage
Red House Cottage
#2 of 3 in Guilsfield
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwaenynog Farmhouse
Gwaenynog Farmhouse
#1 of 3 in Dolanog
148 reviews
11.0 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Melverley
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old School Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old School Bed & Breakfast

Property: Old School Bed & Breakfast
Address: Maesmawr, Welshpool SY21 9DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Welshpool
Hotel Class:4 star — Old School Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian school in a peaceful, rural location just 10 minute drive from Welshpool. Large and comfortable ensuite rooms,guest lounge with log burner. We also offer home cooked evening meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old School Bed & Breakfast Welshpool, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing