We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant for cheap and good quality food”
Review of Howards Restaurant

Howards Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 51 Restaurants in Welshpool
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: British
Description: Delicious, Homemade, Seasonal, Local Food Come and relax in Howards, our spacious 200 seat restaurant. Whether you fancy a full English or just a coffee and slice of cake you can be sure all our food is freshly prepared. We take great care in sourcing quality produce and keeping it local wherever possible. Hot lunches are served from noon until 3pm, offering all your favourites as well as daily specials (freshly made sandwiches and paninis are available until 4.30pm). If you fancy a night off, join us for an evening meal, every Thursday! Hot meals are available until 7pm, drinks, cakes and snacks available until 7.30pm.
Restaurant details
Description: Delicious, Homemade, Seasonal, Local Food Come and relax in Howards, our spacious 200 seat restaurant. Whether you fancy a full English or just a coffee and slice of cake you can be sure all our food is freshly prepared. We take great care in sourcing quality produce and keeping it local wherever possible. Hot lunches are served from noon until 3pm, offering all your favourites as well as daily specials (freshly made sandwiches and paninis are available until 4.30pm). If you fancy a night off, join us for an evening meal, every Thursday! Hot meals are available until 7pm, drinks, cakes and snacks available until 7.30pm.
Kununurra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best restaurant for cheap and good quality food”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The style is so you can see the food before you buy (mostly) and I really like this, it is a very fast service and the food is always home made and very very nice. Only open during Coedy y dinas' opening hours in the day

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    35
    26
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit stressful with small children.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I am local to Coed y Dinas and we often pop here to buy gifts, plants for the garden, for the children to have a play in the play area etc and very often we will call in the cafe for food or just a drink and cake. The food is good and priced quite reasonably. However, when I visit with my two small children (2&4) I find the process of ordering food quite stressful. The canteen style queuing is no easy task when you are trying to balance a tray of food, entertain a four year old and have a two year old wrapped around your leg! My children are not yet old enough to sit at the table and wait patiently for me to return with food so they have to queue with me. The queue is always long and takes a considerable amount of time as it is a popular place to visit. Perhaps a second queue is needed or maybe a larger area to display the food and smaller seating area? The seating area is often cold too, with doors near many seats and flagstone tiles on the floor. As I said, the food is good on the whole, just a shame about the set up. Parents with small children have not been considered in the planning.
The place is still worth a visit but worth thinking about if you are visiting alone with small children.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catrin Lynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Large portions, good choice, chips are lovely! Good value. Cakes are amazing, hot dinners are very good & snacks such as paninis & sandwiches have good choices of fillings.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carrie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

There is a really good menu with something for everyone, the prices are very good and the coffee and cakes are yummy. The staff were very helpful and the restaurant very clean and tidy. We will be regular visitors when we move to the area in the next few weeks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pebee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Good value for money. Staff friendly and helpful, will eat there again. Plenty of choice either a full meal or snacks and the most delicious cakes, and all at very reasonable prices

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lindylooWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howards Restaurant also viewed

 
Welshpool, Powys
 

Been to Howards Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing